We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Grand Hotel in a perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #11 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
PARIS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a Grand Hotel in a perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have the pleasure to stay one week in this hotel
The hotel is a very good hotel but the personel is even better
Concierge very good and very understanding of what we wanted (Stork restaurant, Rem island, Ciel Bleu, ...) plus all the tickets for the museum very helpfull and the hotel is 10 minutes walking from every tourist site
The guest relation Manager Mme Zanolie was very pro, friendly with us and the children and very present to our remarks.
The swimming pool is small but very nice and clean
We were in a junior suite and a room connected and it was very nice high celling modern clear and clean room
Last thing the restaurant Bridges is just a very very good restaurant and the sommelier very friendly we have eaten two times and the cooking style is original but very mastered.

a wonderful hotel but why not putting 5 points .....because the decoration of the hotel is too standard/international and could be more dutch but it is not the fault of the wonderful personal....Sofitel need to respect more the country the city where they implement the hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We very much enjoyed reading your review that so beautifully summed up all that is best about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam !

All feedback from our most valued guests are taken seriously as this will help us improve our standards and services and this enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.
Thank you very much for not only observing the service excellence, but taking the time to put it in writing.

We hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    238
    67
    36
    20
See reviews for
190
672
65
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

By way of luxury hotels, the Sofitel in Amsterdam is the crème de la crème. The guest experience was flawless from the time we arrived until we left - which was capped off by a personal chat and farewell from Zsa Zsa (the guest relations manager).

We were upgraded to a suite - which was vast, extremely well appointed and had a view of the canals. The bed, furnishings, art etc. were all to the highest standard.

Room service / concierge / doormen - all friendly, professional.

Highlight was the outdoor courtyard with restaurant / bar / bistro (and also for the breakfast) - the staff were all extremely prompt and friendly, a couple even made the effort to get to know us and remembered our orders. The menu / wine/cocktail list was great, and the overall ambience was extremely relaxed/casual, while still maintaining the luxury feel of the hotel - a hard balance to achieve!

The hotel also waived various charges (there had been a confusion with our agent as to both arrival and departing dates - but this was handled gracefully and professionally by the staff).

We stayed on a particularly busy August weekend and the room prices were at the very top of the range, however it was very pleasing to receive the absolute gold-standard benchmark of quality and service in return for that price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for such a nice review with such generous comments on TripAdvisor ! We are delighted that you found your stay earlier this month to be comfortable, with a flawless and friendly staff. It is true also that it is all in the details, so we are so pleased that you had a special guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand should your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived full of excitement for a 4 day mini break taking in the sights of Amsterdam.
The first thing we commented on was the very strange smell of boiling cabbage in the reception, this was in fact coming from the flowers.
The room was not ready so we were offered complimentary drinks in the library bar, which we were charged for on checking out.
When the room was ready we were taken up by a very polite girl who explained in detail all the hotel had to offer, the small room was made to look even smaller because of the fold away bed put in there for our 9 year old daughter.
We decided to go and relax in the spa and use the gym but we were disappointed to find children can only use this facility at certain times this is not pointed out on the website.
The gym is a tiny room with very little equipment nothing like the description on the Internet.
The first night we found the room noisy, the second night there was a storm which makes the window blinds which are on the outside of the windows bang kept us awake until we finally worked it out at 4 in the morning but worse was to come on the final night the room smelt of cannabis which seemed to be coming in through the aircon.
The hotel is located on the very end of the red light district and has a coffee shop next door, which is not great if like us you have children with you.
We have been lucky to have stayed in some fantastic hotels round the world but this is not one of them.
If you are planning a trip to Amsterdam and like us want to see the real culture and not the sex and drugs this is not the hotel to stay in.
One final thought if you intend to eat breakfast at the hotel book it online before you arrive as it is not worth the 100 euros you are charged for 2 adults and 1 child.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am very sorry to read that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Nonetheless I do appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your feedback with us, on TripAdvisor and upon your departure, as I also understood that you spoke with one of our Guest Relations Officers.

First of all I would like to apologize for the fact that the drinks that were offered to you upon arrival appeared on your invoice upon departure. This is definitely not up to our standards as we genuinely wish to make our guests feel comfortable if we do not have the room ready immediately upon arrival. Therefore this matter has been discussed internally.

I regret to learn that the room was not living up to your expectations, particularly with regards to the size of the room. As described on our website, the Luxury Room that you booked offers 35 square meters. Indeed, an extra bed in the room will take up some space . In addition I would like to apologize for the smell in the room that appeared during the last night. I can imagine the inconvenience, especially when travelling with a child. As you mention that the smell appeared to come from the air-conditioning, our maintenance department has started an investigation to find out where this might come from. Please do note that our hotel has a strict non-smoking policy.

The central location of the hotel is in many way beneficiary, especially for sight-seeing, but it is indeed located relatively close to the red light district. I am sorry to read that this made you feel uncomfortable.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam again in the future.

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I just got back and the Sofitel Legend was the best part of Amsterdam. The bstaff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. We arrived early so our room was not ready.... didnt expect it to be at 10:030am. No worries they offered us free Champagne and snack in the amazing courtyard, pretty cool. Once we checked in the room was great. Big windows overlooking the canals, swanky bathroom and very comfortable bed. Nice retreat to get away from the crowds, and bicyclists on the street below.

Room Tip: Go for a luxury room facing the canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy to read about your wonderful experience with us and that you liked the room, the MyBed and the bathroom so much.
And yes, our inner garden is indeed a quiet, almost hidden, location, which we are happy you enjoyed so much.
.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon !

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a few days there with my wife as a city break. Very clean, very fresh and extremely nice building in a great location. Perhaps they try a little too hard when you check in and two of the staff accompany you to the room and go over the amenities. We felt a little embarrassed because being quiet people it was a little too much in our face, but perhaps it is churlish on my part to complain about a hotel trying to do a good job at customer care. Highlight was the superb room service breakfast. The courtyard bar was a close second. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in The Grand and that you appreciated our room service breakfast and the courtyard bar.
Thank you for your kind review.

We hope to soon welcome you back !

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here five nights at the beginning of this year's European vacation and had a wonderful experience. First of all, the property is gorgeous as well as historic and because of its courtyard reminded us of the grand, lovely, famous hotel we enjoyed in Paris. The location is superb and we were easily able to walk to most of our dinner reservation around the city. We had a canal view which proved a bit loud at times (our family had managed to vacation during Amsterdam's Gay Pride celebration and there were many, many boats celebrating with exuberance) but we easily were able to sleep in our comfortable, large rooms. Our internet was free and extremely fast, a plus for a family that wants to stay connected back home. Breakfast was included for us and offered many choices including hot selections like eggs and waffles prepared to order. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. The only criticism I could offer is that it was difficult at night to find a solution to charging an iPhone or iPad - if you turned out all of the lights, the outlets were off as well. (We finally found that we could charge our devices in the bathroom but that offered only one outlet.) I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: The canal rooms offer a charming view but can be loud during Pride Week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am very pleased to read that overall, you have had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and our breakfast.

Also thank you for recommending our hotel ! Much appreciated !

I investigated het problem you experienced with charging your mobile phone and it turns out that unfortunately there was a technical failure that weekend in your room. Normally you should have been able to charge your mobile devices even if you had turned off all the lights. We apologize for the inconvenience caused !

I hope that your travels will soon bring you back to The Grand.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Picked Sofitel Legend due to reviews we read and the central location in Amsterdam. We had an excellent room with a canal view. Concierge was excellent and Jonathan helped us organize our itinerary in advance - helping us with restaurant reservations and providing us with helpful recommendations. The staff at the entrance of the hotel were always polite and helpful - providing us with directions, getting us transportation etc. We enjoyed the open air lounge/bar area which had a very relaxing atmosphere with courteous staff as well. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and I can't say enough about how both the service level, room quality and location were ideal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Wow, what a fantastic review of your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam ! Thank you so much for your wonderful words.

We do hope you will stay with us, should your future trips bring you to Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.