We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Picked Sofitel Legend due to reviews we read and the central location in Amsterdam. We had an excellent room with a canal view. Concierge was excellent and Jonathan helped us organize our itinerary in advance - helping us with restaurant reservations and providing us with helpful recommendations. The staff at the entrance of the hotel were always polite and helpful - providing us with directions, getting us transportation etc. We enjoyed the open air lounge/bar area which had a very relaxing atmosphere with courteous staff as well. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and I can't say enough about how both the service level, room quality and location were ideal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow, what a fantastic review of your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam ! Thank you so much for your wonderful words.

We do hope you will stay with us, should your future trips bring you to Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    247
    72
    36
    21
See reviews for
197
712
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights with our baby and the staff couldn't be more helpful. They brought special snacks free of charge for the baby. The room was lovely, spacious even with 3 of us, a buggy and a travel cot. The room was clean and had an excellent view. The bed was easily one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. We will be returning to this hotel next Easter.

Room Tip: Canal rooms have a brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Legend The Grand. I am so happy to see that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with excellent service.

I look forward to your next visit at Easter for another fantastic stay. Please be advised to make your reservation well in advance as Easter is quite a busy period in Amsterdam and we would not want to disappoint you !

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My first stay at this hotel and I can only say wow! The staff treat you like royalty with perfection and met all my requirements during my stay. Stayed for one night in the Bridal Suite (honneymoon suite)

If you book a suite includes butler service, which also maintains a high standard. During my stay, I got to meet two of these butlers named Carlos and Mauricio, of which the latter is the head butler at the hotel made ​​the stay something special. The service was excellent on all the levels.

The hotel has a spa with associated pool, sauna and fitness center with high standards.

After some problems with the TV during our stay the hotel repaired it with a free ride back to the airport with there own car service. Thumbs up!

Will definitely stay at Sofitel Legend the Grand Hotel in the future and recommend to anyone reading this that you also should do it. It's worth every penny.

Give this hotell more then 5 stars!

Room Tip: If you traveling with a partner and want to have the best experience as a couple I would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all our facilities we have on offer at the hotel. We believe that our service is what truly sets us apart from our competitors and reading your great comments just enforces our belief.

I am very happy to read that you would revisit us should you have the chance and look forward to your next stay. Thank you for recommending us to other travellers !

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The location is great, starff are friendly, quiet, from our spacious room, there is a nice view of the canal. we like the desert in room very much.
This experience was memorable. Highly recommended place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience in The Grand at Tripadvisor. I am glad that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the room so much.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another luxurious stay.

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

PROs: We booked a Junior Suite but since we made it known to the reservations agent (Nathalie who was extremely prompt & helpful btw) that we're getting married (not in the hotel but on a boat), they upgraded us to a Prestige Suite, with complimentary Champagne demi-bouteille and a welcome drink. It had a separate living room, which was great to use as a makeup/grooming area and to welcome guests. Junior Suites do not however have a separate living room.
- Staff were welcoming, professional and attentive
- It was a canal view room, great view, nice to wake up to on a lovely sunny day
- Courtyard was very pristine, comfortable and beautifully lush
- Bed was excellent, didn’t want to get up (no wonder they sell them too)
- Room and bath was outstanding, and well-maintained even if it was an old building (built 1578, it was a former City Hall)
Minor CON: our butler didn't show to say goodbye. Not that we needed anything, but a nice friendly adieu (or maybe because we tipped too early?) would be nice

Room Tip: We're on a higher floor - highly recommended The hotel is a bit hard to find by cab or when dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for this amazing review. I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay at The Grand and that you enjoyed your room & the MyBed, and that you thought the staff was professional and attentive. We do indeed our utmost to make every guest’s stay as special as possible.

I am sorry to read that the butler did not bid you goodbye and I will pass this comment on to our headbutler.

I look forward to your next visit…maybe on your one year anniversary or before ?

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is a proper world class hotel squeezed into a bustling part of a magical city. The staff were exceptionally helpful and seemed to outnumber the guests. The only hitch to lose a star is that our room wasnt properly cleaned/changed form previous guests which only made sense when we were nearly charged for some of their minibar usage. great decor and very nice bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your kind review on Tripadvisor.

Thank you also for pointing out that the room ws not properly cleaned from the previous guests. I apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that these matters will be addressed with our Housekeeping team to avoid them from happening again.

We hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Venere, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.