We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Barbizon Palace

Save Saved
You added NH Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NH Hoteles Orbitz.com
and 14 more sites!
NH Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, Amsterdam 1012 AD, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #145 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Abergele
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quality hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I go to Amsterdam 3 or 4 times a year and every time I stay at the Barbizian palace. Quality hotel, perfect location. Cannot fault this hotel in any way.

You can specifically get smoking rooms if you require. The hotel has a nice restaurant inside and also has a michelin star restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    520
    299
    124
    65
See reviews for
119
540
89
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Right across from Central Station. walkable. Also walkable to trams to various locations in the city. On the edge of Chinatowna and the Red Light district. Best restaurant was the NEW KING in Chinatown. ate there 3 times. Lines form around 6 so get there early. easy to walk to canal cruise entry and Dam Square. A very walkable city. Loved it. Room was great. Comfortable, luxurious, great bathroom, view of central station. Beautiful lobby. Free internet in lobby. Our luggage was lost and they were so helpful to us in delivering it to our room. Would stay again. ENJOY
Took a Royal Caribbean cruise from Amsterdam to the Norwegian Fjords. Memorable. DO IT. Jeanne

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor, view of train station,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Barbizon Plaza for a couple of days. The rooms were quite ok, clean and spacious.  Our rooms were on the first floor with windows on the street (crowdy at night) but soundproof. We got a very good rest.
Breakfast was very good as well.  Staff was very friendly and helpful. 
The location of the hotel is quite convenient, near to the train station, the ancient part of the city, the shopping streets and the red district. Walking distance to Dom square (7 min).

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

NOT 5 star quality. I "upgraded" to a better room and I'm in a queen size bed with a tube tv in dated decor. I would hate to see what I would have had. Close to Centraal, RLD and everything, but I'm not impressed with the hotel. Not bad, mind you....just not as impressed as you think you would be

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in July. We were shocked that this is advertised as a five star property. I know the rating system is different than what we would expect in the U.S., but this is ridiculous. The pro's are: beautiful lobby, got a really low rate on priceline, close to Centraal Station. The con's: some of the staff are indifferent at best, our room was outdated, the air conditioning does not work, it is loud, it is located next to the red light district, the internet is not free, the 15 minute internet passes in the lobby did not always work, our room was not ready by check in. The first room assigned to us was very noisy and hot. It was on the first floor facing a street with a lot of traffic. They reassigned us to a room that faced the interior lobby, which meant we could not open windows for air. It was so uncomfortable we hated being in the room. After reading many reviews on tripadvisor it is obvious that the hotel staff are aware that the air conditioning does not work. Therefore, the look of surprised disbelief on the face of the staff when we mentioned how uncomfortably hot our room was left us amazed at their acting abilities. If we could do it over again we would priceline bid on a different zone (near the Jordaan or museum quarter) or would pay more and book straight from another hotel's website.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms in the front are very noisy. Interior lobby facing rooms don't have windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is literally across the street from central station. Very easy to find (large sign on the roof) when you get off the train. Room was great with very modern bathroom and any kind of pillow you request. It was large for Euroupen standards. The breakfast was expensive. Much cheaper to buy it at one of the many restraunts close by. The staff was very friendly. My phone charger stopped working while there and the concierge offered to charged it for me. The hotel is very close to shops, tour places, riverboat rides and restraunts. Everything was within walking distance. The only down side was the fact that to use the internet you had to get 15 minute vouchers from the front desk to use in the business center.

Room Tip: We asked for a large quiet room and got a king sized bed on the 4th floor. Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were only staying in Amsterdam 1 night and needed to get away from Centraal station early the next morning so the location was excellent with that in mind. Reception staff were very friendly and the lobby looked 5 star. Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. Old style tv, no free in room wifi, dated furniture, but the room was clean if noisy at night. Plenty of places to eat and drink close by. Suited our needs but if staying longer than a night i'd suggest somewhere else for the prices charged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barbizon Palace

Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, Amsterdam 1012 AD, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barbizon Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your NH Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.