We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rather uninspiring museum though the kids museum is intereting and fun.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish Historical Museum

Jewish Historical Museum
Nieuwe Amstelstraat 1, 1011 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 531 0310
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$43*
and up
Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam...
Ranked #29 of 262 Attractions in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: History museums, Specialty museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewish Historical Museum is a modern museum of Jewish heritage housed in four monumental synagogues near Waterlooplein in the heart of Amsterdam. Three permanent exhibitions present the history and culture of the Jewish people in the Netherlands. In addition to the three permanent exhibitions, the museum always offers two great temporary exhibitions and the fun JHM Children's museum.
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A rather uninspiring museum though the kids museum is intereting and fun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The jewish museum was uninspiring and its seems as if the purpuse was to explain what is the mening and practices of being a jewish more than the historical unfolding of the jewish community in Amsterdam and the Netherlands. The rooms devoted to kids were original and interesting and we enjoyed our stay with our 4 years old son.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    96
    36
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An absolute must for Jewish families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

After what had become a tour of "look this is where a bunch of Jews died" historical spots all over Europe, it was so refreshing to come to a museum which helped my kids understand that Jews *live*. The Kids' Museum at JHM is second-to-none. My kids prepared challah in the kosher kitchen with a lovely guide and really loved Max the Matzoh, who "led" them around, played in the music room, and worked on Hebrew.

The museum-in-the-shuls is a great concept and the exhibitions for adults are well-curated and interesting.

Portions in the cafe are small but delicious, so plan on just having a snack here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A lesson in assimilation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Portuguese synagogue opens at 10.30am so visit using the combined ticket and you will be ready to visit the Jewish museum when it opens at 11.0am. Bothe are wonderful examples of how the Dutch assimilated the Jewish immigrants both from Spain (Sephardic) and Poland. There is also a good bookshop and excellent small restaurant in the basement.
.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great history lesson, beautiful exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to the Jewish Museum at Christmas time. There was so much to be learned, they had a lot of information on the older original temples, they had a lot of information on the first Jewish families in Amsterdam. The exhibits were beautiful and moving. The exhibit with the current (post WWII) life of the Jews in the Amsterdam was wonderful. I was very impressed. If you are packed on time, I do not know if I would make this a must see, but if everything else is busy, I'd recognize it! :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great exhibition, would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The price of the ticket included a free ticket to the Portugese synagogue across the road. The exhibitions were interesting, although the numbered exhibits in the case didn't seem to always match up on the information card so got a bit confusing. There were a number of touch screens explaining various aspects of Jewish life, celebrations and so on and there was a free audioguide available giving more information on the exhibits.
Upstairs was an exhibition on life during the war and the holocaust, with many personal items from people such as a child's dress with the yellow badge that Jews were forced to wear in the war. It was touching and brought it all to life. To be honest, I found this to be a lot more informative than the Anne Frank house.
The shop had some interesting books, and nice gifts, and there is a café downstairs (didn't visit this so can't comment)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Historical Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jewish Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish Historical Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.