We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlooplein Market

Waterlooplein Market
behind the Amsterdam Townhall, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping & Fashion
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is Amsterdam's bustling flea market with more than 300 stalls of merchandise offering a wide selection of items from secondhand clothing and antiques to leather coats and shoes.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't go out of your way, but if in Amsterdam at least three days, it is worth spending an hour or maybe 90 minutes walking around the flea market. Lot's of junk, but everyone needs some junk, right? Books, scarves, coats, jewelry, etc. Many stalls, a few hundred I guess. We had a hot dog and a drink in one of the market stalls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    51
    54
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“2nd-hand/flea mmarket with charmm!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Mainly it is second-hand/flea market: lots of second hand clothing; bicycles; books; jewellery; art; an eclectic mmix of interesting things. You'll also find an assortment of stalls selling new itemms such as: souveniers; art; etc. Waterlooplein Market has hundreds of stalls; there's sure to be sommething to capture your interest! No matter what day or hour I've visited it seemms to be well attended. It is closed on Sundays but open long hours 9am to 5pm the rest of the week. I love the charmm of Waterlooplein!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Needed more time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A giant flea market! I wish I had had more time to really dig into all the treasures that I'm sure were waiting to be found!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a market and a great wiew restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We appreciated the market but even more the resturant on the corner where all people past and it was good fun just watching the people here and a cross the Amstel. Wirth a beer here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Nice walk but nothing more.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Not much veriaty for a 2nd hand market but many locks and chains and bycicle stuff
Most venders sell exactly the same stuff...
But, its a nice walkaround... You may even purchase something...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Waterlooplein Market also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Waterlooplein Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlooplein Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.