We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm. not bad but should be much better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #138 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mmm. not bad but should be much better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

very nice meeting room (it used to be a chapel!!!), nice coffee break.
old sleeping rooms, need some renovation. clean.
wonderful position 2 mins from dam square and central station.
prices are a bit high but it's amsterdam.
wifi is a rip off.
definately not 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the share your feedback with us. This is much appreciated. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the St Olof’s Chapel, the clean rooms and the wonderful location.

On the other hand we want to thank you for your feedback regarding the rooms. We will definitely discuss this with our Head Office.

We hope you had a save trip back home and that we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    650
    349
    136
    84
See reviews for
166
659
102
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have been all over the world. I have been in all kinds of hotels. Yes the room it self needs updates, but the beds are very nice, I had a good sleep. What makes this a GREAT hotel is the staff. I was traveling back to the United States from Saudi Arabia alone with my two kids. My husband had to stay behind to work a few more weeks. I got back to our room after a fun day at Nemo with the kids, I felt faint and felt a UTI coming on. As the evening went on I felt worse. I did not know what to do, so I called the front desk. Mandy came up to the room and to the rescue! She called the doctor, got a script, and tried to get the antibiotics delivered. Then the scrip did not get to the pharmacy, so she had to track the doctor down and try again. Mandy even went to the pharmacy and got the prescription for me herself as I was alone with two young kids and about to pass out. Mandy made it so I could sleep and make the flight the next morning without pain. To me that is what this world is about, good people helping good people. I will stay here again and again as it is now my home in Amsterdam. The wise traveler will do the same. Thank you Mandy! Thank you NH Hotels!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to read our staff has been of such a great help to you! Your friendly and positive comments have been shared within our team for encouragement already.

We hope you feel better soon and we look forward welcoming you and your family again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I can't really add to the reviews already here - a hotel hat has seen better days, and certainly the first time in years that I have seen a CRT TV anywhere, but a fabulous location. The staff are lovely, without exception. I was there for two nights, and after the first night I complained that I had been bitten by mosquitos and could they please spray the room, which they did. The next night shortly before dawn I realised they were not mozzies but bedbugs. Stripping back the duvet to see them run will do that for you. I complained at check-out... it really was not worth asking for a new room at 4am - when I checked out, and they gave me the wi-fi upgrade for free, which was sweet but my company profited from the fact that I was bitten so badly I am not going to be able to go swimming for another few days until the lumps and bumps subside.
The receptionist apologised sweetly and sincerely, and I am sure they checked the room (242); I was just unlucky, as none of the other 60 people who were at the same conference complained, or maybe they did not want to admit it, I don't know.
So, traveller, if you are bitten during the night and do not hear or see mosquitos, ask for another room. And Google 'bedbugs' so you know what to do when you get home to make sure no passengers take up residence chez vous.

Room Tip: All the rooms had earplugs next to the bed. Maybe you should choose another hotel if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us and we truly regret to hear about your unpleasant experience. We already tried to contact you, but unfortunately we could not reach you on the phone. We would like to get in contact with you to further discuss the situation, can you please contact us.

We are looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The service was really good and the location is amazing. The lobby was refurbished and looked very slick and modern, and so I expected the room to be quite similar in style. But, the room where I was staying was quite outdated with old furniture and an ancient TV. I guess there are refurbished rooms where the pictures for websites have been taken, but we didn't get one.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor This is very much appreciated. We are glad to read you enjoyed our comfortable and clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff.. We also would like to thank you for bringing your constructive remark about the state of the building to our attention. We will discuss this with our Head Office.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in an akwardly very low ceiling room on the 4th floor. The hotel is a relatively sad business hotel conveniently located near the central station. Breakfast is expensive at €25 with average food. Staff is friendly and helpful. At €250 a night, there are better options out there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your effort. I regret to hear of the disappointments you experienced during your stay. As the hotel is built out of the 17th century typical Dutch houses, some rooms still have authentic elements like the lower ceilings or wooden beams which can make it look less modern.

Despite you had some negative remarks, we hope you had an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam and we hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel and make your stay a pleasant one.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This location was so great for us! We walked right fro the train station to the hotel. You can walk to anything, or take a tram! The rooms were spacious and it was quiet. Room service was good too! I would stay here again! We did have to change rooms after the first night because ours overlooked the lobby! It was kind of neat, our own "red light!" But with a 4 year old who wanted to leave the curtains open all of the time, it wasn't working! I would like to stay one night in that room again though! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a beautiful review about our hotel. We are very delighted to hear that you loved the location, the spacious rooms and our room service. We would like to offer you our apologies for the fact you had to change rooms after the first night.

We look forward to welcome you and your family again as our guests in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Quite a good hotel, not too expensive, decent facilities, friendly and helpful staff. The best thing about this hotel though is the location - near the station and central Amsterdam. We've been here a few times now and will probably continue to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read you have chosen our hotel again for your stay in Amsterdam. It is good to learn you enjoyed our facilities, wonderful staff and good location.

We look forward giving you new beautiful memories and hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.