We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, convienient and centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, Amsterdam 1012 EX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, convienient and centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our First Trip to Amsterdam and this was a Great choice. Centrally located and beautiful. The Room, The staff, the location was superb. An easy walk to the museums, restaurants and all that Amsterdam has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am delighted to read that your first visit to Amsterdam was a great one. Thank you for sharing this!
It is indeed correct that our hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam and I am very happy to read that this was so convenient for you.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    865
    216
    62
    32
    19
See reviews for
149
564
56
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have just returned from Amsterdam this weekend and felt the need to write a review on the Hotel. From the minute we arrived there was a very special welcome and the our check in was very smooth. all the staff were smiling and couldn't do enough for us.

The room was very well appointed and there were lots off special touches that made it feel like home (a very nice home!) especially the very comfortable bed. The spa was very welcome and the pool and saunas were very clean and well managed. Finally a special mention to the staff of the Bridges restaurant who were very helpful and keen to ensure we had a great time in Amsterdam. what a shame when we left.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the effort you took to leave your lovely comment on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your kind words about our employees. Moreover, I am also delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time in our So|Spa which was rewarded recently by the World Luxury Hotel Awards for Best Luxury Spa Hotel 2013.

We hope to welcome you back in The Grand during your next visit in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I had diner in the Grand in Amsterdam. This five star hotel makes good on it's promisses. It is quite expensive though.... Maybe I should have gone easy on the fabulous oysters and the champagne though. The appetizers were not served at the right temperature and rather tasteles, therefore dissapointing. The oysters were great, I would recomend the unami from the Zeeland 'waters. Smaller but more taste than the David Hervé's Royal Cabanon Oysters We had the roasted langoustine and quinoa. A favorite of mine, it was wonderfull!
Then tarboy and sole with foie gras. Woulld have prefered the foie gras as a separate course though... When God created the earth he in His wisdom decided that the liver of the geese had to be scrumptious. Who are we little people to object and abstain?
Desert, I had salted caramel and wonderfull dark chocolate and icecream was delicious, the presentation in what looked like a dog's ceramic drinking bowl, did not enhance the food.

Staff was very pleasant as allways. Expensive but worth it's money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the Unami Oysters amongst the other dishes. In addition I would like to thank you for your feedback, please rest assured that we will share this with our chef Joris Bijdendijk and his team.

We hope to welcome you back in The Grand and our Restaurant Bridges.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at Sofitel Legend for 4 nights while I was in Amsterdam for work. I really like the location of the hotel, just by the canal at the edge of the red-light district. The room was not exactly big, but more than adequate size. The hotel has such rich history that it that there are tours being organized to walkthrough the hotel. Definitely a hotel I would go back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
It is a delight to read your legendary experiences at The Grand. Thank you for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor.

It is indeed true that our the hotel has a very extended history and I am very pleased that you were able to join our daily historical tour. Furthermore, I am happy to read that the central location as well as your room were convenient for you.
We hope to welcome you back during your next visit in Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 for two days in a canal view room.The service and the room can only described as perfect,the location is great and close to everything.We were coming to the end of a seven week holiday and found the Grand Amsterdam to be one of the best if not the best and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 436 has a canal view large lounge and separate bedroom and in the bathroom a spa with a tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful comment on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that we have been able to live up to your rightful expectations, as it is our aim to provide a flawless service.
I must say it is an absolute pleasure to read that we have been able to contribute to the stay of experienced travelers who have just spend 7 weeks travelling!

My team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I spend three nights in this hotel on a weekend in October 2013 and I can only recommend it. The hotel is centrally located in the edge of the red light district in the old city. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable with huge, extra cosy beds. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but had all the luxuries one can expect. The only downside here was that it is only separated by a glass door from the room which does not provide too much privacy in certain situations. Apart from the that room was simply great.

The service is outstanding. The staff was always very attentive and friendly. The noticed by themselves that one of the days was my girlfiend's birthday and surprised us with a birthday cake in our room. Very thoughtful!

All in all: Location, rooms and in particular the service could not be better.

Only the spa left some room for improvement. This is the reason why I gave "only" four stars for this place. Sauna and pool are niche but there is no real chill-out zone available. You have to sit in one of the chairs by the pool which can be a bit noisy and there is no room to lie back. Also the massages service was not what we expected. The masseur did not speak much English (which is seldom in the Netherlands) and the massage session was interrupted several times by other people entering the room by mistake. Not very relaxing. These are all complaints on a very high level - but hey it is luxury hotel and the spa (and only the spa!) did not fully match our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am delighted to read your kind words about the service we offer. At The Grand it is our daily passion to create memorable experiences and it is pleasure to read we have succeeded in your matter.

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our So|Spa. I would like to assure you that we will take your comments into action.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, Amsterdam 1012 EX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, ACCOR, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Amex, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.