We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, Amsterdam 1012 EX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #13 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I travel for a living and understand that the best hotels in the world are the one's where they know your name. In other words, the level of service and hospitality make you feel right at home. The Sofitel Legand The Grand has one of the finest teams I have ever experienced. Arriving from an red eye from Vancouver, I was able to check in early, the concierge ensured I received my bags immediately, they let me know that if I booked museum passes with them, I would bypass long lines, which I did, their suggestion for dinner was excellent and I was treated like a Queen during breakfast, with my waiter running to and from the exceptional buffet bringing me samples of local food he wanted me to try, AND he had the bartender create a morning elixer to help rid jetlag. The head concierge arranged my seats and checked me in to my flight to Kenya and arranged a taxi to the airport. I would return to Amsterdam just to stay in this hotel again. And as a women often traveling solo, i was in the middle of downtown Amsterdam and felt like I had a team not only caring for me but also looking out for me. It was bliss!

Room Tip: Take the historic tour of the hotel - it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    957
    235
    66
    36
    20
See reviews for
169
617
62
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Besides the wonderful location, which allows you to walk anywhere you need, this hotel oozes grandness and history.
The contrast of the historical building with the modern and edgy decor really surprised me - public areas and the rooms are all designed with really good taste! The Sofitel "MyBed™" feels like you're sleeping on a cloud...
From check-in to guest relations' manager, everyone was extremely courteous and helpful, not to mention well groomed and smartly dressed - in a way that really caught my attention. Breakfast (served on the "Bridges" restaurant with a very funky and cool feel) is very good and offer a nice variety of cold items and a few hot ones, served to order.
Unfortunately I was there for only one night, but looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location is just right, but the hotel itself could use a bit more attention to service standards, we waited almost an hour for an extra towel to be delivered, then we had to eat a room service meal that was luke warm and tasted like it had been made in a microwave

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

this hotel is perfectly located in the historic district of amsterdam. we easily walked everywhere, filling our six days with views of beautiful architecture, fascinating history and fabulous museums. the dutch people were very friendly, often asking us if they could help us find a destination (everyone speaks english). we used the maps on our ipad to get us around. we could meander, getting "lost", then pinpoint our location and find our way back to the hotel.

our room was freshly decorated, rather "large" for a typically small european room. the room darkening-shades made sleeping a dream. the bed was comfortable with good quality linens and pillows. bathroom amenities were pleasant. the room was quiet (3rd floor). we received three afternoon treats during our stay, and a bottle of evian daily. the gym is small but basic with technogym machines. there is a wave pool and a hot tub. the gym closes at 10pm, which was a bit frustrating. the general staff was friendly and efficient, however, we felt the front desk staff was a bit stuffy. to their credit, they were impeccably dressed and very stylish. the lobby is attractive and is decorated with fresh orchids and other flowers daily. there are pleasant seating areas both inside and out. the hotel is expensive, but we felt it was worth the money.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Cannot say enough amazing things about the Sofitel. The staff are exceptionally kind and helpful, rooms are amazingly well-appointed, lobby and common areas decorated in art-deco/modern elegance...

Location amazing, be sure to get the tour of the historic elements of the property. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: So we ended up with one the Apartments - by joining their loyalty program we got a pretty amazing de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There is no doubt. If you come to the Netherlands then you must stay here. Rooms are excellent. Food exceptional. Staff attention to detail beyond reproach. Stay here. But it don't come cheap. Be prepared to pay, but be equally rewarded and in kind.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel was amazing. The service was impeccable and the aftercare was phenomenal. We were ripped off by about £30 by the cab driver on the way to the hotel and they took up the case for us with the cab company and refunded us! That aside, we were treated so well during our stay and upgraded. We got engaged during the horse and carriage ride around the town which I thoroughly recommend although it was all a blur in the excitement! The hotel messed up the payment part as my fiancé had arranged to pay the hotel but the coachman asked for the money on the spot but anyway he had the cash so it was fine. Make sure you remind the hotel upon arrival if you book the picnic for the ride as it may get forgotten ;0) Having said this, the hotel and staff were fabulous and WE WILL RETURN!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, Amsterdam 1012 EX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.