We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Barbizon Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NH Barbizon Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Top quality hotel with the best staff a hotel could ask for, All the staff was friendly & helpful from check in to check out. We arrived early, in fact 6 hours early but the hotel reception staff found a room we could go straight into. The room I had was excellent, clean & tidy with good facilities provided.
Food was also excellent no way could you find a fault with the buffet breakfast provided.
The hotel is in a excellent location across from Central Station & starting point to get around Amsterdam.
I can't comment on the spa & wellness centre as I never used it but if it's like the rest of the hotel I'm sure it will be good.
No question about it I will be going back & I can recommend this hotel is well worth staying at.
The hotel is a 15 min train ride from the airport to Central station costing 4 Euro so no need for expensive transfers.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room overlooking the canal which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    613
    333
    131
    78
See reviews for
159
631
96
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic stay- I was unsure after reading some of the reviews on here,but I emailed in advance,requesting a quiet non-smoking room..this is exactly what I got and it was a huge room too,with decent fluffy pillows and a nice comfy bed. More bath products than I've ever seen before- inc shower gels,lotions, shaver,toothbrush,toothpaste,hairbrush,a sponge, ear plugs for sleep,and shoe shine stuff! Very impressive array.
The hotel itself was spotless and the cleaning staff seemed to be constantly busy. I ate in the small restaurant each night and the food was beautifully presented and tasty.
The staff were unfailingly polite and smiley and friendly- they really could not do enough to help.
The hotel is opposite Central station and within walking distance of most major attractions that Amsterdam offers. This will be my hotel of choice on future visits!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is it's own worst enemy. It proudly describes itself as a five star hotel. It is not - plain and simple. Priceline describes it as a five store hotel. It is not - plain and simple. This is comfortable standard 3 star or 3.5 star hotel, an if it advertised itself as such, it would get much better reviews. You can often get this hotel at a real bargain depending on the time of year on certain websites. If so, then this is a good option for cost conscious travellers. Situated near the Central Station, this hotel is a good base location wise for many attractions in Amsterdam. Rooms were not available until after 5PM which was disappointing. The rooms are very standard hotel rooms - no real flair, but certainly clean and comfortable. The staff for the most part are accommodating, but be careful - internet is included in the room rate, but they don't tell you that. When we ordered the internet and paid for it ("high speed" is extra) and realized it was free for regular speed, we tried to get the charge removed and they wouldn't permit it. For the most part however, the staff is nice and someone in our party had a bad fall on the way back to the hotel and they sent someone up with a first aid kit to help. The hotel from the exterior looks like a Russian office building from the 1960s, however, the lobby is nice and there is a nice bar area and restaurants and meeting facilities. I would say that the hotel does need a modernization in the rooms etc. and until then I can only say that this hotel should only be selected if you can get a great deal - otherwise you will feel ripped off paying a 5 star price for a 3 or 3.5 star quality hotel and room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is supposedly one of Amsterdam's better hotels. So lets just give the facts.

1. Location is good.
2. Your room may be ready by 5pm - maybe
3. However they will offer to upgrade you to a different broken and dirty room that is ready when you arrive.
4. When they tell you they'll phone you when your room is ready - they won't. When you get back all your details will have disappeared along with the receptionist who couldn't be bothered.
5. In the room you'll find - light switches that are broken and hanging off the wall. You'll notice that the wallpaper is peeling off, the actual lights that do have a switch don't work. The buttons on the telephone are actually missing. The toilet is dirty. There are indescribable stains on carpets.
6. Better to go out for your entertainment. The TV is a small CRT with dodgy reception and doesn't work a lot of the time.
7. Don't bring anybody with you if you want some romance late at night. The queen bed is actually two singles on wheels and you'll lose them down the middle at some point.

So if you're thinking of coming to Amsterdam - do - it's a great city but don't stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a superb check-in experience courtesy of Stephanie .. The room was fine if a bit dim and dated .. Had some plumbing problems on third day but we were moved into a superior room and offered every assistance instead of waiting for maintenance to investigate .. Overall a nice experience and will stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i was for 4 days in business trip include weekend that's whay i had lots of time to be in the hotel i must say the staff are very freindly and assist but as all other hotels they try to sell you upgrade room and this is not a problem but as i was 2 or 3 times in this hotel at least they can give me better view rooms if i dont want to pay for upgrade!!
basic WIFI is ok sometimes but again try to make upselling to pay more and get better WIFI i beleive 5 star hotel should give better WIFI from begining .
breakfast has nothing to do with 5 star and should really upgrade to the 5 star standard.
gym is missing lots of things(water,TV) but at least its good idea from hotel to be under hotel mangement and not rented as before.
rooms:should be renovted and new TV has to be + bathroom amenties should be better quality and quantity
cleaning: i beleive hotel shoule look to the hygine as i saw mouth runing in the bar and receiption

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is in a great location. Rooms are nice and clean, with a decent view. Would deffo stay here again. Didnt eat at the hotel but there are many lovely places to eat near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 59-72, 1012AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, NHHotels, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.