We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lombard, Illinois
Top Contributor
497 reviews 497 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Really Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was coming in for a business trip and spent two nights here. It is a great hotel. My room was huge and I had a personal butler. It is a little pricey but worth it. It is in a great location and you can literally walk to nearly everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I am glad to read that you were happy with your room and that you appreciated our butler service.

Thank you also for your recommendation. I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    250
    72
    36
    21
See reviews for
198
723
67
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I agree with previous comment - many of the staff were arrogant; and we were forced to keep our windows closed because it was so noisy outside at night. One staff-person even suggested that I wasn't a guest at the hotel, asking for my room number. Concierge neglected to get us tickets for the Anne Frank house after we asked for them, so we were unable to visit this attraction as the line for tickets there was too long. On our final day the taxi The Grand summoned for us dropped us off quite a ways from the train station saying he wouldn't go any further. We were forced to walk a great distance with much luggage. Comfortable, but overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am very sorry to learn about your experience with us, mostly with regards to the service you experienced from our staff. The experience you describe is not in line at all with the level of service that we strive for. Our aim is to provide our guests with a warm and welcoming feeling.

I can understand your disappointment with regards to the Anne Frank House tickets and I am sorry that we did not succeed in delivering them to you. Unfortunately it is sometimes hard to find tickets as they are usually sold out quickly in advance.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam so that we can prove ourselves a better host to you.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Overpriced for the services provided. Lots of arrogance among the staff. Very noisy as the hotel is on the flight vector for as Schipol Airport. The location was terrific. Amsterdam is magnificent city. The lobby and grounds are gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the effort and time to leave your comment on TripAdvisor, this is very much appreciated. It gives me joy to read that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel and that our Concierge department has provided you with excellent care.

Nonetheless I do regret to read that the service you have experienced was not living up to your expectations. Please rest assured that your comment will be shared within the Management Team. Your feedback will allow us to improve ourselves where needed which is why I would like to thank you again for sharing your comment with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam again soon.

Kind regards,


Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Grand Amsterdam is an extraordinary 5 star hotel. The history of this building partners nicely with the plush surroundings and beautiful art work. This hotel certainly delivers upon it's promise of legendary service. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are truly heavenly. I stayed in a luxury room where there was plenty of space, comfortable seating and a lovely bathroom. The food at the Grand was absolutely delicious. I tasted food from the room service menu, the Flying Dutchman, the Petite Bistro, OR library and Bridges restaurant; everything was perfect. Congratulations to the Grand on their Michelin star rating (Bridges) as well as their award winning club sandwich. The shining stars of this establishment are the staff; everyone went out of their way to be accommodating and gracious. Vincent, Robin, Dennis, Cecilia and Neils took care of our every need; their attention to detail, informative advice and caring manner were what impacted our stay in a manner that was memorable. Bravo Grand, you truly created a world class experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
What an absolute pleasure it is to read your incredibly wonderful review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, from the room and it’s bed to the good food and our staff. We indeed take great pride in providing all of our guests an unforgettable experience, and by the contents of your review we succeeded in doing so.

Thank you once again for your wonderful comments and I hope to welcome you back in The Grand in the near future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. A wonderful place to enjoy and explore Amsterdam. The staff was very helpful during our stay. They arranged for a private tour guide to walk us throughout the city and explaining the rich history. It made the trip very memorable and informative. We enjoyed the museums and the city.
The location is perfect right by the main square and close to the Red Light district.
It also has one of the best restaurants in Amsterdam a Michelin rated location, Bridges! The meal was wonderful and service was great.

In closing I would encourage anyone to visit the city and stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with view on the canal. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review about your recent stay in The Grand.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team as I am sure that this kind of feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff; as we strive to provide a high quality of service to all our guests.

Thank you also for recommending our hotel !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A real 5 star hotel . Great beds ,pillows,linen and decor ,everything works well .
But what makes hotel really stand out is its service . It has improved since two years ago ,it was very good then ,but now it goes beyond all expectations . Nothing is too much trouble , every member of staff from receptionists to chambermaids etc stop to greet you . Staff over breakfast are friendly cheery and attentive.
Great hotel in a super location .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
It was lovely to read your super review and thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand. I will definitely pass on your wonderful words about the service to our entire staff…it will make them feel real proud !

Please come back and see us again soon but, in the meantime, happy travels.

With all good wishes,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

So excited I stayed in this hotel! Just at the center of Amsterdam, near the canal with the swans with wonderful view. The room was cosy decorated with warm colors, lovely smiley staff and the best lounge room with a fireplace, books and piano, feeling wonderful & natural being there. Hot spots: a beautiful garden in the middle, a delicious breakfast and a must visit hotel spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Wow, what a fantastic review. It’s such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Grand and that you appreciated our breakfast buffet. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff !

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.