We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #14 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

So excited I stayed in this hotel! Just at the center of Amsterdam, near the canal with the swans with wonderful view. The room was cosy decorated with warm colors, lovely smiley staff and the best lounge room with a fireplace, books and piano, feeling wonderful & natural being there. Hot spots: a beautiful garden in the middle, a delicious breakfast and a must visit hotel spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Wow, what a fantastic review. It’s such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Grand and that you appreciated our breakfast buffet. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff !

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    292
    80
    42
    22
See reviews for
253
830
76
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed 5 nights here, over the long Easter break. Service from the front desk, concierge, porters and restaurant staff was topnotch. The buffet breakfast was excellent. We had the most blissful sleep every night, in their extremely comfortable beds. If it could have been possible to just stay in the hotel the whole 6 days, I would have, because once you step out, you're confronted with everything xxx that Amsterdam has to offer. There's a 'coffeeshop' just steps away, and the red-lighted windows just a few meters down. Why couldn't this lovely property have been located in a more respectable part of town. Actually, even inside the hotel, you can catch whiffs of pot brought in by other guests, especially in the cramped elevators. Parents, take note.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff, as we strive to provide a high quality of service to all of our guests.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a spring tour of Holland and Belgium with Tauck. The hotel is beautiful and service is excellent. The room was spacious and clean. The location is excellent and we could walk everywhere. The front desk staff had plenty of people there to help when you needed it and they were all very friendly. We ate in the Bistro restaurant once and we did not like it very much but loved the hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and the location.

However, I am sorry to hear that you did not like our Bistro that much. I will pass on your comment to our Restaurant Manager.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Excellent service. Perfect central location close to quiet canal. Rooms good, spacious. The bed fas fantastic, very comfortable. I was not happy with the shower as it was hard to get the right temperature. All in all a great hotel, but very expensive and would have expected even better for this prize.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review at Tripadvisor.

However I am sorry to read that were not happy with the shower in your bathroom. Please rest assured that I will review this with the Chief Engineering.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next visit of Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is located on a canal at the top of the red light area, but don't let this put you off because its a wonderful hotel. Check in staff are superb, rooms are first class, location is perfect, even the guys on the door are very friendly. I will only ever stay here when in Amsterdam. Not one complaint!

Room Tip: You must try this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
It is always a pleasure to read positive comments on the service provided by my great team as this is where we believe Sofitel Legend The Grand excels and makes us stand out from the rest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Got to stay in this beautiful hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam for 6 nights! Our KLM flight arrived an hour early, and we were at the hotel reception by 9 am. Our room was not ready at that time, but the staff checked us in without problems. We were served some refreshments, got introduced to Maurice, our always ready and able butler, before we headed out for the Easter mass at the Basilica close to the Central Station. Even before the mass ended, we learned that our junior suite room with a canal view (#352) was ready for us! Sweet Maurice took take of our every little need, including my request for a voltage converter so that I could use my flat hair iron! Our room was large with high ceilings, and had a modern, yet traditional feel to it. The toilet and bath had an interesting layout but worked well for us! There was a TV next to the tub (neither of which we used), towel warmer, rainshower and wand in the shower, and a vanity that is separate from the lavatory. The bed was soft yet comfortable, and we had an extra roll-away bed for my teenage son which was also comfortable. It was King's Day on the day we left, but the celebrations started the night before. I didn't get to sleep until 2 am that evening because the place was not very far from the Dam Square which were most of the loud noise was coming from. But the rest of the nights were calm and quiet, and being on the third floor was a plus. Also, one should try the Spa/Pool area - we had a great one hour in the pool, and all to our own! We never tried the breakfast at the hotel, although we heard a lot of good things about it. We usually were our for our meals, and there are a lot of pretty good choices just a walking distance away. Overall, we would go back to the same hotel if and when we have the chance to visit Amsterdam again. And special thanks to Maurice and the staff of The Grand Sofitel for treating us like royalties. <3

Room Tip: The butler experience is a first for us. One has to be in at least the junior suite to have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write so eloquently and I hope your next stay with us lives up to the same high standards that you now know we are capable of!

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have just spent 7 nights at this wonderful hotel and I will not repeat all the amazing things other guests had to say. Yes, the decor is gorgeous, the flowers are perfect, the food is great. and the rooms are wonderful. But what really made a difference was the staff. We can find good hotels all over, but I doubt we can find such a warm and nice group of people working together at the same place. The ones that we see and the ones that work behind the scene to make sure everything is working perfectly. I had to go the emergency room at night this week, and I felt so protected by them in terms of getting a referral to where I had to go, helping to contact my insurance, calling me the next day, making sure I was okay. .
The employees are the soul of The Grand and Sofitel should be proud of having such a wonderful staff.
The only thing I regret is that we did not have time to do the hotel tour, will do next time...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I am so pleased that you were made to feel so looked after and comfortable when you had your medical issue; it is the very least we could do! But most of all I am very glad to learn that you are feeling better now !

I hope you will be able to stay with us again should you visit Amsterdam again. Thank you for the kind comments.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.