We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saudi Arabia-Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Another awesome and elegant "Sofitel" hotel. It is "the" place to fully indulge. Service, food, rooms/suites, amenities, design, decor, quality, and every small detail that may come to mind-if your a perfectionist- Is way beyond 5 stars. The value added are the: Staff, whom are so cooperative and extremely friendly. Hotel Location is superb.
This obviously is the result of professional management and their team. Thank you for a wonderful stay. And will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for this amazing review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and it’s service and I will not fail to pass your kind words onto the entire staff.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    250
    72
    36
    21
See reviews for
198
723
67
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after spending a long weekend in The Grand Sofitel Hotel. What a beautiful friendly hotel. The staff couldn't do enough. The service was excellent. There was nothing we didn't like about the hotel & the location was ideal. It was my sisters special birthday and I had made the hotel aware of this so when we arrived in our room a birthday cake had been made for her. This was a lovely thought and my sister was thrilled! The breakfast was a little on the expensive side but the choice was amazing so It was well worth it. We ate in the hotels Bistro one evening but it was expensive for what you received.

The only thing I would say is we asked for a triple room but it wasn't really big enough for 3 beds along with the other furniture which was left in the room. I would definitely stay there again. Amsterdam wouldn't be the same if I didn't.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Thank you for choosing The Grand for your sisters birthday weekend. I was delighted that you enjoyed the special birthday cake. I was really pleased that you enjoyed the service and that youalso liked the surroundings and facilities in the hotel.

I have also taken good notice of your comment regarding the triple room and will pass it on to the responsable manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on business in July 2014. A fast 20 minute taxi drive from local Schiphol airport (25euros) helps you get a good introduction to the local area of cycle lanes, narrow cobbled streets, shops, bridges and the famous canals - utterly unique.
The Grand is nestled in a quiet area by a canal and near several cafes and shops.
There is an inner courtyard which is a mini oasis before you step in to reception.
Nice warm welcome and a fast, efficient check-in. Really good to see as this can be a frustrating process. Plenty of staff here to help you. Free WiFi which was fast throughout my stay.
Stayed on the 3rd floor in a spacious bedroom. Good services in room plus very clean bathroom. Very comfortable bed and quiet. Didn't hear any door slamming along the corridor or cleaning staff.
Enjoyed dinner at the Hotels Bridges restaurant - delicious French food. Tasted fantastic and the service was superb. Excellent quality.
There are several areas in the Hotel for drinks either Al Fresco or in their Pub Bar, which has local beer on draught too. Bar staff very friendly.
Good tasty breakfast buffet with loads of choice and a friendly service. Nice view over the canal.
We also booked a meeting room over the other side of the Hotel in a separate area. Would highly recommend this as our room was large enough for 12 people and contained all the modern fixtures and fittings you would need to hold a meeting. All within a cultured and quiet settling.
Would highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay and for a business location.
Well trained staff. Pleasant attitude. Hard working for the guests and within a fantastic city.
Thank you to everyone at the Sofitel Legend.
We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Did you know that the Seventeenth-Century Canal Ring Area of Amsterdam inside the Singelgracht is on the Unesco Wolrd Heritage list ?

Thank you for your amazing review about your recent stay with us, at Sofitel Legend The Grand.

I have passed on your kind words to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

amazing hotel - the historical building is well kept, everything fresh and tidy. the amazing atrium has a quiet garden, which offers a quiet break from the city to enjoy drinks/meal.
our room was of a decent size, it felt very bright and inviting thanks to the high ceiling. bathroom with lovely hermes amenities. a/c was working perfectly - efficient and quiet - which in combination with a great bed gave us a very good sleep comfort.
perfect location close to everything, very attentive and knowledgeable staff.
i warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Indeed our inner garden is a ‘hidden treasure’ where one can relax, have a drink, lunch or dinner and get away from the busy city !

Thank you for your wonderful words about your recent stay in The Grand !

We hope to soon welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel. We chose the hotel based on the reviews it was given on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint at all. The hotel is centrally located close to many attractions as well as a tram station. The staff and the service at the hotel was excellent. They are warm and friendly and very helpful in particular the concierge team, who gave us excellent advice about what to see and when to visit the museums. The hotel room, was very comfortable and the amenities in the room were a treat. The décor in the hotel itself is tasteful and was a welcome retreat to come back to, after long days exploring the city. This hotel is definitely the one to stay in Amsterdam and we would return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It is always so rewarding to receive a review like yours. I will definitely share your wonderful comments with the rest of the staff, especially the concierge department, as this will serve as an encouragement for the entire team !

Once again thank you for your feedback. I hope you will soon come back to Amsterdam and stay in The Grand again.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on a city break. Location very central and 5 minutes from Dam square. We ate in the Michelin restaurant where the food was ok but not brilliant; the waiters were very theatrical in their descriptions of the food that was more presentation than flavour. The room was comfortable and quite small as this is a very old hotel. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as the bakeries nearby were excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you were not so satisfied with our restaurant Bridges. I will surely pass your comments about the food and the service on to our Restaurant Manager.

I do hope however that we will be able to welcome you back to The Grand on your next travels to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Grand is probably, overall, the best hotel in Amsterdam. But it's frustrating to see that perfection is within reach and the management fails to achieve it. For one thing, the hotel locks the entrance at midnight, requiring guests to identify themselves over an intercom to gain entry. This is unnecessary. Have passkey entry or post a security officer. Simply fixed. Another quibble: a hotel of this quality should have iPod docking or Bluetooth so guests can play their own music. The excellent wine selection should be available throughout the hotel, not just in Bridges restaurant, and Bridges itself should slightly expand its menu with more choices for guests who want simple, hearty meals without pretense. How about more items which work with red wine? Bridges is trying too hard to be exclusive. The best way to limit your clientele is through quality and price.
Most people will not pay 85 euro for 100 grams of "sea bass," well-prepared. For the ones that will, perfection is achieved by a laid-back, relaxed atmoshphere where the guest feels that any sane request will be honored. The best restaurants in the world always price out 98% of the dining public, then make the balance feel like good friends invited into the home. A few off-menu items should be available to every guest, and management should know that nearly everyone occasionally wants to eat a bowl of spaghetti. If that bowl a spaghetti needs to have 100 grams of fish on top to satisfy the restaurant charter, well, so be it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such an elaborated review on TripAdvisor. The time and effort you took is very much appreciated. Your feedback is the kind that helps us to improve ourselves where needed in order to constantly deliver an excellent and flawless service. For example, next time we will make sure to place a cable in your room in order to connect your Ipod to our Bose docking station.

Your suggestion to make our wine selections available throughout the entire hotel had been discussed with our food and beverage manager and I am happy to inform you that all the wines presented on the wine list are available throughout the entire hotel.
I would also like to take this opportunity to explain that last January we have opened ‘Le Petit Bistro’. Le Petit Bistro offers a menu that you describe in your comment. In order to offer a more informal setting for our guests to have lunch or dinner, Le Petit Bistro was opened with a more simplistic menu. The same philosophy is used, our chef’s take pride in using Dutch products from the land and incorporating this in the menu with a French twist. The menu however is designed to make it favorable to all of our guests.

Again I would like to thank you for your efforts and your kind words. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the management team and the departments involved. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.