We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Focused on orthodoxy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish Historical Museum

Jewish Historical Museum
Nieuwe Amstelstraat 1, 1011 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 531 0310
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam...
Ranked #29 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewish Historical Museum is a modern museum of Jewish heritage housed in four monumental synagogues near Waterlooplein in the heart of Amsterdam. Three permanent exhibitions present the history and culture of the Jewish people in the Netherlands. In addition to the three permanent exhibitions, the museum always offers two great temporary exhibitions and the fun JHM Children's museum.
connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Focused on orthodoxy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

As a secular Jew with little interest in the religion, I had no interest in what is a series of impressively done photos of orthodox life in, I guess, Amsterdam. There's also info about a synagogue. For observant Jews or anthropologists (which is probably what I should have tried to be, but I had miles of touring to go before I slept), this probably would get a much higher rating. The museum is very small and includes a free electronic device for listening to as you go.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    90
    35
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Built within 3 synagogues so architecturally I found it interesting. The ticket is valid in the Portuguese Synagogue (a 5 minutes walk) which I found fascinating.

Very inspiring exhibition on Schonberg (the composer), nice coffee shop and cakes.

Good exhibition of the life of Dutch Jews before 2nd world war. In particular appealed to me a series of professional photographs of Jewish rich families (who could afford a professional photo shoot) which I found incredibly interesting.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A rather uninspiring museum though the kids museum is intereting and fun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The jewish museum was uninspiring and its seems as if the purpuse was to explain what is the mening and practices of being a jewish more than the historical unfolding of the jewish community in Amsterdam and the Netherlands. The rooms devoted to kids were original and interesting and we enjoyed our stay with our 4 years old son.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An absolute must for Jewish families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

After what had become a tour of "look this is where a bunch of Jews died" historical spots all over Europe, it was so refreshing to come to a museum which helped my kids understand that Jews *live*. The Kids' Museum at JHM is second-to-none. My kids prepared challah in the kosher kitchen with a lovely guide and really loved Max the Matzoh, who "led" them around, played in the music room, and worked on Hebrew.

The museum-in-the-shuls is a great concept and the exhibitions for adults are well-curated and interesting.

Portions in the cafe are small but delicious, so plan on just having a snack here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A lesson in assimilation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Portuguese synagogue opens at 10.30am so visit using the combined ticket and you will be ready to visit the Jewish museum when it opens at 11.0am. Bothe are wonderful examples of how the Dutch assimilated the Jewish immigrants both from Spain (Sephardic) and Poland. There is also a good bookshop and excellent small restaurant in the basement.
.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Historical Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jewish Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish Historical Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.