We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd-hand/flea mmarket with charmm!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlooplein Market

Waterlooplein Market
behind the Amsterdam Townhall, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$22*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal...
Ranked #47 of 185 Shopping in Amsterdam
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is Amsterdam's bustling flea market with more than 300 stalls of merchandise offering a wide selection of items from secondhand clothing and antiques to leather coats and shoes.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“2nd-hand/flea mmarket with charmm!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Mainly it is second-hand/flea market: lots of second hand clothing; bicycles; books; jewellery; art; an eclectic mmix of interesting things. You'll also find an assortment of stalls selling new itemms such as: souveniers; art; etc. Waterlooplein Market has hundreds of stalls; there's sure to be sommething to capture your interest! No matter what day or hour I've visited it seemms to be well attended. It is closed on Sundays but open long hours 9am to 5pm the rest of the week. I love the charmm of Waterlooplein!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    66
    69
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Needed more time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A giant flea market! I wish I had had more time to really dig into all the treasures that I'm sure were waiting to be found!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a market and a great wiew restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We appreciated the market but even more the resturant on the corner where all people past and it was good fun just watching the people here and a cross the Amstel. Wirth a beer here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice walk but nothing more.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Not much veriaty for a 2nd hand market but many locks and chains and bycicle stuff
Most venders sell exactly the same stuff...
But, its a nice walkaround... You may even purchase something...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerava, Finland
2 reviews
“Not too big”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

It was just about the right size for our interest to check out all interesting stalls. There were actually very cheap clothes among the not so cheap hippie clothes. Also fun antique stuff stalls. Even on Tuesday afternoon there were great amount open stalls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Waterlooplein Market also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Waterlooplein Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlooplein Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.