We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but a bit Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #140 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Location but a bit Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

There is no doubting the location of this hotel will probably make up for the fact that the rooms are a bit tired and in need of a make over. Its not to say they are untidy, mine was clean and was kept that way by the hotel but the decor, furniture, TV (not a flatscreen) etc are all from the 90's. If the hotel was advertised as a 3.5* to 4* it would have been more accurate.

If you get a good deal, it would be worth staying at this hotel. The staff are great, its in the middle of everything and you probably wont be spending that much time in your room anyway.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    642
    345
    135
    82
See reviews for
165
650
97
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at Amsterdam for just one night and my husband got me the night at this hotel as a valentine's day present. At the time, I admit, I though it was dispensable, such a fancy hotel, we were only there for one night and were more into enjoying Amsterdam's night, but I was proven wrong as soon as I walked in fresh from central station just across the street. The place is magnificently located and it's such a beautiful building. We accepted a larger room in the front of the building on a dare, since the worried receptionist told us it might be a bit noisier, being so close to the street, but it wasn't noisy at all. The room was large and clean, the king bed was comfortable and it was great to check out the busy street just out the window. I was very sorry to leave, I would like to have been able to be there longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was not cleaned properly, there was food in the mini-bar from the previous guest. Beds are old and uncomfortable and room service extremely slow.
Internet is slow and coverage in some rooms is quite poor.
If you get an exterior room it's too noisy so difficult to sleep.
TVs in the rooms are in general too old (CRT)
Rest is just OKish

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love this hotel. Have stayed twice, both times been VERY happy. Was unable to get a smoking room on first visit however we were allocated one as soon as it became available and cleaned. The hotel is stunning inside, the beds are comfortable and very spacious. Directly across from Centraal Station and nearby coffee shops, shops, bars and restaurants. Free WIFI available. The staff were fantastic, we had a very late flight on returning home and although check-out was at 4 (Sunday late check out - amazing) we were allowed to keep our luggage in their storage and hang about the lobby. Would 100% recommend this hotel, it is slightly costly compared to other hotels I've stayed at in Amsterdam but definitely worth the money. ALSO it has lifts!! which is amazing if you try some weed at a coffee shop.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights literally a couple of days ago. It is in a fantastic location, just 500m or so from the Central Station so most things were walkable from here. Although it's definitiely not a 5 star hotel, I wasn't expecting it to be given the price I paid for my stay. Yes, the decor (apart from a fabulous lobby and reception area) is somewhat dated and could do with a facelift, the rooms were large for a city centre location, very comfortable clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and obliging. I didn't eat here as there were just so many other tempting restaurants just minutes away. So to sum up, you get what you pay for, and I would say this was good value for money. Would I stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel on the top floor, so noise was never an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here for work, great location to the train station and getting out to see Amsterdam. I was at the front of the hotel looking over the canal and the station. The hotel had provided ear plugs for the bedroom. Great lunch was provided and the night we stayed in the hotel for a meal the steak was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was my second stay within the past three years at this property. While the lobby is fresh looking, the location to the train station and a lot of what Amsterdam has to offer is great, the hotel rooms themselves need some urgent refurbishing. It is sooo dated, more like a throwback to the early 80s at best. I can't understand why the hotel won't invest in upgrading their rooms. I have stayed in old hotels in my day and welcomed the charm that their age have given them, but even they have kept the charm while upgrading their rooms. Don't get me wrong, you houldn't have a terrible experience staying here but management can make some important room improvements and bring this back to a four star hotel. I don't know if they care to do this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.