We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite expensive but extremely good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #11 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quite expensive but extremely good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Quite expensive hotel but extremely good location and quality of service. I highly recommend if money is not o problem :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    980
    234
    64
    35
    19
See reviews for
186
640
63
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This hotel was really a disappointment. It is supposed to be one of the nicer hotels in Amsterdam. The location is good, and everything seemed fresh and new inside. However, the whole experience was one disappointment after another. When I checked in, they could not find my reservation, even though I had the paperwork to go with it (reserved through American Express travel). Finally they said they found it and gave me a reservation printout with someone else's name and address - I pointed out that it wasn't mine, and they insisted it was and crossed that person's name off and wrote mine in. I hope that person didn't have a problem getting their room.

My room wasn't ready (not surprising since it was actually someone else's room) so they agreed to store my luggage. Beware that their luggage storage appears to be just leaving all of the luggage in the main reception. I sat in the reception for about an hour before leaving for a meeting, and my suitcase remained with the piles of others out in the open the whole time.

The room was absolutely tiny. I was traveling on business and supposedly had a superior room. There was just enough space on either side of the bed for a useless bedside table (not actually large enough for placing anything there), and that was it. The bed was a double size bed, not a queen or king. In other words, the bed is only a bit bigger than a single size bed and certainly far too small for two people. There was barely enough room between the end of the bed and the desk to squeeze through. The bathroom was a good size, with a nice walk in shower, but no bath tub.

There was no wireless internet service. Instead you had to buy (at a hefty charge) a little scratch off card from the front desk for a local wireless service, but after many attempts I still could not get this to work because the wireless signal did not reach the room. They sent someone to the room but he could not get it to work either. It is absolutely unacceptable for a hotel that pretends to be 5 star not to have internet access. Actually, hotels of any star should offer internet access and most do. I don't really understand what is going on at the Sofitel but I don't intend to return to find out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We are still at the hotel, we will be leaving tomorrow. The stay here so far has been amazing. As soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed and informed that we were the "guest of the day" as such we were entitled to a room upgrade (we got a junior suite), private concierge and late check-out to suit our flight schedule. The location of the hotel is very central, close to pretty much every attraction of the city. The concierge was really helpful when we were looking for a sushi restaurant. Rooms are definitely nice and well furnished; in the suites have a complimentary coffee machine is included which is a nice touch for us avid coffee drinkers. Everyday they offered us a different present with a hand signed letter from the hotel manager and the guest relationship manager; it was a totally unexpected and very welcomed surprise. The hotel has also a SPA and a swimming pool but we didn't have a chance to use either of them. So far the best hotel we've stayed at here in AMS, looking forward to coming back here in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand during a recent trip to Amsterdam (October 2010) and have not stopped talking about it since!!!

We found a great deal on a suite at this hotel via http://orbitz.com and were super psyched about arriving. Once we arrived (Friday late in the evening), we were escorted to a beautiful suite by one of the bellman and shown all of the amenities of the room. We began unpacking our luggage and noticed that the air conditioner was not turning on (I know...stupid Americans and their air conditioning!!!). We called down to the front desk and were told they would send someone up. The same bellman showed up and fumbled around and then sadly told us that since it was night time they would not be able to get someone to fix it until morning or possibly Monday, but he would be happy to call down and have another suite prepared for us. Kind of frustrating because we had already started unpacking, but not a big deal. He called down and all of a sudden the most exhilarating look came over his face and we heard him ask "Are you sure?".

The bellman clapped his hands together in excitement and whisked us and our bags to the other side of the hotel without telling us much other than "You are going to be VERY happy!". We arrived outside of the Willem Van Oranje Suite. Wow...a suite with its own name...Sweet!!! He opened the door and OMG!!! This place was ginormous!!! The bellman skipped around and showed us all of the great amenities of this suite. We had a living room, a dining room, an office area, a HUGE bathroom complete with a steam sauna, 2 toilet rooms (not sure what those are called), a GINORMOUS bedroom with a separate sitting area and a ridiculous walk in closet. All of the toiletries were Hermes. The bellman told us the room usually goes for EUR2,500-EUR3,500 per night. I assure you we paid nowhere near that!!!

We thought for sure they were only going to let us stay here for one night and then move us to another room in the morning. We only unpacked the needed toiletries and clothes and waited. No one ever called or came the next morning!!! They let us stay there for the remainder of our stay...and even called to ask if we were satisfied...HELLZ YEH!!!

Everyone that worked there was super nice. We didn't eat at the hotel (other than room service which was really good), but did venture to the bar area one night. They have a cute little bar area and the bartender was super cool. The location couldn't be better...right in/by the Red Light District. We were able to quickly and easily walk to everything we wanted to see.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam and this will be our hotel of choice when visiting Amsterdam in the future!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

This hotel has beautiful common parts and comfortable bedrooms, complete with nespresso machines. Centrally situated with apparently attentive staff it is fine until you want something, like breakfast, or dinner, or lunch, or a coffee, or a taxi, or indeed anything at all. They screwed up every single time. It just all goes to pieces.
The hotel was fully booked. That means 250 people. The restaurant only sits 80. Everyone comes for breakfast at once. There are no tables, not enough food, not enough staff. This would be ok if they didn't expect it. However they knew. They just didn't care. And by the way, breakfast is not included in their fancy room price (and neither is wifi!).
Dinner - with three young children we waited nearly 90 minutes for the starters! The main courses were wrong. Side orders were missing. The drinks were good though. Hardly made up for it because, of course, the kids were going up the wall as a consequence of the useless service.
The concierge, whether ordering a cab, renting bikes, indeed anything, got it all wrong. They didn't bother to order a cab until the last minute - even though we had to be punctual and had ordered the cabs with them at least a day in advance. They got the bike renting so wrong that it was just pathetic and ruined our last morning there.
And just in case you think this was perhaps a "one-off", we ordered coffee in the lounge. They forgot to bring it. When they did bring it, it was wrong. And they forgot the cake to go with it.
Frankly, and as I explained to them at the time, their hotel is let down by the management staff at every level. Interestingly, they agreed with me! One delightful and apologetic waiter in the restaurant cannot make up for this utterly appalling state of affairs. But, their complete and utter ineptitude continued even after my complaints to them.
My advice, choose another hotel. A lovely room (even with television in the bath) is not enough and the whole thing really did ruin this family break.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is a really lovely hotel with loads of staff fussing over your every move. On arrival I was a little dissapointed that our superior room only had a shower, not a bath but other than that it was a nice room and very well appointed. Also it doesnt have free wifi and at this price it should have!

The hotel has been recently been refitted and it shows. Everything is magnificent and clean and everyone of the staff is really smart and pleasant.

On Sundays you gett o breakfast in the old council chambers which is an amazing room.

The hotel is situated right in the middle of the action being right next to the main city and the red light district. It couldnt be nearer to see the sights but yet is totally quiet and calm inside.

We will definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, great location. Total luxury and very service oriented. The building itself has a wonderful history. Parking is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.