We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #14 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I cannot say enough about this fantastic hotel! My husband and I spent 3 nights here during our honeymoon earlier this month, and it was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip, and possibly ever!
The staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcomed and at home. Service was fantastic. Our room was beautiful: clean, modern, and inviting. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable.
We ordered room service twice and also enjoyed the breakfast buffet -- all of the food was delicious and looked just as good!
The hotel's location couldn't be better! It is right in the middle of everything, and I loved that the building had such a rich history.
I highly recommend this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand and for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor.

It is a real delight to read that we were able to contribute to a memorable honeymoon. Our ambassadors, who are entirely devoted to your well-being, do indeed go the extra mile to make you feel welcomed. Sharing your nice words prides them.

That you have experienced the food to be delicious is a nice compliment to our new Executive Chef Joris Bijdendijk and his team.

We hope that we may look forward to a future stay at our beautiful hotel.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    295
    82
    43
    22
See reviews for
262
851
78
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

While planing your trip to Amsterdam what kind of accommodation you should seek? For sure the best of it's kind. And this is all about the Grand the Legend located perfectly in the very very old historic building with the wedding room seems to be the most prestiges one to be married at Amsterdam. Very attentive staff, clean rooms, excellent food, nice access to the city center. But be aware that you will feel the Amsterdam's smell through the night with your room windows opened. The rooms cost a lot but I would rather accept the price than to try to find better for the same quality. Please do remember that Amsterdam is a city and the Grand is the city hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are different but the most charming face the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

Your appraisal of our hotel and our services is much appreciated. Also, that you value our historic building and the prestigious Marriage Chamber first class, which is part of our legend, pleases us. Our hotel has for several years been the pride and joy of the French Sofitel brand and is considered, quite rightly, to be its most precious jewel in the Sofitel hospitality crown: the second Sofitel Legend in the world, the first in Europe, part of a collection of legendary hotels situated in the most exceptional locations.

We hope that you will be ready for another voyage steeped in history and luxury and thus, that we may welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nouméa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rarely have I seen such efficient and personalised service. Even Asian hotels would be battling to beat this. The booked apartment was upgraded to a suite when staff realised it would be uncomfortable in access to my walking impaired wife.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and reviewing your stay here on TripAdvisor.

What a compliment it is that “you have rarely seen such efficient and personalised service.” Our ambassadors are very pleased with those flattering words.

We hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were a group of nine people- one 93 year old and one 2.5 year old. The staff were fantastic and the concierge department were very helpful. They looked after all our various needs and as we were celebrating a birthday they kindly gave us an upgrade on one of the rooms.
The food was excellent both breakfasts and dinner and lunch in the courtyard was very pleasant. Here again staff made a tremendous effort to accommodate all of our requests.
Would definitely recommend this homeland stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Your grand words here on TripAdvisor are highly appreciated.

It is wonderful to read that our ambassadors were able to realize all the various requests of your group. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

We are grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here in March for a surprise 2 nights. Fantastic location ideal for sightseeing .Attention to detail in the hotel and a warm welcome at reception, they even left a birthday cake in my room courtesy of the hotel.
The spa is lovely, had a great relaxing massage too.
huge bed, which was soooo comfortable.
We had the hotel breakfast, which was excellent, but very expensive.

Room Tip: Canal view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for a leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It must have been an amazing surprise, especially after our ambassadors brought you a birthday cake. It is a delight to read that you have found our So SPA and the Sofitel MyBed concept to be lovely.

We hope that in the future, we may welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here several years ago except for a problem with a shower. Decided to stay here again but in a different room. We had flown in from Miami that morning We arrived hours before offiical check- in time and were told the room would be ready in 20-30 minutes which turned out to be closer to 90. While waiting for our room the manager came out to say hello to us which was very nice.

But we were escorted to an ungraded junior suite with a separate sitting room with a comfortable couch and great TV's in sitting and bed room. The bathroom was very nice.

The bed was very good and the in room coffee machine made very good coffee.

When you are here ask to have a tour of the public rooms receptions which are most impressive.

The location is great with most popular sites within walking distance.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us again and writing about your stay here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you have given us a second chance and I am pleased to read that we were able to impress you. I would like to inform that all our beds are from the Sofitel MyBed concept, which are created to intensify your sleeping experience. Also the Nespresso coffee machines are carefully selected to meet the wishes of our guests.

That you recommend other TripAdvisor users to take the daily historical tour is a huge compliment to our ambassadors, who get very enthusiastic telling the rich history of our hotel and its building.

We, at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, hope that you will indeed stay with us again.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and were very impressed. We had an unusual split level room overlooking the canal to the rear of the hotel. Huge windows looked out from the bedroom, sitting area whilst the bathroom and closets were half a level up. The room was very cold when we arrived but we were quickly given a space heater which solved the problem. The radiators under the large windows were clearly having trouble coping with the unseasonally cold weather. The bed was super comfortable and the only other downside to the room was the lack of a bathtub. We did have a large walk-in shower but the edge detail at floor level was poorly executed and water poured out onto the floor whenever one of us showered. A bathtub with a shower and screen would have fitted into the same space with none of the ponding problems.

The reception staff were extremely helpful, locating places of interest we wanted to see and quickly sorting out our heating problem. Bar staff too were friendly and helpful and we were told of a local liquor store which carried a huge variety of Dutch Genever which we like and can't find easily in the UK. The hotel is centrally located and aside from a taxi to the station on our departure we were able to walk everywhere. We did not try the restaurant as we are frequent visitors to Amsterdam and have our old favourites which we like to return to. However we have stayed in a few Sofitel hotels over the years and this takes the prize as the best of the lot so far. I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal to the rear of the hotel are quiet and those at street level have large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Your extensive review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated.

It is a delight to read that you were impressed with our hotel and your words regarding our ambassadors, especially at the reception and bar, pride us. Our ambassadors are not only specialized in their jobs, but also knowledgeable about Amsterdam and its surroundings and the history of our beautiful hotel.

We have taken your comments regarding your room into account and will look for solutions to improve the product we offer.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, Splendia, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.