We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is ***** indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #12 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“It is ***** indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

While planing your trip to Amsterdam what kind of accommodation you should seek? For sure the best of it's kind. And this is all about the Grand the Legend located perfectly in the very very old historic building with the wedding room seems to be the most prestiges one to be married at Amsterdam. Very attentive staff, clean rooms, excellent food, nice access to the city center. But be aware that you will feel the Amsterdam's smell through the night with your room windows opened. The rooms cost a lot but I would rather accept the price than to try to find better for the same quality. Please do remember that Amsterdam is a city and the Grand is the city hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are different but the most charming face the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

Your appraisal of our hotel and our services is much appreciated. Also, that you value our historic building and the prestigious Marriage Chamber first class, which is part of our legend, pleases us. Our hotel has for several years been the pride and joy of the French Sofitel brand and is considered, quite rightly, to be its most precious jewel in the Sofitel hospitality crown: the second Sofitel Legend in the world, the first in Europe, part of a collection of legendary hotels situated in the most exceptional locations.

We hope that you will be ready for another voyage steeped in history and luxury and thus, that we may welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    238
    67
    36
    20
See reviews for
190
672
65
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nouméa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rarely have I seen such efficient and personalised service. Even Asian hotels would be battling to beat this. The booked apartment was upgraded to a suite when staff realised it would be uncomfortable in access to my walking impaired wife.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and reviewing your stay here on TripAdvisor.

What a compliment it is that “you have rarely seen such efficient and personalised service.” Our ambassadors are very pleased with those flattering words.

We hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were a group of nine people- one 93 year old and one 2.5 year old. The staff were fantastic and the concierge department were very helpful. They looked after all our various needs and as we were celebrating a birthday they kindly gave us an upgrade on one of the rooms.
The food was excellent both breakfasts and dinner and lunch in the courtyard was very pleasant. Here again staff made a tremendous effort to accommodate all of our requests.
Would definitely recommend this homeland stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Your grand words here on TripAdvisor are highly appreciated.

It is wonderful to read that our ambassadors were able to realize all the various requests of your group. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

We are grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here in March for a surprise 2 nights. Fantastic location ideal for sightseeing .Attention to detail in the hotel and a warm welcome at reception, they even left a birthday cake in my room courtesy of the hotel.
The spa is lovely, had a great relaxing massage too.
huge bed, which was soooo comfortable.
We had the hotel breakfast, which was excellent, but very expensive.

Room Tip: Canal view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for a leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It must have been an amazing surprise, especially after our ambassadors brought you a birthday cake. It is a delight to read that you have found our So SPA and the Sofitel MyBed concept to be lovely.

We hope that in the future, we may welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here several years ago except for a problem with a shower. Decided to stay here again but in a different room. We had flown in from Miami that morning We arrived hours before offiical check- in time and were told the room would be ready in 20-30 minutes which turned out to be closer to 90. While waiting for our room the manager came out to say hello to us which was very nice.

But we were escorted to an ungraded junior suite with a separate sitting room with a comfortable couch and great TV's in sitting and bed room. The bathroom was very nice.

The bed was very good and the in room coffee machine made very good coffee.

When you are here ask to have a tour of the public rooms receptions which are most impressive.

The location is great with most popular sites within walking distance.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us again and writing about your stay here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you have given us a second chance and I am pleased to read that we were able to impress you. I would like to inform that all our beds are from the Sofitel MyBed concept, which are created to intensify your sleeping experience. Also the Nespresso coffee machines are carefully selected to meet the wishes of our guests.

That you recommend other TripAdvisor users to take the daily historical tour is a huge compliment to our ambassadors, who get very enthusiastic telling the rich history of our hotel and its building.

We, at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, hope that you will indeed stay with us again.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and were very impressed. We had an unusual split level room overlooking the canal to the rear of the hotel. Huge windows looked out from the bedroom, sitting area whilst the bathroom and closets were half a level up. The room was very cold when we arrived but we were quickly given a space heater which solved the problem. The radiators under the large windows were clearly having trouble coping with the unseasonally cold weather. The bed was super comfortable and the only other downside to the room was the lack of a bathtub. We did have a large walk-in shower but the edge detail at floor level was poorly executed and water poured out onto the floor whenever one of us showered. A bathtub with a shower and screen would have fitted into the same space with none of the ponding problems.

The reception staff were extremely helpful, locating places of interest we wanted to see and quickly sorting out our heating problem. Bar staff too were friendly and helpful and we were told of a local liquor store which carried a huge variety of Dutch Genever which we like and can't find easily in the UK. The hotel is centrally located and aside from a taxi to the station on our departure we were able to walk everywhere. We did not try the restaurant as we are frequent visitors to Amsterdam and have our old favourites which we like to return to. However we have stayed in a few Sofitel hotels over the years and this takes the prize as the best of the lot so far. I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal to the rear of the hotel are quiet and those at street level have large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Your extensive review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated.

It is a delight to read that you were impressed with our hotel and your words regarding our ambassadors, especially at the reception and bar, pride us. Our ambassadors are not only specialized in their jobs, but also knowledgeable about Amsterdam and its surroundings and the history of our beautiful hotel.

We have taken your comments regarding your room into account and will look for solutions to improve the product we offer.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A wonderfully restored 5 star hotel with all the usual bells and whistles, plus more. Quite literially the nicest 5star hotel I have stayed in, the attention to detail and thoughtfulness in the rom design, layout and amenities was great. Front desk service was great but felt the hotel lacked a bit of a warm sincere vibe, not snobby but just a little cold. In saying that, the service levels was still faultless. Top hotel and a great central spot, well worth it for indulgence.

The hotel is a histrionic building so it's not a hotel specific designed building, just bear that in mind as the corridors are long and lifts are at one end only. Didn't bother us, just more FYI.

Room Tip: High floor. Ask for a rom close to lifts as they are very spread out on the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is amazing to read that we are the nicest 5 star hotel that you have ever stayed in and that you have found the attention to detail and thoughtfulness in the room design to be great. The famous Sybille de Margerie was the designer responsible for this.

Indeed, the hotel is situated in a building with a grand history of which we are very proud. Did you have the chance to join our ambassadors of guest relations on the daily historical tour?

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.