We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #12 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel Legend in Amsterdam :-)

On arrival the reception staff were extremely friendly & made us feel immediately welcome. As a surprise they had organised a complimentary half bottle of champagne to arrive in our room to celebrate our anniversary which was a wonderful start to our weekend. Our room was canal facing and very comfortable and quiet, considering that the hotel in based in the heart of the Red Light District!

We chose to have breakfast at the hotel and whilst it wasn't the cheapest we have had I.e €35 per person there was a very good choice and range of continental and cooked breakfast options and the staff were very obliging.

Both evenings we sat in the courtyard for early cocktails and again the staff were friendly and the environment was beautiful for a relaxed drink!

Overall this is a wonderful hotel and would definitely recommend this for a weekend break, preferably without children, to really enjoy this beautiful and historical building and surroundings.

My only comment to add would be that the superior rooms have a bath, as the shower was great but always lovely to have an opportunity to relax in a bath on such weekends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    270
    76
    38
    21
See reviews for
223
776
72
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

For those looking for a high-end ideal location for a visit to Amsterdam, this is it. Great modern rooms facing a quiet canal with a warm and very welcoming staff. If I could clone the team and the building and put it in other cities around the globe I would do it tomorrow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Grand Amsterdam July 31 - Aug 2nd for a relaxing weekend as the first leg of our trip. We stayed in one of the apartments with a butler and the service, food, and amenities were amazing. The concierge was extremely helpful in planning our trip before we arrived and they had set up various dinners and made arrangements for us to make sure everything was smooth. Our flight also arrived at 6:45 am and we were still able to check in and grab a nap before we hit the sites. The location of the hotel is right on one of the canals and very close to everything Amsterdam has to offer. Honestly, of all of the hotels we have stayed, it is now one of my favorites for its uniqueness and quaintness. The food at the "Bridges" restaurant was amazing and the staff was helpful and very fun.

Although the gym was fairly small and didn't have very much equipment, my wife and I loved the hotel and service so much I still have to give it an excellent rating. All of the staff really went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel concierge to prearrange your activities because they were great and really prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it is a beautiful hotel in an historic building right in the heart of Amsterdam. Within walking distance of many of the cities attractions e.g. Anne Frank House, Museum District and the Red Light District. Rooms are compact but have all you need particularly if you are a couple or business traveller. Most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time. Breakfast was beautifully presented and the service was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

From our arrival to our departure, we cannot fault this hotel. The staff are excellent and show that they are very interested in making your stay as perfect as possible. Location is perfect for tourists and the building that the hotel is in is vey interesting to wander around. Garden bar is a very nice place to relax and have a drink. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

spent a weekend with my wife in mid june, this meet all my expectations, fantastic room and the over all impression was just great, the cosy and friendly cafe in the back yard, excellent cheese plates and good rose vine, historical building with some interesting architectural solutions, very close to all the tourist attractions and in walking distance to almost everything to see in the inner city, try the breakfast and spoil your self, will be back for sure, meet my Sofitel standard I know from this chaine of Hotels around the world,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Legend is a lovely city hotel located not far from the Central Station and within walking distance of the museum district to the south. Many attractive parts of the city are also reachable on foot. The building is historic and has a wonderful ambience along with a beautiful courtyard with settees and casual dining. Our room overlooked the canal on the 2nd floor and was quiet. Everything was up to the usual Sofitel standard including a giant king-size bed with its soft under-blanket which gives the impression of sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom layout was unusual – it ran the length of one of the bedroom walls and had 2 doors. The door to the left accessed the bath and wash basin; the door to the right accessed the toilet. The bathroom part and the toilet were linked by a “shower corridor” which had a glass door to separate it from the toilet. The only inconvenience with this arrangement was that the hair dryer and vanity unit was located in the toilet section. We did not dine at the hotel in the evening so cannot comment on the various dining options. We did enjoy a high quality breakfast (rather pricey at €37.50) which was excellent with a cold buffet offering almost all imaginable options and hot food cooked to order and beautifully presented. Despite being extremely busy the service was excellent and courteous. The Legend is expensive but, I think, worth it for location, ambiance and service – we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Otel, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.