We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Barbizon Palace

Save Saved
You added NH Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #147 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

very happy to advise to any travelers to Amsterdam, great location, very helpful and co-operative staffs. rooms was quite spacious compare to other city hotels.
enjoyed the extensive breakfast,
definitely looking forward to stay in coming summer again

Room Tip: use the street side room to see crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you recently. I would like to thank you very much for your nice compliments about NH Barbizon Palace and my staff.

I am looking forward to welcome you coming summer again!

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    555
    320
    131
    70
See reviews for
137
566
91
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ill start with the positive - the hotel is in a great location for exploring Amsterdam.

Last stay here was awful! My room on the first floor was opposite a local bar which was playing load music etc until the early hours of the morning and due to no double glazing I could get any sleep. Eventually contacted reception to ask for another room but was told there was only a single smoking room available which I declined as the last stay was in a smoking room and was disgusting and smelly (and I am a smoker). I eventually dosed off at 3am only to be woken by staff at 5am cleaning and throwing out empty bottles from the bar underneath my room. I brought this to the attention of the management in the morning but was only offered a free drink which was pointless as just had breakfast and checking out on my way to the office. One of the managers gave me her business card and I have emailed her on 2 occassions now but received no response!

Breakfast is very poor considering it is 25 euros! The limited hot items (egg, bacon, waffles) were completely cold and didnt feel safe eating them (this has been the same experience on prior visits), therefore very expensive breakfast for fruit and juice!

To say I will never stay here again is an understatement! Had problems on prior visits but this last one just was just too much!

Room Tip: as high a floor as possible and not a smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Thomson,

First of all, I would like to offer you my sincere apologies that you did not had a convenient stay with us and that you did not received a response due to a miscommunication. Last week Monday, my Account Manager called you to discuss the situation. I hope that, after this conversation, you are feeling a little bit better about the situation. Furthermore, I will discuss your situation with my Management Team to improve the standards of the hotel.

Again my apologies for all the inconveniences and I hope to welcome you again as our guest in the future.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

First let me just say I was transferred to this hotel under very short notice as the hotel I booked to stay in had an internal issue that led to them being overbooked and having me transferred to this hotel. I was worried that it would be inferior to my original hotel (which I will not name).

However I found the room comfortable and the staff more than helpful considering they were not prepared for my arrival as I had no original reservation with them. My only minor downpoint was the fact that my room was basically on a below ground level floor but it did not majorly affect the 1 night I stayed in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Although we were not your first choice, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you have plans to visit us again, it is possible to request a room on a higher floor and we will do our utmost to arrange this for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great location just across from the Central Station. Some of the hotel features are quite dated but we found the room to be comfortable and clean which is the important thing. We got a spacious room with a canal view which was really nice. Reception staff were friendly and helped us with directions to a couple of places. We got the room at a good price through a top secret hotel deal - it's good value if you can get it at the right price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and nice compliments. I am glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and I am looking forward to welcome you again at NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is dated and dirty and I left with bites all over my arms and legs. The staff was very nice, the location was great but it was not the 5 star hotel it claims to be. The bathroom was dated and dirty and the bed was just two twins pushed together, AND I HAVE GROSS BITES ALL OVER ME!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to offer you my sincere apologies that you did not had a convenient stay with us and I regret it very much to read that you were bitten all over your arms and legs. I can imagine that this was very inconvenient for you and I hope that you are feeling a little bit better now.

Hereby I would like to inform you that, after reading your review, we immediately took action and checked all the twin rooms for bedbugs. I also informed a company, specialized in prevention of insects, to check the hotel and no bedbugs were found at all.

If you prefer to receive a report from the investigation, please contact the hotel and I will personally contact you.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, but it is a dated property, thus if you pay up to € 100/room/night, it is a great value offer. Any higher price will decrease the cost-effectiveness.
The surrounding area is full of nice restaurants and pubs and is not confusional as the nearby "Red Light District".

Room Tip: Choose rooms looking the courtyard, in order to have a good rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed also the surrounding area of NH Barbizon Palace and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located close to the central train station. It is very nice looking with nice rooms.
However, the "double" bed is a large singel bed. Hopeless to get a decent nights sleep... Can't understand why some hotels insist on having beds like these.
The cleaning is not very good, but ok.
The staff is nice and helpful.
There is some noice from the streets, as could be expected in this area.
Did not have breakfast, so can't comment on that.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you recently in NH Barbizon Palace and I would like to thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. I would like to offer you my sincere apologies that you did not had a decent night sleep in the room with the double bed. Hereby I would like to inform you that we also offer rooms on the inside part of the hotel with a King-size bed. Those rooms are not located on the street side and are more quiet.

I am looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barbizon Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.