We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, bad service, nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Barbizon Palace

Save Saved
You added NH Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #146 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Norway
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average, bad service, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is within walking distanse to the central station and has a good location. Shoppingareas, restuarants and bars are closeby. The tramservice is great and a day ticket will give you easy access to most of the areas.in Amsterdam.

We checked in late on Sunday. The staff was not pleasent at all. They did the check in ok but the were not at all informative and were preoccupied taking deposit from us without explaining anything. A smile will have helped alot. The room was big and clean. The beds are good. The breakfast is expensive but very good with lots of warm and cold food. The big minus is the service of the staff. no greetings, no smiles.... I also noticed that one of the headstaff was coorecting one of the waiters in front of the guests. Not a good sign. Check out was ok and the lady on this day was pleasent. It is an ok hotel but I will head for some other hotel nexttime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    575
    319
    129
    74
See reviews for
147
599
92
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Egremont, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

In very good location good size rooms and bed very comfortable , red light district behind hotel which wasn't a problem didn't know hotel offered canal cruise if known I would have taken advantage of that overall a very pleasant stay and would consider a return when coming back to Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Barbizon Palace sits opposite the Central Station, and right on the edge of the Red Light District.
I emphasise this for those of you thinking of going and really wanting a quiet experience.
It is on the edge of one of the liveliest areas in Europe and is opposite a major railway station.it is not quiet.
You can however use the earplugs provided or as we did, ask for a room with an internal view ( and it was quiet) but outside it is like Soddam and Gemorah .
Amsterdam is a heady mix of culture,hedonism,sex,drugs and rock and roll , although I didn't see any of the latter, I saw plenty of all the others.
The Hotel is not by modern standards a real 5* , it caters for a business clientele! and has an expensive restaurant! the rooms are tired and need a refurb?!but they are large and clean?Although our room did have some writing on the wall and some holes in the wall paper. My main problem was based around a great day walking round Amsterdam and coming back late afternoon to find the room had not been serviced but the cleaner was in the next room. after waiting downstairs for half an hour we found that the cleaner had left and not only not done our room, but also posted under the door, the "clean our room " sign the hotel provides. A complaint by phone led to know action over the next 20 minutes and so a visit to Reception and a demand to see the Manager got the room cleaned by 5.55pm and we had arrived back at 3.45pm.
The offer of 2 lots of free drinks was OK ,but if Hotels get the basics wrong like cleaning your room, what hope is there of it matching it's 5* billing.
It is a great location and it was cheap....no wonder?!!

Room Tip: Choose an inside berth or prepare to party!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very nice hotel with fantastic location, only 2 mins from Centraal station. Massive bed and one of the most comfortable I've slept in at an hotel. Room overlooked the front street so you could hear some passing traffic and people but earplugs are provided, but to be honest it wasn't bad at all and the earplugs weren't required Very central with bars restaurants etc. on your doorstep. We didn't use any of the leisure facilities on offer but had a look and they seem very adequate. Staff very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much for them and did everything asked with a smile. Buffet breakfast was delicious and varied. We would definitely return here and would thoroughly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived here early on a Friday morning, our room was not ready but we were offered an upgrade to a "superior room" for 50 Euros, we took the room as it was our wedding anniversary, the room was lovely, fully furnished, with a nice big bathroom and stairs down to the sleeping area,and a view of the canals out of the window, so we were pleased to start with. There is a TV and radio in the room but the radio doesn't work. Tea and coffee facilities are also supplied.
On the downside the light switches and some lamps didn't work, so you have to get out of bed and go upstairs to turn out the lights, not brilliant, we mentioned this to reception twice, but nothing happened, although the standard reply was offered "we will send someone to look at it, they didn't.
The bathroom was great but suffered the usual european plumbing issues, the sink does not empty, so you have a wash, and a shave, go to breakfast, come back and the sink is still full...
again mention this to reception, again standard reply "we will send someone to have a look at it" they didn't, so we asked again, still nothing happened.
We used our tea bag and coffee sachet on the Friday morning, these were not replaced, so no more tea or coffee in your room, again mentioned this at reception, again nothing happened.
We have stayed at other NH hotels in Europe, and they are usually very good, this one is a bit of a let down, very pretty, very clean, and well laid out, and a great location,but let down by the staff who really don't like to help you at all, they smile nicely and say all the right things, but do nothing for you, despite numerous requests.
There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel, but are both very expensive, but outside and locally there is a great choice of both so this is not really an issue.
We will use NH hotels again, but not this one.

Room Tip: Avoid "superior" room 461, lights don't work, sink doesn't empty, maid does not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the NH Barbizon for 2 nights over the weekend. A 15min train ride from Schiphol, the location is fantastic; looking across from Central Station you can see the hotel so it's only a minutes walk. A short walk to access all the main tourist attractions and you are also near some brilliant pubs for the evening. When you walk in the hotel it does look impressive. Clean, modern and the staff are helpful. We were given an option of the view we would like whilst checking in. HOWEVER, the room did not match the rest of the hotel. Dated, limited amenities and a poor night's sleep. We had only 1 bottle of complimentary water on the first night and this was not replenished - the water is 3.50euros from the mini bar. I have NEVER been to a 5 star hotel where I've had to pay for water! Even Premier Inn/Travelodge provide this! In fact, we found it quite strange that the water was a euro cheaper if you bought it from the reception area! The tea and coffee sachets were also not replenished and the bathroom products were cheap.

Although we did not spend much time in the room, due to exploring the city, we do feel it is important when paying so much for a hotel that it is worth the money for the little time spent, and unfortunately this was not the case. My advice - save your money and stay at a cheaper and probably comparable hotel in the same area!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel has a great location, room was ok but not a 5* rating more like 3* to a 4* with a push. Bathroom light was on all the time, could not get it switched off at all. Bathroom tiles were a bit grubby with mould on, this was not due to lack of cleaning, as the cleaning lady was very thorough! Overall the staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barbizon Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.