We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TImeless beauty of a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“TImeless beauty of a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In Amsterdam for a conference held here, this hotel was beautiful in terms of decor and heritage. The interior of the hotel, the photographs of the celeb guests stayed here, the ambience and the inner courtyard with the mosaic benches are all a piece of art. The food however left a lot to be desired for and Oh Boy was it expensive. Located bang over the bridge across the red light area, the hotel was in close proximity to eateries and restaurants to suit all budgets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you found the hotel beautiful in terms of decor and heritage. We are extremely proud of the history of our hotel, which is the reason that we have incorporated it in the interior and several architectural details. Have you had the chance to join our daily historical tour at 11.00 AM during your stay?

It is a disappointment to read that you have experienced that the food was not to your satisfaction. We would be very grateful if you would be so kind to contact us at H2783-FB@sofitel.com to further discuss the details of your comment. We aim to achieve a high quality of our services and we would benefit from your feedback.

Dear guest, thank you again for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    243
    71
    36
    21
See reviews for
193
701
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were with a large group on business. We never felt that the staff were too busy or rushed to address our questions and needs. A special mention to Bianca and Chantale at the front desk who went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasurable.Congratulations to the whole Sofitel Grand team.

Room Tip: Room 250! spacious and view of canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated.

It is a delight to read that our ambassadors offered considerate and devoted attention, anticipating and meeting the needs of the entire group. Please rest assured, I will share your grand words with the entire team including Bianca and Chantal. They take great pride in going out of their way to make sure that the stays of our guests are pleasurable.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the future.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Amsterdam in January 2012, so I am quite delayed in my review, but I have to give credit to the beautiful atmosphere and friendly staff. I traveled on business and the group were all pleased with the location and quality. The large bathrooms were especially nice to have while staying for a week, and the furniture was all in great shape. The hotel was accommodating for us to hold meetings in one of the suites and the staff brought tables, extra chairs, and lots of coffee for us. Make sure to visit Dennis at the hotel bar when you visit! His drinks are fabulous and he's a great guy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Those are such fantastic words about our hotel.

It is such a delight to read that the entire group was pleased with the location and quality. We were happy that we were able to accommodate you in one of our suites.

Thank you for mentioning Dennis, who is working in bar The Flying Dutchman, which is modelled on a traditional Dutch “brown café”. Did you know that this bar is named after the legendary “ghost ship”?

We, at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent 4 days in Sofitel Legend in Amsterdam, and found the experience very good. Very serviceminded and kind staff always ready to help.

Had lunch there everyday day, food was varied and good. Breakfast was ok - nothing out of the ordinary. Meeting rooms and conmference fascilities has athmosphere and everything works well.

Finally rooms are well equipped, quite and with a very nice bathroom. Beds are soft and comfortable. What more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest, we highly appreciate that you have taken the time to express your opinion of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam for your meeting. With the renovation of our 17 meeting rooms, we have combined the historic character of our meeting rooms with contemporary design and innovation.

Our beds are indeed soft and comfortable, which are two of the unique characteristics within the Sofitel MyBed concept.

Please rest assured, I will share your kind words with our ambassadors, who are already looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arriving late in Amsterdam, I headed for my room in the Sofitel Legend, a haven of luxury and tranquility. It overlooked a canal and, as if on cue, two swans - with eyes only for each other - drifted past my window. I was sad that I didn't have someone with me to share the moment. But I settled for a chilled glass of white wine instead and the alluring music on offer on the sound system.

Next morning, I enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. Great selection of hot and cold dishes, including pancakes made in heaven (and champagne if you had the courage to consume it at such an early hour). If you miss breakfast, there's a congenial library area nearby, where you can order coffee and cakes and check your e-mails. If you're feeling cold, you can take an armchair beside the fire and spend some time catching up on the latest newspapers in Dutch, English and German.

The hotel offers a twenty minute guided tour of its environs. The place is steeped in history, having hosted William of Orange and Maria de Medici as guests (though not together) in earlier eras. For centuries, one of the hotel buildings functioned as the Office of the Admiralty and it was intriguing to see the room in which many of its meetings with the Dutch East India Company were conducted. There's also an ornately constructed marriage chamber - decorated with engaging etchings and engravings - which has served as the location for many civil wedding ceremonies in Amsterdam.

One of the joys of Amsterdam is that you can walk to most locations in the centre of the city. The Rijksmuseum has just re-opened after a decade. Though the Van Gogh museum is currently closed, much of the collection has been temporarily moved to the Hermitage. Of all the historical sites I experienced in my brief sojourn in Amsterdam, however, my trip to the Rembrandt House was by far the most moving. I saw the kitchen in which the great artist had animated battles with his more elderly wife. More importantly, however, I stood reverently in the upstairs room in which he had painted many of his greatest masterpieces centuries earlier.

Finally, I should state that the room rate for my stay in the Sofitel Legend was quite reasonable. I used one of the price comparison websites and ultimately paid Euro 600 for three nights in a canal-side room inclusive of scrumptious breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of one of the canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you kindly for your extensive review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Reading that you have experienced our hotel as a haven of luxury and tranquillity adds a little spark to our day.

I am pleased to read that our historical tour was well perceived by you and I believe that you must have noticed the enthusiasm of our Guest Relations officer who was conducting the tour. Our ambassadors are extremely proud of our history and they love to take our guests on a journey through time.

As an aficionado of (painted) art, without a doubt you must have enjoyed Amsterdam in this period. The reopened Rijksmuseum, the Hermitage with the Van Gogh collection and the Rembrandt House, all are very spectacular. A museum which is also worthy of a visit is The National Maritime Museum.

Our ambassadors hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great hotel in beautiful building. Located in the middle of Amsterdam, within walking distance of the central station. Although the hotel is in a very old building, of course all the antique points are kept. The rooms are totally up to date and stylish comfortable, a very good bed. I stead in room 223. Perhaps not the biggest room I have ever stayed in but surely big enough with all facilities at hand. Very handy was the bedside plug in possibility for the laptop. The bathroom was very modern with a big walk in rain shower.
Breakfast was certainly very good. Eggs etc are to be ordered and made fresh. That is really good but because you need to order, make sure you come down in time to be able to enjoy this.
Dinner is really superb. In general staff are enormously helpful and service minded. Some times this is even a little too much. If you have the possibility to stay at this hotel I certainly recommend it. Meeting facilities of this hotel are very modern with high tech equipment

Room Tip: room 223; early morning one good hear talking and walking from passing people on the road. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and recommendation for our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It makes me proud that you describe us as “a great hotel in a beautiful building”. Regarding the bed in your room, our Sofitel MyBed concept is designed to offer exquisite comfort for a perfect night’s sleep. Also the other bed- and bathroom facilities are designed to exceed the expectations of our guests.

It delights me that also your dinner was superb. Our new Executive Chef Joris Bijdendijk has joined the kitchen team in November 2012 and his culinary creations are already drawing more foodies and Amsterdam residents to our restaurant Bridges, inspired by Ron Blaauw.

At Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, we hope that you have the opportunity to return to Amsterdam and that you will again choose to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

An amazing stay at this hotel, Udo on concierge booked everything for us and the staff in the restaurant (Bridges) were outstanding as was the fabulous fish, worth a visit for the restaurant alone! Rooms were spacious with excellent bathrooms and the usual excellent beds. Everything is within walking distance from this very central hotel and the private guide and private canal boat tours Udo arranged allowed us to see a lot of Amsterdam very easily. Have also stayed at the Amstel and whilst it is a beautiful hotel with an outstanding restaurant, until it refurbishes it's rooms this is e one I'd go back to without any hesitation.

Room Tip: The canal view rooms have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

From your words I have learned that you had a grand dining experience at our restaurant Bridges, inspired by Ron Blaauw. It delights me that you experienced it this way, because we have just recently changed our concept, also with the arrival of our new Executive Chef Joris Bijdendijk.

It is wonderful to read that you were impressed by our ambassadors, especially Udo. I have already taken the opportunity to share your fantastic review with them.

We are definitely looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.