We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Layover!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #11 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Layover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a layover in Amsterdam coming from London, once again we found a fantastic property in this trip. Like I said we only had one day but the service was extremely helpful, the concierge tried to make the most of our stay and he succeeded. The property is beautiful and excellent location. It;s a mix of modern yet keeping the history. We had some friends over for drinks and although the bar was closed, they opened it for us and actually we brought more people, we thought that was a nice touch. Buffet breakfast full of excellent choices, you will not need to eat plane food going back to east coast in the states.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
It is a pleasure to read the grand words you wrote about our service. We do not only provide a personalized service, but like you have experienced in our bar, we also exceed all of our guest’s expectations.

Besides that, I am also very happy to learn that you have enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel as well as the central location. And just before you returned home, that you have enjoyed the extensive breakfast in our restaurant Bridges.

I am delighted that just before you returned home we were able to create a memorable experience and we all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    240
    66
    36
    20
See reviews for
175
625
62
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Business took me to this wonderful hotel in the heart of Amsterdam, and it was a great stay at a great hotel. Though it is in spitting distance of the famed Red Light District, this venue is very much a high-class operation, from the historic buildings and grounds to the fragrant and trendy lobby to the wonderful hospitality of the staff. The tourist spots are mostly within walking distance, and if you venture out in one direction, you get to Dam Square to see the Palace and shopping areas, another direction to the Red Light District, and another direction to the Amstel River and some local neighborhood establishments, Rembrandt Square, and flower (and tulip bulb) markets, all within five minutes from the hotel front gates. Don't get me wrong, this is an expensive hotel, so definitely a splurge if on vacation, but well worth it for the service, ambience, location, and history. The buildings date to the 1400's, and the main building was once (relatively recently in the big picture) used as City Hall. Having never been to Amsterdam before, getting around the canals takes a little getting used to, but in the daylight it is easier to find your way around and all the water adds so much to the charm of the city. I would go back again if offered the chance, and would recommend The Grand Sofitel to anyone looking for an opulent stay in the heart of a great European city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. Reading your experience, makes me very proud to be at such a special historical place, but most of all, on the entire team here at The Grand. It is our passion to impress all of our guests and to exceed expectations.

I am also pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our location so much as well as all the high lights our city has to offer. It is indeed correct that these are all in walking distance of the hotel.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit here in Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed there for a week-end in Amsterdam. The hotel is very well located in the center of Amsterdam but yet a quiet place. The rooms are extremely comfortable and very cosy. The food is good and the staff very helpful. I would definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
It is just wonderful to read such a positive review about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, thank you!

I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our central yet quiet location so much. Our hotel is indeed the perfect place to relax in one of our luxurious rooms or to dine in our award-winning restaurant Bridges after a day in the buzzing city.

I, and on behalf of the entire team, look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel used to be the city hall and a lodge for the elitists of Amsterdam in the 15th century and you can tell that right away by the interior and the exterior. It is a old building but somebody has taken alot of care in to making everything very prestige and 'grand' as the name of the hotel suggests. And this also goes for the rooms.

I've been to several rooms and each was like it has its own theme and its decorated beautifully. Some were a little too bit dark for my taste but it ups the atmosphere. Most of the rooms were somewhat small but thats normal for a crowded builded city like Amsterdam. Some would even call it cozy. The rooms were clean but the windows were kind of small. But that does get better in the suites.

The beds were heavenlike to sleep in as its almost like you get sucked in the mattress and the thick bedspread.

The bathroom was beautiful. It was clean, towels were clean, bathtub sometimes had stains but thats almost normal in hotels. I dont remember seeing any slippers. And there is a make up mirror for the ladies.

The best feature of this hotel is its location. Its like a oasis in the busy and loud centre of Amsterdam. And when i say centre i really do mean the centre. Its next to one of the many canals and its 500 meters from the Damsquare and the Royal palace and maybe 700 meters to the redlight district and chinatown (Zeedijk). The shoppingstreet Kalverstraat is next to the palace. And the street Rokin which leads to the central station crosses the Damsquare. Taxi to central station is about 3 kilometers tops.

Breakfast was good and fresh, multiple kinds of bread. Bacon, eggs, fruits. The usual. Great scrambled eggs by the way.

I didnt had time for the gym and pool but from what i heard its clean and topnotch.

Parking could be a problem. They have valet parking but the parkingspaces in the yard are limited to i think maybe 20 cars. And parkingspaces in the neighbourhood are really really hard to find. The nearest parkinggarage is a 15 minutes walk at the Bijenkorf mall. But the height is i think 1.80 so if you drive a big car or suv you wont fit and you have to go to a even further parkinggarage called the Kolk at Nieuwezijds voorburgwal.

The service is really one of the best i've seen, very polite and patience. Although they're not always experienced they are helpful and doing their best.

And last but not least the inner courtyard garden is really nice and their haute cuisine restaurant is one of the best seafood places in town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are more quite. The rooms next to the canals can be noisy because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your extensive and lovely story which expresses you interest in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are indeed situated in heart of lively Amsterdam which can be sometimes challenging to arrive at your destination. You can say “Amsterdam is a city that never sleeps!”

As you already mentioned, The Grand has a rich and beautiful history. Since we are situated in a building which was constructed a couple of centuries ago, all 177 guest rooms and suites are unique and have their own features.

I must say that I am very proud of my team who always try to do their utmost best to make the stay of our guests exceptional.

We are delighted to welcome you back in the near future and create another legendary stay which will exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I had read all the reviews and didn't really believe the hotel could be that good but it is fantastic! The hotel and decor is beautiful and the finishing touches perfect. The staff are very special and do go out of their way to help you. I can't recommend the hotel enough and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Your positive feedback gives us a feeling of recognition which we certainly appreciate. I also would like to thank you for recommending the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam the next time you are in Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Sofitel in Amsterdam is probably the nicest hotel my partner and I have stayed at in Europe. We have traveled Europe extensively and very frequently stay in Sofitel's. We enjoy the Sofitel experience - French flair, modern yet very comfortable accommodations. The Grand Amsterdam is by far the nicest of the Sofitel's we've encoutered. The property itself is a welcome oasis to the hustle of the city. It's literally like a small fortress right in the heart of the city and it was lovely to walk back through the front gates at night. I can't say enough about the property itself. Stunning outside, gorgeous inside, wonderfully attentive and friendly staff, lobby smells fantastic, fabulous spa and pool, truly 5 star. Location is perfect - very close to Dam Square which is quite convenient. We pretty much walked everywhere we wanted to go from the hotel. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam now. Rooms were spectacular. As a preferred loyalty member, we received an upgraded room which was wonderful. One curious thing we didn't quite understand - during our stay the hotel did not not seem busy at all, yet booking the hotel was not available to the general public on Sofitel's web-site or Expedia, etc. Fortunately we had a preferred login for Sofitel web-site which allowed us to book. One last thing to consider - the bar in the lobby is small, but very nice and the bar-tenders were great. However the drinks at the lobby bar are quite expensive. Be aware or you can end up with a huge bar-tab.

If you can afford the luxury of this hotel it is absolutely wonderful. We would go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your amazing story on TripAdvisor. Every Sofitel Legend hotel offers an authentic experience of French luxury and the best of local culture.

We are indeed located right in the buzzing city centre and are situated in a building full of history where in 1578 the Admiralty arranged taxes as well as the shipping to the Dutch East Indies where they negotiated several kinds of spices we use nowadays.

Furthermore, we pay an extreme attention to details regarding our way of looking after all of our guests. Therefore the utmost reward is to hear that you are very satisfied and this is why my team and I were so happy to read your lovely words.

All Sofitel Ambassadors are looking forward to welcome you back to The Grand in the near future. Must you need any assistance, please contact us directly and we will be pleased to assist you.


Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We cannot stop raving to our friends about our experience here. We stayed two nights in October in the Rembrandt Suite. Wow, wow, wow! This suite included a downstairs and and upstairs. I would approximate around 1500 square feet of total and absolute luxury. The bed linens and down pillowtop was like floating on a cloud. I believe we had 3 bathrooms with all of them having heated seats. Nice touch Sofitel. A seating area enough to accomodate a large family. The Hotel itself was a work of art from top to bottom, inside and out.

The staff was so impressive, professional yet down to earth at the same time. Simply astonished how well polished they were.

My wife and I have been to a lot of 5 star and not so 5 star accomodations.... this exceeds anything we've seen in it's category.

What this helpful?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful experience at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. I also would like to express my gratitude for recommending the hotel to your friends and family!

One of our top priorities is to provide each of our guests a legendary stay which exceeds all their expectations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.