We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Turkish Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Levant

Levant
Weteringschans 93, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020 6225184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Greek, Turkish
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Classy Turkish Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This restaurant is in a wonderful location a few blocks from the Rijksmuseum, and what a gem!!!! We kind of stumbled upon it Christmas night, were a little turned off and concerned by the outside menu and the look of the store front, but man, when you get inside, it is just wonderful! The food was fantastic, the service was great, and the owner and his wife were very friendly and accommodating. Our meal started with some "Mezze" or cold appetizers- we had a tomato/onion/peppers chili type spread on our bread which was fantastic, not too spicy and not boring. Then we had the rack of lamb-- definitely a winner-- it was very tender and not too seasoned, cooked just right. After that for dessert we had the baklava which was great! It came with pistachio and homemade vanilla ice cream. Quite a delicious meal, we really enjoyed it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    27
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charm and good food in an elegant setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Every time I visit Amsterdam, I eat at Restaurant Levant, which is located only a few steps from the Rijksmuseum. The fish is excellent, as are the Middle Eastern appetizers. The charming dining room provides elegant ambiance. I especially enjoy eating in good weather on the outdoor terrace overlooking a picturesque canal. Great value and welcoming staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This beautiful little Turkish restaurant is located just a block or two away from the Rijksmuseum, in between Museumplein and Leidseplein. We walked in early on a summer afternoon and were lucky enough to grab a seat in the stunning garden behind the restaurant facing directly onto the canal...probably a good idea to make a reservation as the place filled up pretty quickly. Super romantic location, although unfortunately they do allow smoking in the garden. The best part of our meal was the mezze selection; our server immediately brought out a tray with ten or twelve different options so we could see how each had been prepared, and we chose four that were all excellent. Their eggplant completely won over even my husband, who generally avoids purple foods, so my sincerest thanks to the chef!! We weren't able to choose between the two lamb entrees, so we simply shared both....the food was all around great, and while this was one of the more expensive places we tried in Amsterdam, the portions were quite generous and could easily have served four for dinner, not just the two of us! Would definitely recommend this place for a summertime dinner outdoors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and even the turkish white sauvignon was great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tasty and fresh food, different from the european tradicional but easily adjustable to anyone taste.
The starter mezzes (small plates with apetizers are great, ask for advice and select just 3 or 4 otherwise (if you select more) you will get no room for the main dish.
The turkish white sauvignon wine was a surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a taxi driver, and despite a bumpy drive, the meal was well worth it. Fresh mezzes bursting with flavour, fresh seafood, delicately prepared. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.