We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #143 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a lovely stay here during Sail for my birthday. The room was excellent, nice and quiet on the corner with view on the canals. The staff surprised me with a personal birthday card in the room upon arrival. Exceeded my expectations by far!
Lovely extensive breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    831
    440
    172
    104
See reviews for
224
875
126
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our friends recommended this hotel. Though the location and breakfast were very good, the Service of the desk was poor. Especially one girl - called Brigitta was very unfriendly. We had feelings that they do not understand that we are their clients. The guys from the desk friquently forgot what they promiised. They were out of sync. In addition, between the windows we found a lot of cigarettes butts. It is a pitty.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, right next to the Central Station and a perfect stepping off point for all the Amsterdam sights, all of which are walkable. The room I had was on a split level, which was a bit odd, but interesting and it did overlook the street, which is quite noisy. Certainly clean and comfortable and with a truly excellent buffet breakfast. Great spot for seeing Amsterdam close up.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Well the entrance in the hotel its something really gorgeous, spacious and cool look. The check in was every and the girl in the reception was really kind! We got our smoking room as asked, trough the super old vintage elevator we got to the 5th floor were clearly was a smoking corridor the smell was very intense but as soon as we got in the room was very fresh and didnt smell smoke at all, furniture a litle old school, but one awesome big tv and you can watch it for free, bed super confy just a bit small the sheets were clean and pillows were good. Well the bathroom has everything you need but is in need of some refurbishment was clean at our arrival too. Complementary coffe and a bottle of water was great! The minibar had a lot of things quite cheap for a hotel, disappointed for seeing one bottle of water in the minibar was already open but when serviced thet didnt managed to see it, its also old like very old and don't take anything out unless you are going to pay for it they have this sensor in the frige you just take the item out and will go direct though you bill! The internet its kind of slow but good enough its free. I just think in the whole stay I didnt really enjoyed Patricia knocking on my door when it was DND and was something we could actually sort out by phone or directly in the reception, in the end was a misunderstanding or lack of comunication between the person who made my check in and Patricia wich didnt apology for the inconvenience. After having my room serviced by the housekeeper I was worried, because I know the procedures and when I looked to the room the only thing more or less cleaned was the toilet! The carpet didnt saw the Hoover clearly, the bed looked like I just wake up And everything else was messy she didnt bother to touch anything and Clean! Check out was fast but not very warm... the location its amazing good restaurants and bars around. The breakfast was absurdly expensive so for the same price you get a very good restaurant outside! Recommend you the steak house Argentine just 5 min from the hotel near the redlight district! Maybe ill come back again to the hotel the location made my trip the price is fair. Some adjustments will be great!

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time we have been to Amsterdam this year, we stayed in NH Amsterdam Noord in January. The staff here were friendly and we were checked in fairly quickly. The rooms need abit of a refurb however the bathroom and TV were great. The lighting is not amazing, we had to turn every single lamp on to get ready in the evening. Hopefully they will sort the curtain out in room 5 at some point as it woke me up every morning due to the sun shining through in the top corner! Beds were big and comfy although we had to ask for a double duvet and hairdryer which were brought to the room (hairdryer in the bathroom is shocking, and we had two single duvets on a double bed). The bar at the hotel was good, not too overpriced (baring in mind we paid nearly 50 Euros for 4 drinks elsewhere!) overall I would definitely stay here again due to the location being just across the road to Centraal station and right in the centre. Thanks!

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first time to visit Amsterdam.As a traveller I'm looking for a hotel that gives the best accomodation.I've been to this 5***** hotel that is located at the central station of amsterdam but just felt disappointed of what we found out.First was the lift that operating very slow,2nd the smelly lobby (smoke smell througout the hotel)knowing that its a non smoking hotel,at the same time inside our room have a strong smell of tobacco and I think the smell also of the guests who stayed last in that room.The light in the entrance door does not working.And last but not the least is the hair dryer.I can say that the air from our window is better to dry my hair rather than using the old style hairdryer inside the bathroom.We have to wake up early to explore around the area and enjoy our trip but because of that we came up late in all our plans.Waited 30 mins to bring us an alternative hairdryer because in every 1 min it stop and malfunction.They said that we have to put it on 600v not on 1200v....because eventhough its on the highest volume it cannot dry our hair for an hour and how can we know if there is no sign at all indicating how to use it!Bathtub is a mess everytime we use it was flooded of water everywhere.Carpet visible with all stain/stink.So rather than staying a bit more time in this hotel we just decided to look for another hotel to meet our expectations and see the well maintain standard of a real 5 star hotel.I would not recommend this to anyone.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alverca do Ribatejo, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location, location, location...
Excellent location near the Central Station (50 meters) and close to all the attractions, to the cruise ships, restaurants, nightlife an so on.
Everybody speaks English and the room service is nice. The breakfast was just average (quantity and quality).
The rooms should be also updated (renovation in style) because the interiors are a little bit old including the bathrooms.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#141 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,053 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#78 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, NHHotels, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.