We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, that's about it...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #139 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great location, that's about it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night after booking a top secret hotel on lastminute.com. The hotel is in a great location with a welcoming reception. However, those would be my only good points. The room looked very tired, the bed was small, walls were dirty, their were cracks in the ceiling beam, wifi was a bit choppy and their was no pay per view channels on the TV. Parking was also 50 euros a night and breakfast was expensive, I would not class as 5 stars, a 3 star or very generous 4 star at best.
I would not pay full price for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you are satisfied about our great location and welcoming reception. We are sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet up with your expectations. I’m happy to tell you we recently replaced our TV’s for flat screen TV’s and now have a broader range of TV channels available.

Despite you had some negative remarks, we hope you had an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam and we hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel and make your stay a pleasant one.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    642
    345
    135
    82
See reviews for
165
650
97
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed late June 2014 while attending a conference at the Hotel.
The conference was good, the facilities were nice and the food in the restaurant was nice. That's the good stuff.

Now the bad stuff.
I arrived at 10pm due to flight schedules. I waited for ages to check in while the two staff dealt with other customers. When assistant #1 finished with her guest she walked off without a word, assistant #2 finished with her guest then answered the phone rather than help me. Irritating when you've been travelling all day and want to get into your room and catch the last of the football.

I was checked into 569 on the 5th floor. On arriving in my room I discovered an unflushed toilet. Grim. I wasn't told it was a smoking room until I got upstairs and noticed the horrible smell in the corridors and the stink in my room. I asked at reception and was told they couldn't move me as they were full.

I repeatedly opened the window to try and clear the smell and every time I returned to my room during breaks in the conference someone had entered my room and closed it - it's June, it's not cold, so I couldn't see any reason to do this.

The lifts require a key card to operate, but not on arrival late in the evening - why would you need security late at night when you're opposite Amsterdam Central Station?
The following morning the lifts were locked down and my keycard didn't work on the lifts or to re-enter my room, handy when you're dashing between breakfast and the first morning session. I was told by a client the night before the lifts had died completely and people had to walk up 5 flights of stairs.

My room was grubby, stains on the carpet, the phone socket was hanging off the wall, one of the bedside lights didn't work and there was a large sticky smear on the picture.
The was an old style, non widescreen CRT. I tried to watch the World Cup Football but the picture was so poor I couldn't read the score through the snow unless I stood in front of it - that's right snow on TV in 2014.
The door to the minibar was broken and the minibar itself was dirty with spills inside.
The shower took 7 minutes to run hot - I timed it on the second day - and even then it was a trickle.

I couldn't complain at the time as I was either attending sessions or talking to clients at every opportunity. I didn't fancy being seen complaining at reception by our delegates who were also staying here. It was embarrassing having to apologise for the state of the rooms, particularly when the previous years hotel in Berlin had been exceptional and the same price for the delegates.

This hotel could be great, the lobby restaurant and conference facilities are great. The breakfast was nice and we had great lunches twice for a large delegate group which was handled well.
The rooms and the lifts need a serious overhaul.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. This is much appreciated. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet up with your expectations. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for this. We also would like to thank you for bringing your constructive points to our attention. We will discuss this with our head office.

We hope you had a save trip back home and you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

very nice meeting room (it used to be a chapel!!!), nice coffee break.
old sleeping rooms, need some renovation. clean.
wonderful position 2 mins from dam square and central station.
prices are a bit high but it's amsterdam.
wifi is a rip off.
definately not 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the share your feedback with us. This is much appreciated. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the St Olof’s Chapel, the clean rooms and the wonderful location.

On the other hand we want to thank you for your feedback regarding the rooms. We will definitely discuss this with our Head Office.

We hope you had a save trip back home and that we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have been all over the world. I have been in all kinds of hotels. Yes the room it self needs updates, but the beds are very nice, I had a good sleep. What makes this a GREAT hotel is the staff. I was traveling back to the United States from Saudi Arabia alone with my two kids. My husband had to stay behind to work a few more weeks. I got back to our room after a fun day at Nemo with the kids, I felt faint and felt a UTI coming on. As the evening went on I felt worse. I did not know what to do, so I called the front desk. Mandy came up to the room and to the rescue! She called the doctor, got a script, and tried to get the antibiotics delivered. Then the scrip did not get to the pharmacy, so she had to track the doctor down and try again. Mandy even went to the pharmacy and got the prescription for me herself as I was alone with two young kids and about to pass out. Mandy made it so I could sleep and make the flight the next morning without pain. To me that is what this world is about, good people helping good people. I will stay here again and again as it is now my home in Amsterdam. The wise traveler will do the same. Thank you Mandy! Thank you NH Hotels!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to read our staff has been of such a great help to you! Your friendly and positive comments have been shared within our team for encouragement already.

We hope you feel better soon and we look forward welcoming you and your family again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I can't really add to the reviews already here - a hotel hat has seen better days, and certainly the first time in years that I have seen a CRT TV anywhere, but a fabulous location. The staff are lovely, without exception. I was there for two nights, and after the first night I complained that I had been bitten by mosquitos and could they please spray the room, which they did. The next night shortly before dawn I realised they were not mozzies but bedbugs. Stripping back the duvet to see them run will do that for you. I complained at check-out... it really was not worth asking for a new room at 4am - when I checked out, and they gave me the wi-fi upgrade for free, which was sweet but my company profited from the fact that I was bitten so badly I am not going to be able to go swimming for another few days until the lumps and bumps subside.
The receptionist apologised sweetly and sincerely, and I am sure they checked the room (242); I was just unlucky, as none of the other 60 people who were at the same conference complained, or maybe they did not want to admit it, I don't know.
So, traveller, if you are bitten during the night and do not hear or see mosquitos, ask for another room. And Google 'bedbugs' so you know what to do when you get home to make sure no passengers take up residence chez vous.

Room Tip: All the rooms had earplugs next to the bed. Maybe you should choose another hotel if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us and we truly regret to hear about your unpleasant experience. We already tried to contact you, but unfortunately we could not reach you on the phone. We would like to get in contact with you to further discuss the situation, can you please contact us.

We are looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The service was really good and the location is amazing. The lobby was refurbished and looked very slick and modern, and so I expected the room to be quite similar in style. But, the room where I was staying was quite outdated with old furniture and an ancient TV. I guess there are refurbished rooms where the pictures for websites have been taken, but we didn't get one.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor This is very much appreciated. We are glad to read you enjoyed our comfortable and clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff.. We also would like to thank you for bringing your constructive remark about the state of the building to our attention. We will discuss this with our Head Office.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in an akwardly very low ceiling room on the 4th floor. The hotel is a relatively sad business hotel conveniently located near the central station. Breakfast is expensive at €25 with average food. Staff is friendly and helpful. At €250 a night, there are better options out there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your effort. I regret to hear of the disappointments you experienced during your stay. As the hotel is built out of the 17th century typical Dutch houses, some rooms still have authentic elements like the lower ceilings or wooden beams which can make it look less modern.

Despite you had some negative remarks, we hope you had an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam and we hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel and make your stay a pleasant one.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.