We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Old Flame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Barbizon Palace

Save Saved
You added NH Barbizon Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, Amsterdam 1012 AD, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My Old Flame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This 5* Hotel lies opposite the central station. Several small houses were put together to this huge hotel - as well as the old St. Olof Chapel which is now the conference center.

The Rooms are large a bit worn but still nice.

Tip: Get a the special cocktail of the day at the bar for cheap.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    549
    319
    131
    69
See reviews for
136
561
91
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night as many people mention that the hotel in a perfect location just in fron of the train station we booked a deluxe room the room was spacious with a nice view to the train station we didn’t got any problem with noise our room was in 4th floor the furnisher was to old and tired but was really clean and comfortable and all the facility worked well all the hotel staff was really friendly and helpful the check in and check out took seconds we really enjoy our stay in this hotel and for sure we will stay again here and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: book the deluxe room its really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manassas virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed in hotel 4 nights in early December. Location was great for seeing the city..easy walking to most attractions, close enough to tram and bus for further sights. The breakfast buffet was excellent, a good mix of continental and local cuisine. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived early in the day (before lunch) but were able to get in our rooms immediately. This gave us extra time to see the sites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Was a good hotel but pretty basic. Although now of the facilities were included. You have to pay 10 euro for Internet every 24 hours and 12 euro everything you want to use the fitness centre. This should be included. Plenty of over options around to choose for hotels

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location if you are going to see "nasty place" of amsterdam=)..We stayed one week , 2 minute walk from the station and close to everything. Check in was late, about 4 o clock. The room was average and little old fashioned. When i came in my room, the bathroom was not really clean.Didnt like this hotel, only good location thats all, stuff was ok. Expensive WIFI, 10 € for 24 h, expensive breakfast 25 €, and about 10€ near the hotel. I give not more then 3 star. Restaurant was horrible. So if u want to spend your money for nothing stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. Staff was very cooperative. Loation is very convenient for the tousrists. It is just 3 minutes walk away from the central station, 5 minutes from the red light district and 10 minutes from The Dam Square. You can find quite a few coffee shops and restaurants nearby. We booked a deluxe room, which was quite big as compared to the usual european hotel rooms. The room was very clean and not noisy at all.
The only disappointment we had was the arrangement for new year's eve done by the hotel staff. They gave us party tickets for "The Super Club" (Euro 60 each). It was our worst experience as the club management did not let us enter the club till 01:15 in the morning. So we celebrated our new year's eve on the street waiting for the management to open the door. It was pathetic. So never go to that club. However, the hotel management returned us 50% of the ticket price.
Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We only stayed one night in amsterdam so was a great choice for us, 2 minute walk from the station and close to everything. Check in was a bit of a pain, was supposed to be 3 o'clock and the room wasn't ready till 4 so there was a lot of hanging around. Cant really complain though, their endless sundays meant we didnt have to check out till 5pm the next day. The room was quite nice but a little old fashioned, could do with a revamp. A nice but expensive stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, Amsterdam 1012 AD, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barbizon Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Barbizon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.