We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
fareham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed the weekend at the end of September 12 ... It was a birthday surprise for my daughter's 26th birthday - told her we were staying a the local hostel... Boy did she get a shock! A warm welcome with friendly and helpful staff. We had a twin room with lovely facilities... The radiator would not switch off and we were a little warm. We told reception and there was a maintenance man at the door as we arrived! He must have special powers ! The service the whole stay was fab ! Can't fault it. I didn't tell the hotel it was my daughter's birthday but the guy on reception must have. Over heard our conversation as we had a lovely card plus chocs on the first night and a birthday cake delivered by room service as a surprise to both of us plus a full verse of ' Happy Birthday ' from the Dutch waiter on delivery ! Breakfast was superb ... The whole hotel completely met my high expectations for the money I had spent for a very special weekend ! Thank you to all the wonderful staff !

Room Tip: We had a court yard view .. It was lovely plus pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your Grand words about our hotel. It is a delight to read such a wonderful experience. I can only image how stunned your daughter must have been.

It is our true passion to create memorable experiences, like yours. I especially enjoyed reading how we had the opportunity to surprise you. This makes me very proud of my team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    247
    72
    36
    21
See reviews for
197
712
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Service is top shelf. The rooms are quiet and well laid out. The hotel has a nice feel to it. Wonderful experience overall. The restaurant is very good. It just all works. And in a perfect location. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I specifically enjoyed reading that you felt comfortable here at The Grand. It is always our aim to provide the highest level of personalized service in order to create a home away from home.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was only one night but what a lovely stay! We were looking for a romantic place and The Grand was recommended to us by a friend.
It couldn't be better, the service is lovely and the staff very friendly.
The accommodations very comfortable and lovely decorated.
It was to celebrate my birthday, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
It is so wonderful to read such wonderful feedback about The Grand, thank you!

It is an honor to read that you choose to stay with us for such a special occasion and moreover that your friends recommended our hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind words to all the Sofitel Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Despite the hotel's very central location, the courtyard and hotel were an oasis of tranquility. Our room was very confortable and stylish and the bed was huge. Breakfast was a little disappointing: expensive and fussy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
I am delighted to read that you have experienced our hotel as an oasis of tranquility right in the middle of the city centre. It is also a pleasure for us to learn that you have enjoyed the Sofitel My|Bed so much. Thank you for sharing this positive feedback!

On the other hand, I would like to offer my apologies for the experience you had during breakfast. I would like to assure you that this has been addressed.

All the Ambassadors look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The hotel is in a very good location, close walking distance to everything. We took the train from the airport, straight into Amsterdam and walked to the hotel with our case. The hotel is beautiful, we were upgraded to a deluxe room on check in. Wow what a lovely room, all the little extras you would expect from a 5 star hotel, slippers, dressing gown, umbrella, hermes toiletries, chocolates etc. The bed was huge and so so comfy. The bathroom had a tv on the wall and a cushion in the bath to rest your head on. Our room had a canal view. I thought Amsterdam was an interesting place to visit and i would highly recommend this hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was quite pricey. There are plenty of places to eat a short distance away. There was a large department store on Dam Square with a restaurant upstairs, which served various reasonable priced food at lunch time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback,
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your Amsterdam break and you made the most of our perfect central location.

I am glad to hear that you felt the hotel was wonderful and the room with all the little extras was to your satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Registration staff provided impeccable service!
Lovely old hotel, clean and comfortable.
Inner courtyard provided a great bar and table service for a quiet dinner. Just keep moving your feet and the little mice scurry away.(not a problem unless you have a major mice phobia)
Rooms clean and bed very comfy, albeit a big saggy. Great shower.
Stained glass staircase very beautiful, along with large pieces of artwork through out hotel.
Breakfast, altho expensive, is nicely arranged, served and fresh.
Brick drive being repaired, therefore some construction.
Only negative, and it really was no buggy if you close your window... noisy side street on a warm summer night.
Would recommend this hotel to all, and if ever in Amsterdam, I will add on a few days to stay in this fantastic old hotel for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the service of our Sofitel ambassadors, the comfort of your room as well as our inner garden where our restaurant Bridges serves its award winning dishes.

I am happy to read that, despite the fact that you have witnessed mice in our garden are, you were able to fully enjoy your stay with us. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this and please rest assured that we have taken drastic measurements to exterminate this problem.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near feature.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here overnight recently and it was a great experience. My room had a view out over the canal, and it was peaceful. The hotel is just down the road from the red light district and close to some coffee shops and I'd say it's just at the start of the acceptable areas of Amsterdam, so just outside the area which has all the drugs, drunkards and prostitution. Breakfast was a dream, with a huge choice of fresh food, pastries and fruit, and all the drinks you can imagine. It would be difficult to fault this hotel, a true marvel for the luxury customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
It is so wonderful to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

Indeed our central yet quiet location is a real asset. A lot of things are going on in the lively centre of Amsterdam, and after a busy day, guests are delighted to enter a peaceful atmosphere mixing Dutch tradition and French elegance.

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great breakfast experience in our restaurant Bridges.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Venere, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.