We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #11 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose to stay at the Sofitel Le grand in Amsterdam mainly because of it's perfect location in minutes walking distance from everywhere in central Amsterdam, as well as for the comfort and luxury we learned to expect from Sofitel hotels , after a great experience in London's St.James Sofitel. The next time we will be in Amsterdam, we will return due to the wonderful hospitality of all the stuff, the quick attendance to every wish- whether extra towels coming within a minute or two after we asked for them from housekeeping, the brown sugar to enjoy the good espresso you can prepare in your room and so on. The reception stuff was extremely helpful and polite, as well as the concierge with very good advices and the porters who were quick to order taxi and supplement with good advice while waiting.
The hotel as described at it's web site has a long history starting at the 15th century as 2 convents converted to admiralty and prince lodgings, that in later years became Amsterdam's City Hall, where the marriage of Beatrix-the queen of the Netherlands took place in the mid 60's . The buildings where converted with a loving hand to luxurious 5 stars hotel while keeping the character of the place, they even put indoor swimming pool.
We stayed in a lovely twin bed room ( No 312 ) on the 3rd floor with a canal view, that was airy and well illuminated from the large windows overlooking the trail of the ducks in the morning and the people at the afternoons- for the light sensitive guests, the windows are completely shadowed with blinds for bedtime. The only drawback was a little noise coming from the street and a smallish closet that the 2 bathrobes took most of the hanging volume. The room had all the amenities including Krops espresso machine working with Nespresso capsules, provided twice daily, luscious robes and slippers, extremely comfortable beds with wonderful embroidered white linens that in a 3 days stay were exchanged twice, a very spacious shower and room turn on service twice a day. Just to make a point about the importance of which room you are staying, 2 weeks prior on a 2 days stay we were in a room overlooking the courtyard(No 363 I believe) that had the same design but without the good illumination of the grand windows overlooking the canal and with somber colors creating a completely different feeling and ambience. That room had a completely unusable armchair taking a lot of the space, and in the bathroom a large bathtub that left small space for the really needed shower.
The hotel serves a very rich breakfast in the morning at 2 venues the outdoors beatiful courtyard and at the restaurant. There was a repeated problem in the service at the courtyard part of the restaurant- a long wait for the dishes ordered, mixing orders from different tables, lacking table necessities like salt & pepper, which really ruined the gorgeous experience of having the time to sit down in a beautiful place and enjoying the wide variety of carefully chosen fresh produce- something that always signifies the fact that we are on vacation and can spend the time for breakfast, something that you don't ordinarily do in our normal routine. The nice part of the story, from my point of view, was that after calling the supervisor and detailing the faults of the service, not only that she listened carefully to our experience and suggestions, all the details were completely mended the day after!! They also sent to our room a small bottle of Moet champaign with a hand written note apologizing for the unpleasant previous experience
All together it was a great luxurious stay at the Sofitel Le Grand that enabled us to enjoy the variety and hospitality of Amsterdam as exemplified by the hotel and the people working in it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    955
    229
    64
    35
    18
See reviews for
175
627
62
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Checked in late at night due to a flight delay. Tv did not work, ac did not work and cordless phone was so low on battery that u could not get a dial tone. Hmm? The front desk responded immediately and was able to change our room but we wonder why so many things did not work. Room decor is warm tones of rich taupes and browns. Modern bathrooms, ample closet space, comfy sofa, large windows offer a light filled ambience. A welcome room amenity described as "apple crumble" was a ridiculous concept- a pile of crumbs in a glass with no cutlery and some fresh fruit - (4 blackberries) in another glass. The following day's presentation of a glass of bluberries with a glass of candy and two chocolates looked oddly erotic but certainly appropriate for the edgy red light district location. Breakfast Buffet is superb - it offered great selection of fruits cheese, cold cuts and cooked to order hot selections and service is excelelnt. One morning room service coffee arrived on a lovely flower adorned tray with baked goods. Cant say enough about the level of service - simply flawless.
Hotel location is just at the edge of Amsterdam's notorious zone but the hotel is a quiet oasis.

Room Tip: our room overlooking courtyard and canal was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent hotell with very good location. We had a were nice upgrade to a suite upon our arrival and a very polite butler.But had a bad experience with the service having breakfast. After waiting for our orders for more than 40 minutes we gave up an left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location in the very centre of Amsterdam.The lobby and public areas are very impressive and the staff were attentive.Our room was small,bed comfortable,the bathroom was of a space saving design.Dinner in Bridges was good however when we decided not to have dessert we were promptly handed the bill.....we were actually still enjoying the remainder of our wine! I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again but NOT at full rate...and eat out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days and I must say compared to some of the other "big" names in Amsterdam, this is by far one of the best hotels. It oozes luxury, ambience is amazing, staff is super friendly and moreover location could not be more perfect.

I must say it was an absolutely amazing experience. Every night, staff would love something in my room like Dutch pastries, fruit basket, champagne etc. location is wonderful as it is pretty much walking distance to the "Big square", "red light district", central station, shopping street etc. I had a view of th canal which was excellent. I must say totally worth the price!


I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get on the 4 th floor with a view of the canal. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I can't overstate how fine this place is. Reception very warm and friendly. Design of room coolest I have ever seen. Bathroom fixtures were awesome and I've never noticed fixtures in my life. Stone floor, stone sink, stone shower. Bed very comfortable. I did not want to leave.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;