We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After some trepidation, I booked this hotel on Priceline, hoping the location would make up for any shortcomings that I had read about, and was happily surprised. It is an easy five minute walk from the train station with luggage. Check in was a breeze with a very helpful staff. Lobby is very large and modern. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we had no issues with furniture although it certainly hasn't been remodeled recently. We felt very secure with our room key necessary to use elevator to access our floor,along with a large room safe. The view outside our window was of a small street along a canal. It was somewhat loud into the night but we really enjoyed the view and it didn't bother our sleep. Once outside the hotel we were just a short walk from many restaurants, bars and sights. I recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    615
    333
    131
    78
See reviews for
159
632
96
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not a 5 star hotel, been con by last minute.com said 5 star hotel it is a secret hotel once they revealed it you cannot do anything you cannot get your money back think ,be wise there is more nicer hotel than this nursing home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for a post cruise stay. The hotel is advertised as a 5 star hotel. It is not. Although the lobby area may look appealing, the rooms need a lot of help! The room we had was quite large. The bathroom was also large. However it looks like no updates have been done to the hotel rooms since maybe the 80's. the carpeting, curtains, furniture, mattresses and lighting desperately need a change! The first night was very humid and although the fan/air,conditioning was on, the bedding felt extremely humid/damp. And even though we had a kingside bed, the top duvet was made up of 2 twins! No top bed sheet either! Strange! Friends travelling with us had to change rooms after the first night due to a "bug problem". I just hope they didn't bring any bed bugs home!
We were able to enjoy a pizza and drinks in the lobby however our evening quickly went downhill when we spotted not one, but two mice scattering across the lobby underneath the couches!
Fortunately the hotel is located within walking distance of many bars and restaurants. Will not stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights while attending a medical conference in Amsterdam. The location was superb 2 minutes walk from the central station and the red zone and the shopping area. Staff were friendly and accommodated me for an early check in (at 10 am). The room was spacious and clean but the view was miserable. The food was acceptable. And that is all!!! The hotel contains nothing else to discuss!! No amenities or other restaurants or facilities! the building is old and needs renovation. A weird bad smell was always bothering when entering the lobby.

Nice hotel and recommended for a short stay. Overpriced. DO NOT expect a 5 star luxury!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a 4 day stay here again on 23rd August, when we checked in we were told our room had changed from our original reservation that was emailed to us. We asked for a explanation and told them we were not happy. The manager then took over our check in and told us he had upgraded our room to the best suite in the hotel . WOW the room was absolutely amazing it was a suite that took half of the top floor of the hotel, 2 balconys over looking the station side of Amsterdam. The suite had 2 toilets a large bathroom very large lounge, a really good music system, 2 TV's, a excellent kitchen with pod coffee machine, kettle, Mini bar. the suite was luxury. We had massive windows and patios that opened to give you a superb sound and view of everthing.The breakfast is excellent quality and service, the choice of drinks food etc is amazing. We had a great break in Amsterdam thanks to the staff of The Barbizon Palace. We shall definately stay here on our next and future visits to Amsterdam. Thank you to all the staff for making us welcome and taking care of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for 10 nights on a recent trip to Amsterdam.
The hotel lobby is clean, rooms are nice and the hotel is very close to Amsterdams most famous and infamous tourist attractions.
The hotel staff were friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here. First off, the location is excellent, right across Centraal Station. We arrived at Centraal Station just before 11am and went straight to the hotel. Very very easy walk even with luggage. We expected to drop off our luggage and head out to see the city but the man at the desk said our room was ready and we could head straight to our room. Awesome start to our stay in Amsterdam. We were also offered some free juice during check in.
The room was spacious, however, the furniture seemed a bit dated. There were stairs leading down to the bed and desk area. We had a room at the front of the hotel. They provided earplugs but we did not find it overly noisy that we needed to use them. We were on the second floor and slept great.
Back to the location, the hotel is very central and is near everything. We got this property through priceline and thought it was worth the price we paid but if we were to pay the regular rate, I don't think we would stay here again. It is advertised as 5 star but based on the decor/accomodation it is far from it. The lobby was beautiful, I wish the rooms reflected that as well. I do give 5 stars to the staff, they were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.