We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to party neighborhoods” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Barbizon Palace

Save Saved
You added NH Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #146 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to party neighborhoods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel was fine. The staff was accommodating and pleasant enough, and the room was just fine. My side of the bed was a little slanted down, but since I didn't complain to the staff about it I'm not upset that they didn't fix it (but do maybe try out the bed). What I didn't realize was that the neighborhood is in the middle of party central. It's great it's so near the train station, but the neighborhood is noisy, tackily tourist-oriented, and obnoxious. If you're 19 and want to dive in and out of coffee shops, eat junk food, and go on bar crawls, this is a great place to be for you. If you're going for cultural attractions and museums, it's really, really best to look for someplace nearer to there.The hotel was nothing special, but not actually bad, but the neighborhood was so awful that I wouldn't recommend staying here anyway.

Room Tip: TRY OUT THE BED including laying on it the wrong way. We had a palpable bar running down the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    556
    322
    130
    70
See reviews for
140
568
90
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

To put it bluntly, there is no way we could have got a hotel in a better location. It was in a perfect location straight across from the station.
The hotel itself was very clean, and very welcoming but the room was basic with a tiny bed meant to sleep two adults. Also, keeping in mind it was a very snowy February, there were just two blankets on the bed.
The bathroom was small but very clean and fine for just the one night that we were staying.
We got an amazing deal on secret hotels, but otherwise I have seen it is a pretty pricey place to stay due to its great location.
Worth it if you can get it for cheap and don't mind being cramped and a little chilly at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Having read many reviews after booking this hotel I would say I was apprehensive.

Actually it wasn't that bad at all !!!!

Location - Perfect. Close to Train Station, easy walk to RDL, China Town and the Damrak. It was also within walking distance of Anne Frank's House (approx 15 - 20 mins).

Staff - very welcoming, Happy to store our luggage at 10am. Room ready on time.

Foyer - clean, welcoming and plenty of relaxing areas.

Room - this is where you saw the old hotel. Room was tired and in need of redecoration, however I have stayed in other 5* hotels with decor just as bad (eg Park Lane Hotel in London springs to mind). Room was clean (albeit could be cleaner). Toiletries fine, tea / coffee fine. No bathrobes or slippers provided however. Mini-bar fine (not the most expensive I've seen either). The size of the room was perfectly adequate for 3 of us, although an extra bed was put up we did not feel that we were cramped, or struggling for space.

Noise - many people have mentioned the noise. We were on the 4th floor and the only slight noise I heard actually came from enthusiastic guests in another room (didn't last long lol).

We didn't book any breakfast as it was quite expensive for 3 of us, and we had already decided to try out the little cafe beside Anne Frank.

Overall - yes, for the price I paid via Expedia I would stay here again. Rack rate - No, you could do much better.
As we had our 11 year old son in tow, this hotel was ideal, the room was spacious, clean and quiet enough, location was perfect, and the staff great - even providing my son with his own map of Amsterdam and keycard for the room (although obviously he never had to use that on his own.......)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just spent a weekend in Amsterdam. It was our first time to stay in the Barbizon. The Hotel is rated as a 5star and has some of the trappings, except if there are two sharing there is only one pair of slippers and one Bathrobe. There is no internet terminal provided for guests although there is wifi throughout. They are my gripes and really they are perhaps petty but if a hotel wants the reputation of 5 stars they may be worth noting. In reality the Barbizon is good 4 star. However the location of the Hotel is by far its strongest selling point it is ideal if you want the night life and is conveniently located to Central Station and Damrak and all the main shopping areas. The staff are helpful and friendly and will try to accommodate your requests a special mention for reception, roomservice, and concierge excellent. The rooms could do with a face lift and modernisation. The hotel is clean quiet and well worth a stay.We had a fantastic time and even the waterhens were a pleasure...... :-)

Room Tip: A canal room is good if a bit room 450 has no external windows we changed it Some rooms are split le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a weekend in Amsterdam.

The location is excellent, 2 minutes from the train and tram stations as well as only a 5 minute walk from many attractions.
The staff and room were very good but the best thing about the Barbizon was the breakfast.
There was a good range of food and it was very fresh and delicious!

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

End of November spend, in view of a professional stay, 2 nights at the NH Barbizon Palace hotel.

The hotel location is pretty good (near the Amsterdam train station and near the busy nightlife area).

It shows however that the hotel is not that recent anymore and that a number of areas should be refurbished (reception area, room, bathroom). This is for sure not a 5 star hotel.

Check in and check out were swift. Reception staff friendly and professional.

My room was of a decent size but the carpet, the furniture as well as the bathroom showed signs of time... Also, noise isolation was not up to standard.

Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

You still can't beat the location of Barbizon palace, two minutes walk from the train station, five minutes walk from Dam square. The rooms are considered big according to european standards. The staff of the hotel are exceptional, they try to help in every detail of you stay with a big smile. The private parking is a definite plus. The breakfast doesn't have a huge variety but the quality is excellent. I didn't give it a five star cause the rooms need to be renovated not because of bad maintenance but because is getting old relative to other hotels worldwide. Avoid rooms by the side street on lower floors, it can be very noisy on weekends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barbizon Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your NH Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.