We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street Market running for over 100 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlooplein Market

Waterlooplein Market
behind the Amsterdam Townhall, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #31 of 115 shopping in Amsterdam
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This is Amsterdam's bustling flea market with more than 300 stalls of merchandise offering a wide selection of items from secondhand clothing and antiques to leather coats and shoes.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
NJ
Top Contributor
674 reviews 674 reviews
369 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
940 helpful votes 940 helpful votes
“Street Market running for over 100 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is another street market now running for more than 100 years. It's really interesting to see what's on offer in the stalls, since some of it is just junk but other items are truly for collectors only. Spend some time here--it doesn't take very long to walk through. A good place to buy souvenirs that's not nearly as expensive as some other similar nearby souvenir stands.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    42
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“hip and funky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

this is always my first stop in Amsterdam. From hats, to army surplus to tourist trinkets to...you name it....the Waterlooplien flea market is fun to browse. And just around the corner from Rembrandt's house.I wonder if he shopped here?? lol. guess not.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A little of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

There are a lot of markets around Amsterdam and some markets can be quite specific, i.e. food market, vintage clothes etc. What I like about Waterlooplein is that it has a little of everything. Since we had little time dedicated to flea market at our time in AMS, we chose this. It easily reachable via Metro, the metro stop is called Waterlooplein.

Stalls include pre-loved LPs (went crazy buying them), clothes, war memorabilias, used household items, cameras, and other bric-a-brac to some new stuffs like souvenirs, bicycle accessories, clothes and shoes. We found that buying souvenirs here is actually much cheaper than the shops at damrak area. Bargain is possible, if you are buying by numbers.

Opens everyday except Sunday!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't go out of your way, but if in Amsterdam at least three days, it is worth spending an hour or maybe 90 minutes walking around the flea market. Lot's of junk, but everyone needs some junk, right? Books, scarves, coats, jewelry, etc. Many stalls, a few hundred I guess. We had a hot dog and a drink in one of the market stalls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“2nd-hand/flea mmarket with charmm!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Mainly it is second-hand/flea market: lots of second hand clothing; bicycles; books; jewellery; art; an eclectic mmix of interesting things. You'll also find an assortment of stalls selling new itemms such as: souveniers; art; etc. Waterlooplein Market has hundreds of stalls; there's sure to be sommething to capture your interest! No matter what day or hour I've visited it seemms to be well attended. It is closed on Sundays but open long hours 9am to 5pm the rest of the week. I love the charmm of Waterlooplein!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterlooplein Market also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Waterlooplein Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlooplein Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waterlooplein Market to your Saves list