We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel, Attentive Personal Service and Location... Location...Location....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel, Attentive Personal Service and Location... Location...Location....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Set in the historic former City Hall, this hotel sets the standard for service and style in the heart of Amsterdam. Gorgeous lobby, lounge, spectacular garden courtyard and restaurant plus stylish rooms make this a no-brainer. As with all Sofitel's in our experience, the front desk staff makes you feel welcomed into an intimate, stylish environment from start to finish -- really first rate. VERY conveniently Located in central Amsterdam, you can find a better situated, stylish place to stay. One side of the hotel features canal views (those are the rooms to ask for). Many rooms face the beautiful central garden courtyard (above 1st floor, very pleasant and light. Our room, unfortunately, faced the street side and was located on the first (US second) floor. It was sunless, and unfortunately, due to the split level configuration of the room (you enter on the upper level which has a VERY STYLISH bathroom, closets , and step down four or five steps to the bedroom section (with TV, desk, etc.), the bedroom section was just a few feet above "head level" of the loud partygoers below so it was NOISEY pretty much all time of day and night. If you have a problem with stairs, ask for a different configuration of room (ours was a Superior category - pretty much base level). Going up and down the stairs to the bathroom could be a problem for some. Anyway - the style and furnishings of the rooms is a great offset to the noise. This is an extraordinary hotel, by any standard - perfection when it comes to location and service.

Room Tip: Do not stay in first floor rooms on the same corridor as Room 132 - they can be quite noisy. Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    271
    77
    38
    21
See reviews for
224
780
72
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent the night at the Grand Sofitel prior to embarking on a river cruise trip. The Hotel offered wonderful accommodations and a very friendly and guest-oriented staff. From our first greeting to the final goodbye staff were always ready to offer a level of service worthy of the hotel name and status. Location of the hotel was ideal for all purposes of a new tourist in town, from central to restaurants, attractive surroundings and walking access to many sites and attractions. Ambiance throughout the hotel from our room which was a very non traditional but thoroughly inviting bi-level accommodation to the court yard for a truly relaxing and/or dining experience was truly enjoyable. We had breakfast at the hotel the day of our departure and can only say it was a typically wonderful European experience. Our only disappointment was that our room was not available upon arrival and even though the literature indicates check out is by noon and room availability begins at 3:00 pm I kind of expected that a hotel of this stature would some how been able to accommodate guests arriving around 1:00 pm sooner than the 3:00 pm time frame. We simply had to wait.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targu Jiu, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amsterdam is one of the finest cities in the world.
We stayed at the Grand for seven days.
Was an amazing experience. We stayed in a beautiful room with channel view at the north side of the hotel. Staff was very nice: kind, helpful and easygoing.
Highly recomended for everyone!

Room Tip: You can choose the rooms with channel view at the north side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Amsterdam is one of the finest cities in the world. Elegance is everywhere, it is timeless. While in this city one has to stay in a timeless hotel. Le Grand is such a hotel, Classy and historic with some of the best service you will experience anywhere. The staff go beyond their obligations to make sure all guests have a memorable experience. Everyone I have met there have all said the same thing, they will only go back. My family and i just spent 3 days here and we are already planning our return in November when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Service was great. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were very nice. Canal facing room was a little noisy as you could hear the people on the street at night. Also, we had an adjoining room and could hear everything in the guest room next door.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my partner for two nights during a weekend as Le Club Platinum member and were now extremely satisfied with the stay.
Booked Superior room and received Prestige suite. The suite was amazing with modern design. Size was 55 sqm and the room came with heavenly King-size My Bed, separated living room, Nespresso machine, large walk-in wardrobe, bathroom with walk-in shower and bathtub, plus lots of Hermes’ amenities.
Staff was very nice: kind, helpful and easygoing. Were also happy with the late check out that was granted until 3pm. Location was very central, 15 minutes walk to and from the central railway station. They did also rent bikes for 17,50 euros per day. That is nice.
We had wonderful stay and would definitely stay here again. One of the best Sofitel we have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I spent five nights in this great hotel.

The Grand Sofitel is a luxury hotel located minutes from Dam Square, the Red Light District, and some of the "coffee shops" of Amsterdam, so it has something for everyone. If you're looking for that isolated royal treatment, this is not the place. You'll get the royal treatment, but you're in the throbbing heart of everything. Dam Square is a two minute walk; the train station is less than ten minutes away, and if you want to engage in the "tolerated" act of using weed, well, one of the top "coffee shops" is 100 yards away, and you'll know it's there before you get there because the smell is distinctive. If that bothers you, don't worry; the customers couldn't care less that you're on your way to one of the best hotels in Amsterdam, and they'll leave you alone.

Now to the hotel.

I reserved an executive king room, which was located on the top floor. I didn't really have a view since the "balcony" is too narrow to stand on, but the room was incredibly quiet. The bed was plush, and the sitting area located on a slight rise above the rest of the room. I had both a deep bath and a wonderful walk-in shower (which I vastly prefer for safety reasons).

You haven't seen attention to detail like this. Staff is everywhere, greeting you, asking if you need anything, and as a sole traveler I found this comforting. Turn-down service is included along with daily water.

The breakfast buffet at 35 euro is on the steep side, so if that's not your thing, don't order it as part of your reservation but go to one of the many cafes nearby (remember, "coffee shops" are for marijuana). You'll find Nutella crepes, waffles, and cappuccino outlets everywhere and, if you must, a Starbuck's in Dam Square about five minutes away. I had the buffet one day and received exquisite service and excellent food.

The bistro in the restaurant was excellent; I had one of the best spare rib dishes I've ever had after being convinced by my server that it was off the bone and not messy at all. She steered me right on that account. The restaurant, Bridges, apparently has a Michelin star, but I only ate there after I joined my tour group, so I can't comment on its regular menu. Our tour introductory dinner was delicious.

This is an expensive hotel; make no mistake. But right now the euro is ridiculously low against the dollar, and my room was somewhere in the low $400s per night, on par with any of the best hotels in New York City for that price. I didn't get to see the suites located on my floor, but I really had more room than I needed. I had plenty of extra room in the mini-bar refrigerator to store my own private stash of Diet Coke and Oude Jenever.

You must find Wynand Fockink, a jenever bar located minutes away from the hotel. Ask for directions. It's a singular experience; hot dudes serving killer concoctions in an unconventional style that you must see to believe.

A special shout-out to the concierge services: I had tried online to get tickets to the Anne Frank house (sold out on the website for a month in advance) and the Late Rembrandt exhibition at the Rijksmuseum and couldn't. So, about five days before I left the US I called the hotel's concierge directly and he was able to secure me a no-wait visit to the Frank House (along with walking tour of the Jewish Quarter--75 euro) and an email link to the special tickets for the Rembrandts, all confirmed to me in an email within an hour of my phone call. My Anne Frank tour ticket was waiting for me at the desk when I arrived. What outstanding service! Believe me, you want no-wait entrance tickets to the Frank House, because the usual wait in line can be four hours or more. And the Jewish quarter tour walk was educational in itself.

I wasn't out that late, so I can't comment on how sketchy the red light district gets, but it was pretty tame in the early evening. The few girls I saw looked tired (I play for the other team), and many of the windows were empty. Just guard your valuables as you would in any city.

A walk in the opposite direction will take you toward Nes Street and lots of trendy funkier restaurants and shops. The shopping district of the Rokin is one street over, and then Dam Square and its upscale shopping (which, frankly, looks like almost any major city these days).

Return to the quiet bar at the hotel for a late-night jenever (older is better)--or the smart choice would be to stop at Wynand Fockink before they close at 9:00 pm and then have a late nightcap at the Sofitel bar.

You couldn't make a better choice than the Grand Sofitel.

Room Tip: Executive king; upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.