We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #143 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris
1 review
“old and”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

In the city center,
WIFI is very very poor despite lots of advertizement -> very low bit rate, bad coverage, many codes to enter per device. if you don't want to use internet, this is your hotel.
Horrible champoo and soap quality. Also Soap and Champoo smell were quite bad. only 1 soap and very very small. bring your own..
very used Equipment including beds..
Seems that last time they refurbished was in 1960..


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    832
    441
    172
    104
See reviews for
225
879
126
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fantastic location, beautiful lobby & surroundings. The staff were very helpful.
Very good sized room & super comfy bed. I think the bathrooms need some upgrading but on the whole would advise anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The NH Barbizon Palace is smack opposite the Central Station. The building looks good from the inside. Went on a work trip with colleagues in August. It was the peak tourist season. Landed on a Sunday (Work starts Monday). We timed it so that we land up at the check-in time of 2:00 p.m.
(lucky with a flight from Abu Dhabi).However we had to WAIT till 5 p.m. for getting a room as the hotel has a late checkout policy on Sundays!. Great , 5 p.m. check-ins? Unheard off and this is with prior booking and intimation of arrival times!
The room I was in was in two levels (I guess many of the rooms are:). The bath room is soon as you enter and then you got to go down a flight of stairs to the sleeping area. Very uncomfortable trotting up and down stairs every day and we stayed five days. And the rooms are small.

Had room at the back. The canal is at the back/side whatever and there are pubs and restaurants. It got very nosy at night on the first day with music blaring away very loudly.

Average rooms

In all the days I was there they did not clean the hotel fully, sometimes not emptying the bin, tea cups not cleaned etc. The bed was made however.

This is definitely not five star, all added restaurants /facilities do not make a five star if the room is not comfortable !

The breakfast was good and the restaurant nice.

Hotel staff pleasant.

Location is central and good for getting around.

Not worth the rating . Room not comfy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without those beastly stairs! One level only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The main advantage of this hotel is its location opposite to central station and near dam sequare and city center. Area is too noisy day and night, hotel furniture old and aged, room service very basic and very limited choices. Receiption staff is very helpful and rooms are clean despite being old. Farily good size of the room compared to hotels generally in Amsterdam. Free wifi but slow.

Room Tip: Take front rooms on floor 3-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
385 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is quite worn inside the rooms. Not sure why this qualifies as five star. The furnishings were a bit old. The t.v. isn't even a flat screen, and it's only about a 14" screen. Getting in and out of the bathtub/shower is really dangerous, as it's very high, designed for people well over six feet tall, and it's curved, so you can't even stand straight up in it.

I had one of the very few rooms with a nice view of the train station, but must views look pretty bad. Location is very central to train station, red light district, lots of restaurants nearby. Reasonably quiet.

Staff were all very frirendly. There is free wifi in the lobby. It is priced a lot lower than other so called five star hotels, but it's not five star at all. My room was quite spacious but I doubt I would stay there again until they modernize the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaune, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were very surprised that the hotel was as nice as it was for the price we paid. The location is terrific. It was an easy walk to the major sights. The Hop On Hop Off bus is a 5 minute walk away as were the canal boat tours. We stayed there prior to a cruise. It is a quick taxi ride to the cruise port. The staff was very helpful. Everyone spoke excellent English which is huge for us. The room was very clean as was the bathroom and the bed was comfortable. So, location, cleanliness and comfort makes this a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After some trepidation, I booked this hotel on Priceline, hoping the location would make up for any shortcomings that I had read about, and was happily surprised. It is an easy five minute walk from the train station with luggage. Check in was a breeze with a very helpful staff. Lobby is very large and modern. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we had no issues with furniture although it certainly hasn't been remodeled recently. We felt very secure with our room key necessary to use elevator to access our floor,along with a large room safe. The view outside our window was of a small street along a canal. It was somewhat loud into the night but we really enjoyed the view and it didn't bother our sleep. Once outside the hotel we were just a short walk from many restaurants, bars and sights. I recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#77 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,193 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#23 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, NHHotels, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.