We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #12 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently stayed a week at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It was a wonderful experience. While we were there, we celebrated our anniversary. They helped make it even more special. There wasn't anything that we would change. The rooms, bedding, and food were exceptional. The thing that stood out the most was the staff. Everyone we met was warm and welcoming. They couldn't do enough for us, whether it was providing information, reservations, or arranging transportation. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are truly honoured that you chose the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to celebrate your anniversary and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for recognizing our team, rest assured I will share your comments to all.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    973
    240
    66
    36
    20
See reviews for
175
625
62
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

perfect service, very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food. Rooms are spluuurrrrge. I had 2 kids with me: a 4 year old and 9 month old and they were very accommodating for my kids. They even gave my son a complimentary treat. great concierge service too and very centrally located-very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Wow, what a wonderful review of your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand ! Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and the service.

Please rest assured that I will pass on your compliments to the entire staff.

We hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I would definitely recommend this amazing 5-star hotel in the very center of Amsterdam to anyone. It is absolutely one of the best 5-stars I have visited. Excellent service, Micheline- star food even for breakfast, very comfortable beds and great canal-views! What more could a traveler ask for. I loved the place and the room, we had lovely time sightseeing – everything is a walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are beautiful and very clean, w-fi works fast and you don’t even have to go looking for where to spend the evening – if you feel like staying in, there is a great bar in the hotel with very good service and drinks)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal view, it's great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QATAR
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have been in Amsterdam in june 2014 for trip it should be 4 nights but i cut it to 2 nights only!

I choose Sofitel as i read it has good location and its really good location .
But also i choose it as the rooms picture i saw it online for the hotel but the reality way different from what you see online ... The room very very small and not worth what you bid for it as the 20 m 461€ for every night without breakfast ... And what u get less than 20 m as the interior design so stupid to but steer and make the room more smaller .. Also the carpet to old and thirty .. The bed not comfortable...


Really i will not recommend it to any one sorry for all staff and manager there because they were so kind with us but the hotel should be 4 star and way less in what you bid for the room as what i choose not worth than 100€

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I'm actually writing this review from my bed at Sofitel The Grand.. 3hrs away from a sad check out!
I stayed at The Grand for 4 nights (half work / half leisure) and i had an amazing time. The staff is always extremely friendly, happy and very well groomed with a great attitude. The room was superb, very spacious with everything you need and more, overseeing the main entrance courtyard, the breakfast was great, the food at The bistro was excellent.. And the Spa is small but beautiful.
A real luxury experience, Sofitel the Grand is one of the best hotel i ever stayed at.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Sofitel Legend The Grand on your recent trip to Amsterdam. I am pleased to know that you find the hotel's location very convenient and that you enjoyed your room.

Thank you for recognizing our team, rest assured I will share your comments with all.

We hope to welcome you once again when the opportunity arises.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Totally modernized complex some dating to 16th century. Buildings surround two quiet courtyards on a bustling canal in heart of Old Amsterdam. Through American Express we were upgraded to a fabulous modern suite with every convenience imaginable. All staff were attentive and appeared to genuinely care for us. Concierge made dinner reservation at a first-rate restaurant (Oesterbar). Hotel has 1-star
Michelin restaurant (Bridges) that is top-notch but very expensive.
Amsterdam is one of the world's great walking cities and Grand is at a central starting point. We could not ask for more.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at Sofitel Legend The Grand on your recent trip to Amsterdam. I am pleased to know that you find the hotel's location very convenient and that you enjoyed your room.

Thank you for recognizing our team, rest assured I will share your comments with all.

We hope to welcome you once again when the opportunity arises.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is a gem. It is absolutely gorgeous, with impeccable service and beautiful public spaces. The rooms are nice, with superb linens and lovely Hermes bath products. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your incredibly kind words about our hotel and the service. Thank you also for the recommendation.

We hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.