We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on a city break. Location very central and 5 minutes from Dam square. We ate in the Michelin restaurant where the food was ok but not brilliant; the waiters were very theatrical in their descriptions of the food that was more presentation than flavour. The room was comfortable and quite small as this is a very old hotel. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as the bakeries nearby were excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tottytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you were not so satisfied with our restaurant Bridges. I will surely pass your comments about the food and the service on to our Restaurant Manager.

I do hope however that we will be able to welcome you back to The Grand on your next travels to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Grand is probably, overall, the best hotel in Amsterdam. But it's frustrating to see that perfection is within reach and the management fails to achieve it. For one thing, the hotel locks the entrance at midnight, requiring guests to identify themselves over an intercom to gain entry. This is unnecessary. Have passkey entry or post a security officer. Simply fixed. Another quibble: a hotel of this quality should have iPod docking or Bluetooth so guests can play their own music. The excellent wine selection should be available throughout the hotel, not just in Bridges restaurant, and Bridges itself should slightly expand its menu with more choices for guests who want simple, hearty meals without pretense. How about more items which work with red wine? Bridges is trying too hard to be exclusive. The best way to limit your clientele is through quality and price.
Most people will not pay 85 euro for 100 grams of "sea bass," well-prepared. For the ones that will, perfection is achieved by a laid-back, relaxed atmoshphere where the guest feels that any sane request will be honored. The best restaurants in the world always price out 98% of the dining public, then make the balance feel like good friends invited into the home. A few off-menu items should be available to every guest, and management should know that nearly everyone occasionally wants to eat a bowl of spaghetti. If that bowl a spaghetti needs to have 100 grams of fish on top to satisfy the restaurant charter, well, so be it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RM201470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such an elaborated review on TripAdvisor. The time and effort you took is very much appreciated. Your feedback is the kind that helps us to improve ourselves where needed in order to constantly deliver an excellent and flawless service. For example, next time we will make sure to place a cable in your room in order to connect your Ipod to our Bose docking station.

Your suggestion to make our wine selections available throughout the entire hotel had been discussed with our food and beverage manager and I am happy to inform you that all the wines presented on the wine list are available throughout the entire hotel.
I would also like to take this opportunity to explain that last January we have opened ‘Le Petit Bistro’. Le Petit Bistro offers a menu that you describe in your comment. In order to offer a more informal setting for our guests to have lunch or dinner, Le Petit Bistro was opened with a more simplistic menu. The same philosophy is used, our chef’s take pride in using Dutch products from the land and incorporating this in the menu with a French twist. The menu however is designed to make it favorable to all of our guests.

Again I would like to thank you for your efforts and your kind words. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the management team and the departments involved. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights on the first part of our honeymoon. We arrived early and our room was ready. They were so lovely and upgraded our room to a suite with a balcony. The room was gorgeous and large. The entire time we were there, the staff were extremely professional and helpful. We had a problem with our door locked and it was immediately fixed. They are everything a top notch hotel should be.
Location is excellent. We had no issue at all with the location being off the red light district. Even with the balcony and the semi finals of the World Cup going on, it wasn't loud. The neighborhood near the hotel is very touristy; however, we really didn't mind. We were able to walk all over (back from the Heineken experience ) without issue and even jumped on a tram at some point.
I would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jbone1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It is so kind of you to recommend our hotel. Also thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay in The Grand. I am truly delighted you enjoyed your stay.

I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

With my best wishes,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After having a bad experience at the Pulitzer, we checked into the Grand. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The canal suites are spacious, luxurious and comfortable. The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and a pleasure to talk with. The hotel is centrally located with great views. Very clean, modern: classy and charming. Amazing place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed Sofitel Legend The Grand.

As you have so kindly mentioned The Grand is perfectly situated to take in the sights and sounds of Amsterdam with the shops and museums right on our doorstep.
Whilst there is so much to see and do in Amsterdam, we believe that The Grand is very much a sanctuary and place to get away from it all.

I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July 2014. Amsterdam is very busy any time of the year. The Grand - with its front and inner courtyard - is like a peaceful island in the city center. We stayed in a suite with a sitting room, seperate bedroom, spacious bathroom with shower, double sink, toilet, bath, seperate toilet, free and fast WIFI. TV in the sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. Very comfortable double bed. Comfortable couch. Writing desk. Spacious closet, safe, mini-bar. All very clean. Very helpful and friendly service by butler Domingo. However, the butler form we were asked to fill and return by email beforehand with our choice of pillows, newspaper, reason of our visit,... was probably not read by anyone. There was no turndown service on our second night and no newspaper on our first morning. Dinner at Bridges was a real treat. Quite expensive but worth every Euro. Excellent food, excellent wines, excellent waiter service with an attitude :) It's a pity though that there seems to be no dresscode for the guests in the restaurant. We felt a bit overdressed. Nice courtyard for lunch or drinks. Library cosy and comfortable. Concierge / reception services very friendly and efficient. Breakfast a bit overpriced. We didn't understand why the eggs were served cold/lukewarm as they are made to order and came straight from the kitchen but the breakfast buffet is nice. Plenty of choices. The location of the hotel couldn't be better for visiting the city center. Overall we had an excellent stay and we will consider The Grand again on our next stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Fabulous reading! Thank you for the generous words. However I regret to read that you were not quite satisfied with the breakfast. I am also sorry we failed to arrange the requests on the butler form.
Please rest assured that I have spoken with both department heads in order to avoid these kind of situations in the future.

Thank you once again for your review and for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand for two nights, celebrating my wife's birthday. At arrival we were greeted by the guest services manager, who took us to our room and helped us with all the information we needed. We were given a room with a great view at the front of the hotel overlooking the canals. The room itself was spacious and nicely decorated with high attention to detail. A birthday cake was waiting for us in our room, which was a nice surprise - and definitely one of the best cakes we ever tried. Staff were helpful and polite at all times which ensured a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stavz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your review on Tripadvisor and thank you for your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back in The Grand to celebrate many more birthdays !

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My mother and I stayed here during a very short 3-day visit. We had a view of the water from our room and were taken care of by the excellent staff. The hotel is right next to the Red Light District and about 25 minutes to the museums and Albertcuyp market. The city is so beautiful, make sure you choose to walk; ditch the cabs!

Room Tip: Try to request a room that has a view of one of the many canals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
A big thank you ! Please do come back and see us soon, so you can explore more of the city and enjoy The Grand.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing