We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish hotel with impeccable service and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #14 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very stylish hotel with impeccable service and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. It has everything going for it and the service level makes it that much more special. The hotel is located on one of the canals and is very close to the centre of Amsterdam. Less than a 5 minute walk to all the sights and attractions. It is also right next door to the red light district if you want that experience. We booked a Junior Suite which was an amazing room, very well appointed and modern. Looked directly out onto the canal. The staff are what make the hotel special. They make it their mission to know your name and treat you like you are a special guest. We had an issue with an unruly set of guests in the room beside us, having a party until 4am. The entire staff in the hotel became aware of this and they went out of their way to apologise and sent a bottle of Moet to our room with a card. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Amsterdam, which incidentally is a great city.

Room Tip: Book a Junior suite and ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that we have been able to create a memorable experience for you, despite the fact that you were disturbed during your first night. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the room and I would like to thank you for your kind words, also about our employees.

I, and the entire team here at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam look forward to welcoming you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    283
    79
    39
    22
See reviews for
232
809
74
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel in an executive room overlooking the canal and quaint canal street houses typical of Amsterdam. The room was small but luxurious - as was the bathroom. The overall ambience of the hotel was warm, welcoming and calm and felt like an oasis of peace and quiet amongst the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Dam Square is a 2 minute walk away and the alluring sites of the red district 5 minutes away, but can be avoided if easily shocked !
Try this hotel, but don't expect an upgrade unless you are willing to pay a price way beyond our pockets !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. The city centre of Amsterdam indeed tents to be quite busy and noisy; we are therefore happy to offer you a quiet and tranquil place where you can relax and enjoy your stay in the town.
We hope to welcome you back in Amsterdam ánd The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great location in central Amsterdam, walking distance to many tourist areas. Very comfortable hotel, very attentive and professional staff. Never had a bad stay here. Hotel rest. Bridges is a great place, excellent wines and foot. Definitely worth a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving these wonderful words on Tripadvisor about your recent visit with us.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant and our service. In addition I am happy to read that our central location has helped you to find your way throughout the city.
Thank you again for your compliments and I hope that we may welcome you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've traveled quite a lot and I've been to many great hotels in Europe but there is nothing really like this one. Everything was immaculate! attention to details at the highest level. I proposed to my girlfriend there and it was really quite something. The hotel itself is extraordinary. Everything is clean and our room was outstanding. The location couldn't be more perfect. The bed is the best bed I've ever slept in but what makes this hotel perfect is the staff. Let me begin with the concierge, they planned everything for me and it was absolutely amazing. They arranged a saloon boat for a 3 course dinner, bought me some flowers and booked me everything I needed. They are the best concierge team I've ever dealt with. Secondly, the reception staff were helpful, quick check in and check out, they even upgraded my junior suite to another suite because they knew I was proposing. Our butler (yes butlers come with every suite you book) Carlos is really phenomenal, ask him anything and he will do it for you. he made our stay one to remember, he was just simply faultless.
My recommendation is: get a suite (you won't regret it), ask the concierge for anything(and tip them), try the lobster bisque and enjoy sleeping in the world's most comfortable bed.

One more thing is I didn't really quite enjoy my dinner at the Bridges restaurant , mainly because the service was quite poor compared to the Ciel bleu which was more than perfect and much better to be honest. The food was brilliant thou. If you have the budget for both then try both out but if you have to choose definitely the Ciel bleu wins.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.
It is with great pride that I read your kind words about our team, as we all get a lot of satisfaction from guests who show their appreciation. I have therefore shared your review with the entire team.
Through the smallest details we try to give each guest a memorable experience.
We hope to welcome you and your fiancée back in The Grand in the near future, as well as in our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw, so that we can prove ourselves a better host.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Not a bad place, but lacking in wow factor. I enjoyed the food and the room was comfortable but it could have been anywhere in the world, I wasn't expecting a big chain hotel type of atmosphere where you could be anywhere on the planet, but that's what I got. Good staff, comfortable rooms, tastey food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your positive comments about our staff, the rooms and the food. However, I was sorry to learn that we could not succeed in exceeding your expectations regarding the atmosphere in the hotel. It is our aim to make each and everyone of our guests feel special.
That is why we do hope you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place should belong to a fairy tail book/story! If you want to be treated as royalty with first class experience, do yourself a favour and stay here. Easy and fast check-in/out even though it was NYE and a chaos. There was a minor hiccup upon check-in but it was handled with grace and professionalism. They took care of all the NYE planning (dinner and party)
The room was huge and had making views. Bathrooms was luxurious, along with amazing Hermes toiletries and rain shower. Everything you could wish for. Take the complimentary hotel tour, which was once a monastery/convent. So much history and character. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor about your visit in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, the room, the service provided and that you liked our historical tour.
It is our passion to provide all our guests with a memorable experience and I hope, together with the entire team of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.