We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - noisy but non-cooling air conditioning.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #143 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location - noisy but non-cooling air conditioning.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel was okay- beautiful atrium and we enjoyed our stay but it was hot and humid and the air conditioning didn't work it just made a noise - they must know that the air-conditioning doesn't work as it turns up on other reviews! - and I would not go there again just because of that. (At least not in summer!)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    831
    439
    171
    104
See reviews for
222
874
126
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

great location opposite station and with in walking distance to the all seeing sights, wonderful helpful staff , great knowledge and help from concierge, very comfy bed , big choice breakfast ,cant not fault any thing


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

After reading many of the good reviews I had hoped the NH Barbizon would be good but all in our group were disappointed. Based on our experience, I really cannot consider this hotel anywhere near a deluxe, five star hotel.

Good things: 1. As many mentioned, the hotel has a great location-close to everything. Big plus. 2. The lobby is modern and clean. Appears to have been renovated in the last few years maybe. And they have water pitchers located throughout the lobby so you can get a drink. 3. The staff are very friendly and genuinely want to help. (Although we did find the reception staff a bit standoffish and they did not really seem to want to be bothered.). 4. Our package included the buffet breakfast which was very good.

Not so good: 1. Rooms are very, very dated and look like they were decorated with old office furniture, lamps, etc. The chairs in our room also had stains all over them. 2. It was very hot during our visit and the air conditioning in our room did not work correctly. Our room was never really cool. 3. A lot of inconsistencies with servicing our room. Trash cans were not emptied, towels not replaced, dirty glasses were not removed from our room. We also noticed dishes others had placed outside their rooms were left sitting in the hallway all day (seriously - all day long).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

NH Barbizon Palace is a hotel within walking distance from Centraal Station,Dam Sqare & Tourist Buses Pick-up Point. Many eateries (Budget as well) are also within walking distance.
You can also take Canal Cruise which is close to the Hotel.Very Clean Hotel,Big size rooms.Good & safe for Families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions over the last 10 years. The last time we went to Amsterdam was in 2008 - and the hotel hasn't been updated since that time. The rooms are sufficient for a mini break, and kept clean and well stocked.

The hotel is directly opposite Centraal Station and in walking distance from the Red light district. This hotel is not cheap, but it is well kept and in a good location. Beware of the noise from the streets of an evening from the bars and "Coffee Shops" nearby. The hotel provides earplugs (We had a street view room)

I would probably try a different location if I returned to Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Pros best location and nearly clean good staff and well decorated lobby
Room are large and bath is clean large LCD on room
Negative some old parts of hotel need refreshment
Hotel does not have pool
Finally I think a value five star hotel (of course it could be better ) and also you have position near central train station

Room Tip: Ask inside room there is absolute quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms and great staff. Hotel has good food for the price. Easy walking around the hotel and the staff can tell you great places to check out. Hotel is very clean. I only stay here when I visit. Chech them out for yourself.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#141 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#78 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,176 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, NHHotels, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.