We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoped the NH Barbizon Palace would be good but disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #139 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hoped the NH Barbizon Palace would be good but disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

After reading many of the good reviews I had hoped the NH Barbizon would be good but all in our group were disappointed. Based on our experience, I really cannot consider this hotel anywhere near a deluxe, five star hotel.

Good things: 1. As many mentioned, the hotel has a great location-close to everything. Big plus. 2. The lobby is modern and clean. Appears to have been renovated in the last few years maybe. And they have water pitchers located throughout the lobby so you can get a drink. 3. The staff are very friendly and genuinely want to help. (Although we did find the reception staff a bit standoffish and they did not really seem to want to be bothered.). 4. Our package included the buffet breakfast which was very good.

Not so good: 1. Rooms are very, very dated and look like they were decorated with old office furniture, lamps, etc. The chairs in our room also had stains all over them. 2. It was very hot during our visit and the air conditioning in our room did not work correctly. Our room was never really cool. 3. A lot of inconsistencies with servicing our room. Trash cans were not emptied, towels not replaced, dirty glasses were not removed from our room. We also noticed dishes others had placed outside their rooms were left sitting in the hallway all day (seriously - all day long).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    638
    345
    133
    82
See reviews for
165
646
97
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

NH Barbizon Palace is a hotel within walking distance from Centraal Station,Dam Sqare & Tourist Buses Pick-up Point. Many eateries (Budget as well) are also within walking distance.
You can also take Canal Cruise which is close to the Hotel.Very Clean Hotel,Big size rooms.Good & safe for Families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions over the last 10 years. The last time we went to Amsterdam was in 2008 - and the hotel hasn't been updated since that time. The rooms are sufficient for a mini break, and kept clean and well stocked.

The hotel is directly opposite Centraal Station and in walking distance from the Red light district. This hotel is not cheap, but it is well kept and in a good location. Beware of the noise from the streets of an evening from the bars and "Coffee Shops" nearby. The hotel provides earplugs (We had a street view room)

I would probably try a different location if I returned to Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Pros best location and nearly clean good staff and well decorated lobby
Room are large and bath is clean large LCD on room
Negative some old parts of hotel need refreshment
Hotel does not have pool
Finally I think a value five star hotel (of course it could be better ) and also you have position near central train station

Room Tip: Ask inside room there is absolute quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms and great staff. Hotel has good food for the price. Easy walking around the hotel and the staff can tell you great places to check out. Hotel is very clean. I only stay here when I visit. Chech them out for yourself.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location close to Central Train Station, friendly staff and a no-hassle stay. The rooms are fairly modest, not luxurious, but they are clean and good for the price. The bathroom was very nice and everything worked well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed the great location, friendly staff and room.

We hope you had a save trip back home and may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After this bad experience in NH Barbizon Palace, I will definitely avoid to stay in any hotel under NH Hotels and will also warn my family and friends too.
I booked a room for 3 persons and turned out it was a double room. The staff added a rollaway bed without informing me and didn't mention about the price until I asked. Even though I was forced to pay extra 80€ for an uncomfy rollaway bed, there was NOT any extra amenity for the third person staying in. We asked twice for a pair of slippers but they NEVER come. The free wifi was very weak and often disconnect too.
Moreover, it took at least 30 minutes to check in and check out even in off-peak hours. My parents who are both 60+ and tired from the flight had to stand there to wait, because all the seats in the lobby were occupied by guests of the ongoing conference.
When checked out, the receptionist asked procedurally about my feedback of the stay and I told him all of the above. After explaining my dissatisfaction for 5 minutes, all I got from the receptionist was ‘Oh, I am sorry.’ And then he looked away for another guest.
Not only is this the most insincere attitude I have ever encountered, this is also my worst experience after 3 years traveling around Europe. Based on such level of service quality and attitude, it does not deserve one single star.

Room Tip: The hotel location is truly close to the Amsterdam Main Station. But with a daypass for 7.5€ one can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we all very much regret that we did not succeed. Therefore, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies.

We are very sorry to hear about the inconveniences with the extra bed and the service involved. We will definitely discuss your experience with the team, to make sure that similar situations will not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel and make your stay a pleasant one.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.