We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special family occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #12 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Special family occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for family wedding recently. The wedding chamber itself is an historical and architectural gem from the Deco era when the hotel was the Amsterdam Town Hall and for a small intimate wedding could not be bettered.
Bedrooms all very nice indeed and probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Outstanding breakfast choices and buffet - again one of the very best ever.
Service was generally outstanding (other than being told by the receptionist that we hadn't got a booking on arrival - she was suitably embarrassed and apologetic subsequently - which may be why my parents suitcase ended up in the baggage room rather than their bedroom).
Food is outstanding, but quite fussy so not ideal for older parents. Likewise, the food options other than the restaurant also not really suited to elderly parents (low seating or high bar stools. Perhaps churlish of me to think that to be truly great a hotel should be able to cater equally well to the complete age range?
It was a great location and setting for the wedding which was brilliantly well done. My own taste in hotels is more small scale and personal but for a large and special hotel this is probably as good as it gets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you kindly for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor, it was a pleasure reading it.

I am pleased to read that the historical ambiance the hotel has contributed to your stay and the most importantly the wedding.
Your feedback about our menus is taken seriously and will be shared with our Food and Beverage Manager. In addition, I would like to inform you that the seating areas in the hotel are currently being revised and we are planning to have some more seating options available in the near future, so that is something we are working on as well.

In the meantime I would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the honor to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    973
    240
    66
    36
    20
See reviews for
175
626
62
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Sofitel Amsterdam is Grand in everything but the bedroom! That doesn’t harm the business stay in this otherwise beautiful and great hotel. I would encourage traveler to book a bigger room if sharing. Service is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor, and for your kinds words about the hotel and the service that was provided.
It is indeed correct that we offer different room types. Please feel free to contact us in person in case you would prefer some recommendations when travelling with two persons. For example, we also offer spacious Luxury Rooms that also feature a bathtub overlooking the Amsterdam Canal.

Again I would like to thank you for your kind feedback and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back Amsterdam soon.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times, beautiful hotel. Room was very nice, luxurious and lovely comfortable bed . Nespresso machine was great . If you want posh then this it, couldn't fault it in anyway. The Jackson 4 were there doing an art opening in the hotel we stumbled into the foyer to be met with a group of paparazzi not the best when you've had one too many.
On the edge of Red Light district and very central to get around , 5 minute walk to Dam Square.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your most valued feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Sofitel My|Bed and the Nespresso machine are the key elements of our rooms, and I am happy to learn that this has contributed to your experience. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been so lucky to stay here a few times, and I am also very lucky that I get to stay at a number of amazing and superb hotels, and The Grand Amsterdam is right up there as one of my absolute favourites in the world.

Glamour, opulence and style, with a service philosophy bettered by no one. The location of the hotel can't be beaten, if you are in the city for business or vacation this is exactly the place to be. It is right in the heart of everything.

Like so many european city hotels the rooms are a bit small, but beatifully furnished. The hotel is big, but it feels like a real boutique, it feels smaller than it is. The restaurant is very good, I had three great meals there and always with the best wines. The hotel is spotless clean, the internet is as expected, the bathroom a little small and maybe needs a few more lights, but for anything that can be read as a negative, don't, this is simple the best, by a long long way.

Room Tip: Size is not everything. Get a room with a canal view, very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for the effort of leaving such a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read your kind words.

I am more than pleased to learn that you have experienced the hotel as ‘glamorous’ and that our service level has been living up to your expectations. I speak for the entire team when I say we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. It has everything going for it and the service level makes it that much more special. The hotel is located on one of the canals and is very close to the centre of Amsterdam. Less than a 5 minute walk to all the sights and attractions. It is also right next door to the red light district if you want that experience. We booked a Junior Suite which was an amazing room, very well appointed and modern. Looked directly out onto the canal. The staff are what make the hotel special. They make it their mission to know your name and treat you like you are a special guest. We had an issue with an unruly set of guests in the room beside us, having a party until 4am. The entire staff in the hotel became aware of this and they went out of their way to apologise and sent a bottle of Moet to our room with a card. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Amsterdam, which incidentally is a great city.

Room Tip: Book a Junior suite and ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that we have been able to create a memorable experience for you, despite the fact that you were disturbed during your first night. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the room and I would like to thank you for your kind words, also about our employees.

I, and the entire team here at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam look forward to welcoming you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel in an executive room overlooking the canal and quaint canal street houses typical of Amsterdam. The room was small but luxurious - as was the bathroom. The overall ambience of the hotel was warm, welcoming and calm and felt like an oasis of peace and quiet amongst the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Dam Square is a 2 minute walk away and the alluring sites of the red district 5 minutes away, but can be avoided if easily shocked !
Try this hotel, but don't expect an upgrade unless you are willing to pay a price way beyond our pockets !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. The city centre of Amsterdam indeed tents to be quite busy and noisy; we are therefore happy to offer you a quiet and tranquil place where you can relax and enjoy your stay in the town.
We hope to welcome you back in Amsterdam ánd The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great location in central Amsterdam, walking distance to many tourist areas. Very comfortable hotel, very attentive and professional staff. Never had a bad stay here. Hotel rest. Bridges is a great place, excellent wines and foot. Definitely worth a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving these wonderful words on Tripadvisor about your recent visit with us.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant and our service. In addition I am happy to read that our central location has helped you to find your way throughout the city.
Thank you again for your compliments and I hope that we may welcome you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.