We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pompa

Pompa
Willemsparkweg 6, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31(0)20 6626206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tapas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the staff at our hotel and was very close by. When we went in, we were told that it would be a one hour wait, but it wasn't close to that. The tapas were really good - ( I think we had about 5 different dishes). We had a great conversation with a boisterous family celebrating something next to use (who gave us sightseeing tips) and I loved that the restaurant has its own cat. You would never see that in Canada!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    66
    64
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tasty food with great service would highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Doesn't look much from the outside but the food and service were excellent, also great value.Ordered 3 tapas (jumbo mussels from the specials board, squid and giant prawns plus a fish soup which was amazing. Friendly staff, excellent service never kept waiting even though the restaurant was packed, wished I could eat there every day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice friendly little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nothing out of the ordinary, just nice food served in decent surroundings by smiley people. We went twice during a 4 night stay in Amsterdam as it was close to our hotel and we enjoyed the pasta and the atmosphere.
The gnocchi bolognese was good and hearty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special.
Standard stereotypical Italian cuisine.
I tried a risotto with mushrooms and it wasn't that great. It was OK, but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stumble upon this little place while strolling around the Musuems. We were early but they opened up the kitchen anyway and served us. Good food with reasonable price. Service was good too, but maybe because we were the only ones here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pompa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Pompa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.