We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, Amsterdam 1012 EX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxury stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Sofitel Legend, The Grand Amsterdam is a beautifull hotel in a fantastic location and offers great bars and a fantastic michelin star restuarant. All of which we sampled, along with the Spa and louges. We had a junior suite for my wife birthday weekend and we were not disappointed, the room was a good size and was decorated beautifully. The staff as always in the Netherlands were very friendly and welcoming. Concierge were invaluable and got us bookings at restuarants and clubs. secon time at sofitel hotel, it is one of the best hotel chains around right now.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay in our hotel Sofitel Legend The Grand, on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you received the right service, as high quality service is one of our top priorities. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated and I have shared your lovely comments with the team.

I hope you think back at our beautiful rooms and fine dining on your next visit to Amsterdam and that you will choose again for The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    864
    216
    62
    30
    19
See reviews for
149
562
56
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a Fantastic hotel, from the moment you drive through the arch it begins, it is very well decorated, clean, staff are excellent, the food in Bridges restaurant is very good as it should be having just won a star (I believe). The location is fantastic no matter what you go to Amsterdam for!
The rooms are very good, mini bar is well stocked but quite expensive, Hermes toiletries are a nice touch! But for me the best thing about the hotels are the beds, oh my god they are so comfortable I did not want to get up in the morning!!! The meeting rooms are good as well. All in all a great experience! Well done Sofitel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank your for taking the time to share your experiences at The Grand.
Indeed, our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw, was recently awarded a Michelin star, which makes us all very proud !
This legendary location, once the canteen of the City Hall, is now a place where gourmands can enjoy the art of cooking by Executive Chef Joris Bijdendijk.

I hope that on your next visit to Amsterdam we will be able to welcome you back in The Grand AND in our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is a different experience in staying in The Grand Amsterdam. The location is very convenient, the staff very professional and the ambience is very relax and welcoming. We stay there anytime we go to Amsterdam since 1999 either for business or pleasure. The staff's personal touch complements our trips and we feel at home anytime we stay there. If you stay in a junior suite or a suite you are being looked after and pampered by a group of professional butlers such as Domingo, head of butler department. Highly recommended if you plan to stay there for a nice weekend. And if you stay there from June to September you will love to have your dinner in the Garden's Restaurant.

Room Tip: If you book a little bit early you can get a good deal. Luxury rooms and junior suites are good valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and it’s staff. We indeed all strive to provide our guests the best possible service, so one will feel home away from home. It is also so nice of you to mention our garden…it is indeed a heaven of peace right in the centre of our busy city !

I look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

we stayed here at the end of October for 3 nights , we had a suite to the rear of the hotel over looking a quiet street and the canal , room was lovely and comfortable with a large shower and also a kitchenette ,the hotel its self is very centrally located to the train station and shopping areas and the red light district, The staff are a pleasure to deal with and extremely helpful , really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel , Thanks for a great time!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
What a pleasure to read your review about The Grand on Tripadvisor ! It is with great pride that I read your kind words about our team, they get a lot of satisfaction from guests who show their appreciation. I have therefore shared your kind words with the entire team.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand in the near future.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This might be a short review but I don't need many words to describe the Sofitel Amsterdam: the building is beautiful, the staff is very nice and friendly, the bar is excellent and the rooms are amazing. From a location perspective it's located centrally and you can reach all important destinations comfortable by feet. For me it's the best hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand. We are indeed right in the buzzing city centre of Amsterdam, but once entered the premises of the hotel one finds oneself in an oasis of tranquility…

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is outstanding !!
Have been away for 3 weeks and stayed at a few places on this trip
From the moment we arrived the service was excellent !!
Then we were shown our rooms and they were beautiful and enormous
The hotel renovation was impeccable
The beds were the best I have ever slept in world wide
Breakfast service spot on ,as was the food
Great place to stay I wouldn't go anywhere else in Amstrrdam
Thanks



Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on our hotel on Tripadvisor . What a pleasure it is to read your review about your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam !

It is our passion to provide all our guests with an unforgettable experience and therefore service is our top priority. I am also very glad that you liked our comfortable beds from the MyBed concept and that you enjoyed the food in our Michelin star restaurant Bridges, inspired by Ron Blaauw.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand very soon.

With kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, Amsterdam 1012 EX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, ACCOR, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Otel, Amex, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.