We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #138 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Muscat
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The location is perfect, room well equipped and excellent value for money.

I liked:
- hotel is very close to many restaurants.
- free Wi-Fi

i did not like the breakfast buffet , so i recommend booking the room only.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback and nice compliments. I regret that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. When you are coming again to NH Barbizon Palace and you have special wishes for breakfast (next to the buffet), we are more than willing to prepare this for you a la minute.

We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    653
    349
    137
    84
See reviews for
166
663
102
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have returned from a two night stay in late September. The hotel could not be more
Ideally located to enjoy the city. Accolades to the concierge who provided us with the use
of a wheelchair as ours was in need of repair!!! We had a room with a handicapped bathroom that is by far the best equipped of any we found throughout Europe. If you are a special needs traveller, I give this hotel 5 plus stars and it offers three good elevators. The housekeeping does
a great job and the room was very clean. It is a bit dated and could use a bit of spruce up in all
I would say a four star in that regard. You cannot beat the location!!! Our room was quiet
and the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: You have a choice of view and noisy or quiet. We enjoyed quiet - not in the room much anyway with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time in NH Barbizon Palace and we will share your nice compliments with all the staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel was ok but was definitely not a 5 star hotel . The lobby area was really nice and the staff were very helpful . The bedroom was very dated and it should have set alarm bells ringing when we found earplugs on our pillows ( we found out why in the night and early morning ) do they not do double glazing in holland ??? Try to avoid rom 101 ....it needs being out into room 101 !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and your compliments about the lobby and our staff.

First of all, I would like to offer you my sincere apologies that you did not had a convenient stay in room 101. Hereby I would like to inform you that we also provide rooms on the inside-part of the hotel for a good night rest. Because the hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam, there might be a chance that you hear some noises from the street.

We hope to welcome you again in the future in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

stayed from 27th september to 1st october. had gone for a conference and was going to amsterdam for the second time. As soon as I reached hotel, the central station stood out majestically infront. The checkin was fast and got a room at 10 am.
The hotel rooms are reasonably large and comfortable and the breakfast was lavish,
behind the hotel is the redlight district and Dam square and walkink street just 5 min away.
all in all a good experience.
would definitely recoomend the hotel.
was my second NH hotel after Salzburg. Keep it up

Room Tip: good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and all your nice compliments about NH Barbizon Palace. Hereby I would gladly inform you that we shared your compliments with all the staff and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nothing beats this great location at the heart of Amsterdam, just across the street from the central station and close to the Red Light district.

Service is very good, and breakfast is included- really good with a large variety of food.

Rooms are a bit tired. When checking in you are offered with 2 options- rooms with a view but noisy or quiet rooms. I suggest taking the quiet ones as rooms in the front tent to be very noisy.

The gym is disappointing. 2 treadmills and a few weights. They don't even have mattresses...

Internet is free but very slow. I suggest buying the Premium option especially if you're on business.

All in all- recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit tired. When checking in you are offered with 2 options- rooms with a view but noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen NH Barbizon Palace. It was a great pleasure to welcome you recently. We would like to thank you for your feedback and your compliments.

Hereby, we would like to inform you that we will discuss your improvement points about the rooms, the gym and the internet with our Head Office.

We look forward to welcome you again as our guest in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed here before and stayed here again recently. I love the location - it is just across from the central train station and near the fun spots. A negative is the front desk: The staff is friendly, but on my last stay and on this stay, I had to wait in line for about 15 minutes to check in - there is not enough staff on the front desk. The rooms are ok - not luxurious, but great for a place to get a good night's rest, very comfortable and clean. On this stay, we were in a room in the 17th century house section of the hotel. It was smaller than the room we had on our previous stay, but I would totally recommend this one. It was full of character - had wooden beam ceilings with a pitched ceiling.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size and character, so talk to the front desk when checking in to make sure you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and nice compliments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you came back to our hotel and that you like our rooms situated in one of the houses from the 17th century, with the Amsterdam characteristics.

Hereby, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you had to wait 15 minutes before you could check-in. We will discuss this with the Management Team to improve the standards of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for a 2 night work trip recently. The location couldn't have been better as hotel is directly across from central station. The room rate was very good until you want to add breakfast which is €26! Hi speed wi fi was €10 a day so would quickly add up. Overall a lovely hotel which I would return to.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.