We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price, 5 stars all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #14 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worth the price, 5 stars all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Great hotel, fabulous, courteous helpful staff and Guido the concierge among the best ever! Convenient central location, excellent restaurants. Beautiful building and rooms, immaculate, comfortable - Wow!! Only negative was that like most nicer European hotels, they expect you to eat a large and very expensive breakfast buffet. A la carte only available via room service. Great guest lounge on main floor with 2 complimentary computers (and free internet) for guest use was a nice plus.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    292
    80
    41
    22
See reviews for
249
827
76
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tulsa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

The beds at The Grand are actually like sleeping on cloud. As a couple who sleep on a Tempurpedic in the US, this bed is ten times more comfortable. Incredible sleeping on this lovely feather bed with a feather duvet. The service is impeccable and I'm sure they would cheerfully scrape gum off the sole of my shoe had I asked. Every detail was attended to and the turn-down service included the most incredible chocolate truffles I've ever had! it's right on the canal and just a block from the boat tours, and the neighborhood where you can walk all day to see the lovely touristy shops or the high end shopping district. The Grand keeps taxis on hand for a ride at a moments notice. This place has a historic history and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We're American so they made lovely scrambled eggs from scratch and there were plenty of meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, and breads including those heavenly croissants. In case you can't tell this place ROCKS! It's well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

What more could you want? Seriously, the room was beautiful and the bathroom was fantastic. Loved wathcing the nesw soaking in the tub on a flat screen in the wall!
The concierge, Duncan Groot, the manager Zsa Zsa, and Dominick in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful or nicer. Each day they helped me plan my sightseeing and couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The service was excellent! I was in Amsterdam for 6 days and five nights. Room service was really delicious as was breakfast each morning. Bridges, the hotel restaurant is Amsterdam's newest hot spot. Stay here you'll be delighted! The location was perfect and the hotel ambience superb! Loved having the mac in the lobby to research and check my mail each afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This is definitely the best hotel I've stayed in in Amsterdam. We actually drove there from the UK, and the valet met us, and deposited our car in the garage - the parking was included in the price, so that was nice. The hotel was realyl plush, and you enter via a courtyard, so even if you walk past the hotel, you have no idea what it's like inside unless you go in.

Lovely room, with opulent decor, overlooking a lovely courtyard at the rear of the hotel. Filled with lovely vegetation, it was nice to not be looking over the street, and gave a real feel of privacy.

Great location, just moments from Dam Square, and the Red Light District. Not cheap, but so much nicer than staying anywhere else in the city!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Not the worst of hotels, but several issues made it less than enjoyable. We had arranged for a limosine pick up from Schiphol, but our flight got cancelled. We informed the hotel we would be getting there later therefore please arrange the limo later - but they didn't and then had the gall to blame me for their incompentency!

They said I would be forced to pay the full charge, something which I kicked up a great deal of fuss about, and they eventually agreed to reduce it by 50%. As a matter of principle I should not have had to pay anything. But with it being a holiday I didn't want to have long arguments with the manager so I agreed so as to get him off my back. Something which irritated me, but nonetheless was one headache taken care of.

Next. The window in the hotel was smashed, reported to concierge, they didn't do anything so we had cold drafts coming in at night.

When I booked I was told the spa would be in full operation. When I rang to confirm the booking they said it was under renovation - another empty promise there. Instead they sent me to a hotel round the corner which I could use instead - only thing is it was open for only 6 hours a day at really awkward times and was the size of a shoebox!

The night staff were brilliant, I have nothing bad to say about them - they were extremely helpful, especially the bald chap (there's only one!) and made sure our every need was taken care of.

Unfortunately with the price that I paid for the half assed service I got, I will not be returning here - Marriot seems to be a much better deal with the same facilities.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

The Grand is suitably located at the heart of the medieval city and the atmosphere has a touch of real "grandieuse".
However, the staff totally ruined it for us:
We booked through hotel's own website and opted for the "stay 4 -pay 3 nights" package.
It was clear that breakfast was not inclusive and as we always enjoy our breakfast during vacation, we clicked the extra "breakfast" option as well.
We received shortly a confirmatory email, with a total reservation price which included breakfast as requested.
However, after checking-in and during breakfast, staff seemed unaware that we decided to include the breakfast option during our reservation and insisted that breakfast was not included in the price.
Staff also seemed unwilling (or uncapable) to check the details of our reservation with their own reservation confirmatory email.
Thankfully we brought a printout with us, and brought it to the reception desk. The scene with the Reservation Manager taking curious looks and questioning their own email was less than pleasant and unheard of from a 5 star establishment. We received no apologies for this annoyance during our stay.
For the history, the balance (for the stay 4-pay 3 package incl. breakfast) was 4 euros less than our initial total reservation price!!!
Sofitel The Grand management really needs to set things straight with regards to their reservation, billing and attitude towards guests policies.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 17, 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not meeting up with your expectations. We appreciate it that you are sharing your concerns, and hope you have received out email. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

The hotel was in the middle of a renovation, so sometimes the elevator didn't work. But the staff was very friendly and always took us up in the 'construction' elevator. The breakfast there was wonderful. We did not eat dinner there, however, as it was very expensive.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Hotel Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Dear Guest, First of all, Happy New Year! Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. We were very happy to read that you liked the breakfast in our newly refurbished restaurant 'Bridges'. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.