We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure or Business? Or both?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #13 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Leisure or Business? Or both?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed for business but forgot that this hotel offers all to forget about your "duties".

Very nice hotel building, attentive staff all around the hotel and best food ever.

So, do business and experience leisure and of course pleasure at this great hotel! Well done.

Room Tip: Take a nip on the terrace and feel like a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Indeed, whether you come for business or leisure to our hotel, we do our utmost to give you a great time in The Grand !

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    283
    79
    39
    22
See reviews for
234
811
74
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The Grand is truly an experience. The staff was was most helpful. It rained almost the entire time we were there and the doormen were always ready with an umbrella. The front desk was helpful, and with one exception the concierge was great. One nice man at the concierge desk packaged a large mailing for me and sent it home. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as it seemed outrageously expensive but the Stroopwaffels I our room were a nice touch. The flowers all about the hotel are a bonus and give it the Dutch touch

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Truly an oasis of calm and elegance amidst the bohemian central city. Extraordinary service...or maybe as expected for the dear price.

Outer facing room was a bit noisy from the street below during the Netherlands world cup victory.

How's this for service...I broke a shoe lace just before a big meeting. The concierge had a small supply of new laces and I was good to go within minutes!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We make every effort to maintain the high standards of quality service delivery and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay. It is gratifying to hear that it does not go unnoticed.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand !

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
397 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife & I spent 2 nights 4/25-26 & could not have been happier. We were upgraded to a lovely 3rd-floor room that was spacious with lovely appointments, a very comfortable bed, & large windows with engaging views of classic Amsterdam buildings (& a canal directly below us).

We had dinner at Bridges on a crowded Friday evening before the city-wide madness of King's Day 4/26. Our meal was one of our best ever with impeccable service; only the rose wine was a disappointment. (See my restaurant review elsewhere on TA.) The courtesy breakfast was served in Bridges & was much, much better than the usual fare, even in other 5-star restaurants.

On Sunday morning we accepted the hotel's courtesy invitation to tour the hotel with a lovely, charming customer service representative - well worth doing in this very historic building that was originally two convents.

The hotel's staff was uniformly outstanding - friendly, warm, helpful. The Concierge desk helped out quickly & thoroughly with several requests/questions. The hotel's location is terrific for sightseeing.

This was a Top-10 world-wide hotel experience for us. Highly recommended! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a canal-facing room on the 2nd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for such a fantastic feedback and for staying at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam !

We hope to welcome you back for many more occasions in the future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Sofitel Legend, the hotel was one of the highlights of our time in Amsterdam. It is located close to all - shopping and lots of restaurants. The staff were very friendly and all spoke English fluently. The hotel will not disappoint, rooms are well appointed (except for the steps). The food especially the breakfast was excellent. The spa and pool were great. I would recommend the Sofitel Legend if you're planning to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at The Grand, all of our staff enjoy making our valued guests feel very special.

As you rightly pointed out, the Sofitel Legend The Grand is in very close proximity to most of the attractions providing a great location for anybody who likes to visit the major landmarks of Amsterdam.

Thank you for lovely feedback and we hope you will come back again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel as part of our Tauck river cruise as it is their "official" hotel in Amsterdam at present. If you arrive earlier than the 3:00 check in or leave later than the 12:00 check out they will safely secure all of your bags for you.

It is in a good location for walking all around central Amsterdam however, it is not situated well for anyone arriving by coach as we had to walk more than five minutes from the closest point at which the bus can drop you off. Taxi's have no problem.

We found the front desk staff to be as professional as you would expect but did not eat in the restaurants because the food was a little too fancy for our tastes. We did have a very good buffet breakfast in a private room as part of our package with Tauck.

This is an expensive hotel and is comparable in price to the De L' Europe which we stayed in last year. This is a beautiful old building which has been modernized to the point where a lot of the charm has been removed. Rooms are decorated in a modern, contemporary fashion which is really not our taste. Having said that, our room was spacious by European standards.

There were a number of idiosyncrasies to the room which made it rather inconvenient to actually utilize. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom but no plug that would fit it (was only one outlet in the bathroom and it was not near the mirror) so I ended up using the outlet close to the floor near the front door. The mirror in the bathroom could be rolled about a foot in either direction but it never worked in conjunction with the light source so applying makeup there was next to impossible. There was a lighted magnifying mirror which is helpful for some things but useless for others.

There was no fan in the bathroom and the doors don't actually meet so privacy could be an issue. As well, we could not figure out a way to leave some of the lights on and turn some off. It was basically all or nothing except for the two spotlight reading lights on either side of the bed.

The bed linens were gorgeous and the bed and pillows so comfortable that I didn't want to get up. Surprisingly, the bathroom linens were quite the opposite. The towels were ratty and hard and one even had two large holes in it!

This may sound petty but when they are charging over $600.00 per night for a room and claiming five star accommodation we expect a lot more. As I mentioned earlier, the De L'Europe is comparable in price, two blocks away in, what we believe is, a better location and really was five star in everything. Given the choice, we would pay a little more and stay down the street.

Room Tip: Room 120 overlooked a quiet canal but was very close to the street so make sure you specify a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stay twice in the hotel it was wonderful. Comfortable, clean and wonderful rooms. Hotel Decor is so nice, really luxury hotel. Recommend Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Planing to go there very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for trusting the Sofitel Legend The Grand. We are grateful to you for not only observing our beautiful hotel and good service, but taking the time to put it in writing.
Thank you also for you recommendation.

We are looking forward to have you here once again.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.