We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    248
    72
    36
    21
See reviews for
198
721
67
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Grand Hotel Legend Amsterdam situated in a quiet street alongside a canal is ideal for walking to most of Amsterdam,s attractions. We have stayed in many of the Sofitel group hotels including one of their flagship hotels The Metropole Hanoi. In our opinion the Grand in Amsterdam outshines them all.
Guests are met by a welcoming doorman and friendly reception staff. The General Manager and his assistant are in evidence and approachable at all times. Bridges restaurant offers Michelin standard cuisine with very attentive, friendly staff. The rooms and suites are spacious and well equipped. We highly recommend this 5 star hotel.
Adrian & Jan Multon - UK

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I would like to thank you for leaving such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at The Grand. I am pleased that we are able to provide a true five-star experience, both in our hotel and our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw. High quality service is one or our top priorities.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a tough review to write. I am here at the Hotel now. The hotel is very clean, very nice, and very attractive. It it centrally located and, despite what some of the negative reviews might say, definitely outside of the red light district. We fly to Amsterdam a few times a year and usually stay at a different property. We tried the Sofitel this time and had positives and negatives.
- We splurged on a suite and it cost a lot. The rate did not include breakfast.
- The staff in the Lounge, restaurant and door and concierge were great.
- Front Desk, while polite, were not very accommodating. Afster staying 4 nights in a suite and spending thousands of euros on our stay, food, drink and spa services, we asked for a late check out. They charged us 175 Euros to stay until 5pm, when the hotel is not full and it is the low season.
- Food and drink prices were very high in the hotel
- The hotel is in a historic building and has gone through many iterations in various functions (government building etc).It feels a little soul-less.
- We did not eat at the restaurant, but heard nothing but positives from other guests and staff.
- The Lounge staff (in the day a French gentleman, Anwar, with close cut hair, and in the evening Lawrence) were great. They spoiled us and were very informative. Anwar actually just brought me another glass of water and some snacks!
- If you needed anything in your room, a quick phone call and it was there immediately. Some hotels take 30 mins or an hour etc, these guys were on the ball in this department.
- I did not complain to the hotel (yet). i will do this at check out, but the bed was really uncomfortable. I was sleeping in a massive egg shaped hole, and I spent the entire night rolling around in it trying to sleep. ~The room is very nice, its just a case of a bed being a victim of large people for too long


In short, these guys would have been a 4 out of 5, but if you are charging me almost 1000 USD a night for a room, I need to see more. If I ask for a late check out, you have to be flexible. If I found the right price, I would stay here again. If the rates are at their current level, I would not book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to put your review on Tripadvisor.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the location of the hotel and the employees of the Lounge and Concierge team.

However, we regret to learn about your disappointment about the charge for the late check-out. In this case the receptionist followed the procedure for this, but as you stayed for a couple of days, we do understand your feedback.

With regards to the building, perhaps next time you would like to join the historical tour that is offered daily. This tour gives a little bit more insight, for example on our Marriage Chamber that was painted in 1926 by Chris Lebeau.

We are also sorry to read about the bed that you found uncomfortable. The Sofitel MyBed features a soft surmatelas, which we can take off the next time you wish to stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Sofitel Legend, The Grand Amsterdam is a beautifull hotel in a fantastic location and offers great bars and a fantastic michelin star restuarant. All of which we sampled, along with the Spa and louges. We had a junior suite for my wife birthday weekend and we were not disappointed, the room was a good size and was decorated beautifully. The staff as always in the Netherlands were very friendly and welcoming. Concierge were invaluable and got us bookings at restuarants and clubs. secon time at sofitel hotel, it is one of the best hotel chains around right now.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay in our hotel Sofitel Legend The Grand, on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you received the right service, as high quality service is one of our top priorities. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated and I have shared your lovely comments with the team.

I hope you think back at our beautiful rooms and fine dining on your next visit to Amsterdam and that you will choose again for The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a Fantastic hotel, from the moment you drive through the arch it begins, it is very well decorated, clean, staff are excellent, the food in Bridges restaurant is very good as it should be having just won a star (I believe). The location is fantastic no matter what you go to Amsterdam for!
The rooms are very good, mini bar is well stocked but quite expensive, Hermes toiletries are a nice touch! But for me the best thing about the hotels are the beds, oh my god they are so comfortable I did not want to get up in the morning!!! The meeting rooms are good as well. All in all a great experience! Well done Sofitel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank your for taking the time to share your experiences at The Grand.
Indeed, our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw, was recently awarded a Michelin star, which makes us all very proud !
This legendary location, once the canteen of the City Hall, is now a place where gourmands can enjoy the art of cooking by Executive Chef Joris Bijdendijk.

I hope that on your next visit to Amsterdam we will be able to welcome you back in The Grand AND in our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is a different experience in staying in The Grand Amsterdam. The location is very convenient, the staff very professional and the ambience is very relax and welcoming. We stay there anytime we go to Amsterdam since 1999 either for business or pleasure. The staff's personal touch complements our trips and we feel at home anytime we stay there. If you stay in a junior suite or a suite you are being looked after and pampered by a group of professional butlers such as Domingo, head of butler department. Highly recommended if you plan to stay there for a nice weekend. And if you stay there from June to September you will love to have your dinner in the Garden's Restaurant.

Room Tip: If you book a little bit early you can get a good deal. Luxury rooms and junior suites are good valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and it’s staff. We indeed all strive to provide our guests the best possible service, so one will feel home away from home. It is also so nice of you to mention our garden…it is indeed a heaven of peace right in the centre of our busy city !

I look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

we stayed here at the end of October for 3 nights , we had a suite to the rear of the hotel over looking a quiet street and the canal , room was lovely and comfortable with a large shower and also a kitchenette ,the hotel its self is very centrally located to the train station and shopping areas and the red light district, The staff are a pleasure to deal with and extremely helpful , really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel , Thanks for a great time!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
What a pleasure to read your review about The Grand on Tripadvisor ! It is with great pride that I read your kind words about our team, they get a lot of satisfaction from guests who show their appreciation. I have therefore shared your kind words with the entire team.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand in the near future.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.