We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brewery in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Chris

Cafe Chris
Bloemstraat 42, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
31 20 6245942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 168 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Type: Architectural Buildings, Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1624, Cafe Chris is Amsterdam's oldest "Brown Cafe," truly a historical landmark.
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Best Brewery in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Cosy enviroment,express service and a something more than a friendly owner....Willam!
Don't miss to visit this small but one of a kind place,
try the Wiekse Witter tap!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Friday afternoon when the locals were descending after work. Felt as near enough to being from Amsterdam as possible. As long as you don't mind the cigarette smoke this is a must do on your Amsterdam agenda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I swung by here on our last night in the Jordaan as we had explored the rest of the city on our previous few days and wanted to explore closer to our hotel. We had spotted Cafe Chris and noted it was opened in 1624.... we LOVE old, history-laden pubs back home so we thought we would give it a chance.

Wow... I am glad we did. I am not certain why the previous reviews have stated the "welcome" and "charms" has gone because we had never, ever been made to feel so welcome. We sat at the bar drinking halves with the locals who were full of questions and spent many hours discussing each other's lives!! The beer flowed and we were treated to many drinks from the regulars and even were given a very rare "Cafe Chris - Annon 1624" scarf by the ever-charming barman Phillip.

I discussed the issue of smoking in the bar and it transpires that the local neighbours in the Jordaan area (given it is a very pricy, very upmarket sort of area to live) complain when customers gather and smoke in the streets late at night. So, on Fridays and Saturdays it appears that everyone turns a blind eye. It felt like I had gone through a timewarp!

The prices are reasonable for Amsterdam and the service comes with a smile. We were rewarded for getting off of the beaten track and the locals seemed to appreciate that fact.

If you are in the Jordaan, or even Amsterdam and enjoy your old English pubs (no jukebox, no pool table, no fruit machines, just good ale and liquor!) then you simply must stop here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great pint in a real tourist attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

first I do need to say that to our knowledge Cafe Chris does not do food, so please don't go down there expecting to get a three course dinner, also please be aware it is a real local pub, So you might not want to wear your Sunday best.

However, if you are looking for a place with boat loads of character, great people, great beer and music, play some traditional billiards with the locals and bask in some real history then this is a place you really must visit.

Cafe Chris is in most of the tourist guides as it is the oldest pub, as far as tourist attractions go, this really is my kind.

We would have been gutted to have gone all this way and not seem this little gem.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Oldest brown cafe in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Don't miss the place while in Amsterdam. said to be the oldest brown cafe in Amsterdam, the place opens from 3PM thru 2PM. Relaxing atmosphere where locals and visitor interact very easily. Courteous service, mostly provided by the owner himself. Very friendly prices fro food and drinks, which are always nicely served, specially the beer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chris also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Chris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Chris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.