We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add it to your must see list when in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Museum

Amsterdam Museum
Kalverstraat 92 and Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 359, 1001 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
31 20 523 1822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Housed in a splendid 17th-century building that was a former civic orphanage, this museum tell the history of Amsterdam through its vast collection of art and artifacts from medieval times to the present.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Add it to your must see list when in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lovely converted and renovated old orphanage now housing a great interactive museum which makes Amsterdam history come to life. It would interest kids of all ages - I me me and my 86 year old mother! It's got serious stuff and lots of hi-tech video / touch and do displays. It says it would take 45 minutes but I think you could get 2 or 3 hours out of the history (DNA) part on it's own. Wish we had had more time to see it all. Great cafe too - hidden gem with lovely apple cake!

Look on line for ad hoc displays too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    202
    72
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a bad way to get to know Amsterdam's History.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Museum is small, and does not have too much to offer. However its nice to learn about Amsterdam's past. So for that its a good starting point before moving on to some bigger and more impressive museums.

Not too hard to find, easy accessible from Central Station.

However fro €15 euros its a little pricey considering its lack of displays.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Good Starting Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was one of the first places we visited on our trip to Amsterdam. It was a very good place to get an overall feel for the city and its development over the centuries. It was not too busy when we visited and we had relatively easy access to the listening devices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good General background information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This museum has some good and bad points. The good points are that it gives you a good background into Amsterdam. If you are looking for width instead of depth of knowledge then this is the place for you. The DNA system is clever. I feel that the kids would enjoy using it.
The bad points is that on a busy day it could annoying. There is only a maximum of four listening devices at a display. This leads to queues and feeling pressurised to move along quickly. Not what you want when you are learning...
Tip:- you get a free coffee, beer or soda with your ticket if you go to the cafe next door. Treat yourself to a Dutch pancake :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I liked this museum because there was LOTS to see. In fact, you may have to just choose what you want to see and skip some of the exhibitions if you need to. This Museum walking distance to Dam Square.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.