We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is one of the beset we've ever stayed in. From the moment we stepped into the courtyard we knew this would be a special stay. The charming young lady who checked us in quickly noticed it was my birthday the following day (the reason for the trip) and insisted on showing us to our room. When we returned to our room after a great afternoon sightseeing I was delighted to find a bottle of champagne sitting in an ice bucket, what a fantastic gesture and very much appreciated. It's these these touches and attention to details that make the hotel truly special. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

It is through little details, such as recognizing your birthday, that we try to give each guest a memorable stay.

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand and we hope to soon welcome you back in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    247
    72
    36
    21
See reviews for
197
712
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a very good hotel with the staff as good as you get and indeed the staff made the stay here so pleasant. My room was neat and well equipped albeit small. With the Bridges restaurant - 1 star - and a location in the heart of this great city it I can recommend this as a great pace to stay when in Amsterdam

Room Tip: upgrade from the Classic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It is nice to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank you also for the recommendation.

Indeed last November our restaurant Bridges, inspired by Ron Blaauw was awarded with a Michelin star, which makes us all extremely proud.

We hope you will choose The Grand again on your next travels to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just spent two nights in this wonderful hotel, one of the best we have ever stayed in and certainly our favourite of the top end hotels in Amsterdam. Location was perfact, easy walking distance to all major attractins, loads of bars and restaurants. Our sperior double room was large, beautiful view of courtyard and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fantastic and well worth the price. Sauna was clean and very hot, although gets crowded at about 5pm on a Saturday. The staff were without fault - we were extremely well looked after and every detail attended to without us even having to ask. We particularly appreciated the service from our breakfast waiter, called ?Marius, who was incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful. We would love to come again.

Room Tip: We loved 357
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay in The Grand so much ! Your valuable feedback is very much appreciated and I have shared these lovely comments with the staff.

I hope, along with the entire team, that we may welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I guess my feelings are overshadowed by our initial experience which set the tone for the whole stay. I'll explain; when we arrived we were met by a very friendly doorman who took our bags and said they would be taken to our room, all fine so far. However when we tried to check in the receptionist asked our name and after a minute or so said we were not booked in - somewhat worrying - however it was swiftly resolved when we worked out he'd spelt our name incorrectly. No big deal but a little disconcerting for a minute or two. He then said that our room wasn't quite ready but it would be in about twenty minutes and would we like a drink in the library while we waited. Appreciating the fact that it was only 10.00am and they weren't obliged to have our room ready until 2.00pm we were pleased to have the opportunity to get in to our room and unpack our things so we said we'd wait. After 20 minutes I went and asked whether our room was ready only to be told - by another receptionist - that it would be another 45mins. At that point we decided to go out for a walk and have a quick look around. After 1 & 1/2 hours we returned only to be told that they still needed another 20 minutes for a final check. Very frustrating, why didn't they simply say when we first checked in that the room wouldn't be ready until 2.00pm - which is what we were expecting - and that way we would have gone off into town for the day and not wasting a load of our time checking if we could get into our room or not. Anyway when it was ready we were told that our luggage was in our room, so we went on up only to find no luggage and had to wait another 20 minutes for the chap to bring it up, at this point I was no mood to give him a tip which resulted in him looking at me as I'd just abused him. Then we tried to make ourselves a cup of coffee only to find there was no coffee, so much for the final check. Then we realised that the television in the bathroom had no signal, again no real problem as we didn't want to use it, we were just messing around trying things out.
Having said all that absolutely nothing else went wrong during our stay- except the very strange waitress in Bridges restaurant but that's for another review - all the staff were really friendly and they even gave me a birthday cake for free which was a very nice touch. Therefore I've still given it 4 stars but an establishment such as this should be getting 5 stars every time from me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such an elaborate and detailed review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the check-in. May I kindly ask you to contact our Guest Relations Manager in order to discuss your feedback. We would appreciate it if you would give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in The Grand. You can reach us on +31.(0)20.5553111

Once again thank you for your feedback. At The Grand we pride ourselves in offering a high level of service: I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you when you next visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a visit to Amsterdam staying at The Grand. The hotel was amazing. The service from the staff was really excellent. The surroundings were so plush. We enjoyed drinks in the hotel bar, where I had a fantastic Bloody Mary! We are already planning our return to The Grand as we loved every minute!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I am pleased to read that you had such a nice sojourn at Sofitel Legend The Grand.

Please be assured that we will have your Bloody Mary ready for you for your next visit of Amsterdam and the Grand ! I look forward to welcoming you back !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Venere, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.