We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #125 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Location location location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The location was incredible. We could walk to everything and were close to every possible modes of transportation. The personnel were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The toiletries were amazing as was the bath. Our room was quiet. I read reviews that were unflattering and I was worried for nothing. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel, we really appreciate the feedback. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. We just got new mattresses, so it is good to hear they are incredibly comfortable!

Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    765
    388
    160
    91
See reviews for
194
787
110
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

NH Baribizon Palace is well located in the heart of the city with short walking distance to all major sites. The location is well worth the 5 star rating of this hotel, but unfortunately the rooms are not.

Entering the hotel from the main entrance one arrives to a spacious and well lit main hall. The public areas are clean and even have a hint of luxury in building materials. Service is in on an ok level, but you would not guess to have arrived to a 5* hotel.

Then comes the room. Quite large, but worn out and a teeny tiny double bed of 120-140cm wide. Old 20" CRT tv, not lcd but one of those huge boxes from the 90's. There's also a radio that is built in to a night stand next to the bed. "This is not a radio, please use the tv" says a dymo sticker on the radio, that is labeled as "radio" by the manufacturer of the device back in the 70's.

NH Barbizon palace is ok for anyone who wants an excellent location from their hotel but is willing to accept that the room quality is far from 5 stars.

Personally I put NH chain on my ban list after my visit to NH Barbizon Palace. If this is NH's understanding of 5 star quality, I will look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated. We are happy to read you enjoyed our location. We are sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet up your expectations. We would like to offer you our apologies and will definitely discuss your feedback about the rooms with our Head Office.

We hope to see you back again and hope to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Well okay it is officially a 5 star and as other reviews say the foyer is beautiful, but the rooms although clean are very dated. If you are british think travel lodge and that's the look! Very 90's decor. However having said that the location is fantastic and in the morning they leave coffee and tea out with takeaway cups for on your way out which was a nice touch. We had room only so can't comment on breakfast. Would recommend as a place to stay as if you think its really 4 star you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review and give us your feedback. We are happy to read your satisfaction about our entrance, cleanliness, location and complimentary coffee and tea facilities in the morning. We will review your feedback about the rooms with our head office.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Amsterdam soon.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I love this hotel!!! I and my wife are very satisfied with this hotel. Perfect location. the service was at the highest level, the rooms are large and clean (not the newest). Breakfast very good and varied. Pleasant staff. Thanks for the nice spent time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Amsterdam. We are very pleased to read that you had such a positive experience during your stay. We appreciate you pointing out our high service level!

We hope, based on your recent experience, we can welcome you back again soon.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Friendly staff, clean room, efficient room service and card entry for lifts and room. The room decor may be a little bit dated but who cares I went to explore not stay in my hotel room! Would definitely stay here again! Great location close to train station and not far from main areas. Food and other establishments also close by if your not looking to go central

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive and kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read you appreciated our great location, clean rooms and room service.

We hope you had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and will stay with us again next time.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Location, location, location. Just opposite the central train station.
Kind and helpful consierge with very good recommendations.
Quiet and clean room.
Free water with lemon/lime/orange wedges at the lobby.
Nice with a large selection breakfast.
Cons:
Very basic room.
A tiny old CRT TV.
The water stream in the shower wasn't strong enough and there was a problem with the evacuating of the waste water.
Bottom line: a good value for the the common visitor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you pros en cons regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that our concierge has been a great help to you. Your comments regarding our breakfast, clean rooms and our different types of water in the lobby are much appreciated!

We are sorry to hear that our rooms and televisions did not meet up to your expectations and you experienced some problems with the shower. We are happy to tell you that our televisions will be replaced by flat screens.

We are looking forward to welcome you again next time you are in Amsterdam

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff in the hotel is friendly and helpful and the hotel's location is perfect. The central station is in front of the hotel, the Red Light District is 5 mins away, the shops and restaurants are very close as well.

As for the rooms, they are in need of renovation as many have stated in their reviews. We booked a double bedroom, the room is spacious but unfortunately the bed is very small to my taste, barely fits a couple and yet I am fit and so is my wife.

Ask for a room on a high floor. We were on the 3rd floor and we barely slept during our 3 nights stay because of the people walking or standing outside by our window. We could hear them talk, laugh and even shout sometimes.

When it comes to the internet, you have 2 options, you either pay and I assume get a good service or pick the basic option which is free. I picked the later and it was annoying... it's slow, limited to 100 MB bandwidth per day and you need to renew your credentials every once in a while in a single day.

Finally, despite the above, we had a good stay in NH Barbizon Palace and we thank its staff for hosting us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. We are happy that we were the hotel of your choice for your trip to Amsterdam!

We are sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet up to your expectations. Therefore, we would like to apologize and we will discuss your improvement points with the Head Office. However we are happy to read that you appreciated our perfect location and helpful staff.

Despite you had some negative remarks, we hope you had an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam!

We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.